Ralph and Peggy Grimes Memorial Set for Friday Night at McKean County Raceway

East Smethport, PA (July 22, 2014) This Friday night, McKean County Raceway will host the Ralph and Peggy Grimes Memorial for the Little Power Shop weekly RUSH Crate Late Models. $1000 will be going to the winner along with over $600 in lap money. A full program of Close Racing Supply Modifieds, Highway Auto Stock Cars, Pure Stocks and Mini Stocks will fill out the 730pm starting time program.

Ralph and Peggy Grimes were both active members of the McKean County Fair and strong supporters of MCR over the years along with all the area race tracks as officials and as a fan. The Little Power Shop weekly RUSH crate late models saw a new winner two weeks ago with all time street stock feature winner, Andy Michael finding victory lane for the first time in a crate late model. He will no doubt be looking to go two for two, but will have the stiff challenges of seven time winner and point leader Chad Ruhlman of Bemis Point. Eldred’s Damien Bidwell sits third in the point chase with one win. Warren’s Ward Schell would love to win this event in memory of his good friends the Grimes and has been on consistent top three finisher in the past few events. A full field of the top regional crate late model teams in New York and Pennsylvania are expected.

Vic Vena of Portville still leads the Close Racing Supply Modified point division over a fast closing Al Brewer who sits twelve points back. Vena and Brewer both have two wins on the year with Brewer having two wins, two seconds in his last five starts. Carl Ballinger sits third in points over John Woodward Jr and his three wins and John Boardman of Jamestown sits fifth. A very competitive field of CRS Modifieds are expected on Friday night.

Kurt Stebbins leads the Highway Auto Stock Car division by 26 points over Rich Wotjowicz. Stebbins has two wins on the year to Wotjowicz one. Hinsdale’s Ted Mascho sits third, just 8 points over Emporium’s, Ryan Snyder and Jason Dobson is fifth in the point chase. The most competitive weekly division at MCR is the Highway Auto Stock Cars with six different winners in eleven events as Jeremy Williams of Youngsville tops the division with four wins.

Austin, Pennsylvania’s, Roger Schweikart sits 38 points ahead of defending division champion Joe Layfield of Bolivar. Both drivers have two wins on the year and it appears to be a two horse race to the finish in the season long championship battle. Cliff Easton of Roulette sits third in points with two time winning Art Peterson and Donnie Williams sits fifth.

Mt. Jewett’s, Mitch Boylan has opened up a commanding point lead over Dave Lowe Jr. Boylan has five wins and looking to keep the division championship within the family as his son Joe was the champion last year. Kurt Babcock of Shinglehouse sits third over Holden Heinemann of Sardinia with Tidioute’s Andy Proper finds himself in the fifth position in the season long point chase.

Races start at 730pm Friday Night with grandstands opening at 530pm. Adult admission $10, Senior Citizens $8, Kids 11-17 yrs old $6 and Family Pack this week is a special $27! Go kart racing on Sunday at 3pm with pits opening at 12pm. Next Saturday, August 2nd the Bill Bigley Memorial will be held for the Little Power Shop RUSH Crate Late Models. This will be the makeup for last Saturday’s rain out.

For all your MCR information check www.mckeancountyraceway.com or follow MCR on Facebook and Twitter.

For more information on the NDRL’s McKean County Raceway please visit www.mckeancountyraceway.com.

Like the National Dirt Racing League and the NDRL’s McKean County Raceway on Facebook at www.facebook.com/NationalDirtRacingLeague or www.facebook.com/NDRLMckeanCountyRaceway and follow the NDRL on Twitter at @The_NDRL.