‘PPMS’ Story and Results – Saturday, August 31st

PPMS 2012 Logo

Schirnhofer Scores RUSH Touring Series Victory;
Ramsey Garners First Ever Hobby Stock Main Event;
Ferree, Broniszewski, Bolind Repeat

PITTSBURGH, PA — The Sweeney Chevrolet RUSH Touring Series made its second visit to Pittsburgh’s Pennsylvania Motor Speedway on Saturday, August 31st with PPMS regular Tommy Schirnhofer scored his first ever Touring Series win. In other racing action lady racer Hannah Ramsey claimed her first ever Hobby Stock victory while Alex Ferree (Diehl of Robinson Super Late Models), Jeff Broniszewski (Sunoco Race Fuels Late Model Sportsman) and Dylan Bolind (Imperial Heights Garage Young Guns) were repeat winners.

Ryan Montgomery and Matt Latta led the 25 lap Sweeney Chevrolet Touring event to the green with Montgomery leading the first seven circuits before a caution for Dusty Curry slowed the field. Montgomery maintained his lead when the racing action resume with Latta, Josh Holtgraver, Bryce Davis and Colton Flinner battling for the second through fifth spots. Flinner slowed on lap 16 to cause the event’s second caution and made a quick visit to the pit area before returning to racing action.

Montgomery and Holtgraver made contact when the racing action resumed and this allowed Tommy Schirnhofer to take over the top spot. PPMS regular Mark Moats, Jr. was also able to capitalize on Montgomery’s error as he claimed the second spot with Mike Pegher, Jr. and Davis battling behind him. On lap 17 Moats tagged the front stretch wall and spun in turn one. Laura Lukon and Holtgraver were also involved in the resulting accident.

Schirnhofer would weather the event’s final caution on lap 19 before leading the final six circuits to score his first ever Touring Series victory in the Tanner U/Leo Phillips Racing sponsored Rocket Chassis. Montgomery, who had pitted for a flat tire on the 17tthcircuit, worked his way back to the runner-up spot with Pegher, Jr., Rocky Kugel and Ben Policz completing the top five.

Paul Jablonski, Montgomery, Moats and Mike Reft were the winners in RUSH Prelims. Schirnhofer also scored the win in the RUSH Dash while Jason Rider and Dennis Lunger were the victories in the RUSH B-Mains. Chad Ruhlman won the Non-Qualifiers event.

Alex Ferree continued his winning streak in Diehl of Robinson Super Late Model action at PPMS as he led the 25 lap main event for the entire distance to score his second win of the weekend. Ferree, who started in the third position, was never seriously challenged, and scored the win over Michael Norris (who also claimed the Awesome Hard Charger Award after starting in the 11th spot), Lynn Geisler, Jon Hodgkiss and Ben Miley.

Ferree and Geisler claimed the Diehl of Robinson Super Late Model heat race wins.

Vince Laboon and Mark Lee led the Sunoco Race Fuels Late Model Sportsman main event to the green but the racing action was short lived as Lee spun in turn one and collected Jarrod Westover, Nick Kocuba, Bill Robertson, Jim Ball and Jeff Broniszewski. Fortunately none of the drivers were injured although Robertson, Lee and Ball were done for the evening.

When the racing action resumed Laboon took command with Broniszewski, Todd Weldon and Kocuba battling behind him. By lap eight Broniszewski was on Laboon’s rear bumper and a battle for the lead was taking place. Fate intervened on lap ten as Laboon’s engine expired and the event’s final caution flew for his disabled vehicle. Bronsizewski led the final five circuits to score his sixth Sportsman victory of the season. Todd Weldon scored his best ever Sportsman finish to claim the runner-up spot over Kocuba, Joey Koteles and Jarrod Westover.

Laboon and Broniszewski scored the Late Model Sportsman prelim wins.

California University of PA sophomore Hannah Ramsey scored a very popular Hobby Stock feature victory over Brandon Blackshear, Dan Black and Steve Pyeritz. Pyeritz led the first circuit before Black got by to lead laps two through ten. Black lost the handle with two laps remaining and set the stage for a two lap shootout to the finish. A determined Ramsey held off the challenges of Blackshear and Black to claim her first ever Hobby Stock victory in the Signs By Tomorrow/Butch Ramsey Motorsports sponsored Monte Carlo.

Pyeritz was the winner in the Hobby Stock prelim.

Fourteen year old competitor Dylan Bolind continued his winning ways in Imperial Heights Young Guns competition as he claimed his ninth win of the season over Roman O’Neill, Adam Carson, Michael Jackson and O.B. Huff.

PPMS returns to action on Saturday, September 7th with a five division “Action Event” sponsored by Colussy Chevrolet featuring the Diehl of Robinson Super Late Models, Precise Racing Products RUSH Pro-Late Models, Sunoco Race Fuels Late Model Sportsman, Miley BP Carwash Hobby Stocks and the Imperial Heights Garage Young Guns. In addition, the Wacky Wheels Figure Eight Mania will return for its fourth and final appearance of 2013. At intermission the Kids Bike Races will take place as children ages 14 and under will have the opportunity to race on the “Monster Half Mile.” Helmets are required for the bike races. Next week’s pre-race festivities will find the members of the Steel Town Corvette Club displaying their vehicles behind the main grandstand.

Fans are also encouraged to sign up for free race day text messages to get the latest information on weather or traffic delays that may impact the racing action by clicking on the “Rained Out” logo on the speedway website, www.ppms.com.

Additional information is also available on the speedway website: www.ppms.com or by contacting the speedway office at (412) 279-RACE (7223). Race fans can follow Pittsburgh’s PA Motor Speedway at www.twitter.com/PAMotorSpeedway and http://www.facebook.com/Pittsburgh’s Pennsylvania Motor Speedway.

Diehl Of Robinson Super Late Model Finish: Alex Ferree, Michael Norris, Lynn Geisler, Jon Hodgkiss, Ben Miley, Jayme Beck, Brandon Wearing, John Mollick, Derek Stefanick, Jared Miley, Jim Stephans

Precise Racing Products RUSH Pro Late Model Finish: Tommy Schirnhofer, Ryan Montgomery, Mike Pegher, Jr., Rocky Kugel, Ben Policz, Mike reft, Kyle Lukon, Colton Flinner, Nico Dabecco, Jason Rider, Dennis Lunger, Rick Singleton, Butch Lambert, Josh Holtgraver, Justin Lamb, Ken Chernik, Steve Beatty, Paul Jablonski, Bryce Davis, Mark Moats, Laura Lukon, Dusty Curry, Matt Latta, Cody Dawson, Joe Martin, Bobby Whitling

Sunoco Race Fuels Late Model Sportsman Finish: Jeff Broniszewski, Todd Weldon, Nick Kocuba, Joey Koteles, Jarrod Westover, Vince Laboon, Christian Schneider, Mark Lee, Jim Ball, Bill Roberston, Ricky Steigerwald

Miley BP Carwash Hobby Stock Finish: Hannah Ramsey, Brandon Blackshear, Dan Black, Steve Pyeritz

Imperial Heights Garage Young Guns Finish: Dylan Bolind, Roman O’Neill, Adam Carson, Michael Jackson, O.B. Huff, David Ostrander, Devin Black, Jonathan Miller, Karlee Kovacs