For Immediate Release:
National Dirt Racing League, LLC
‘Rocket Man’ Josh Richards Wins $20,000 in NDRL Debut at Paducah

Paducah, Kentucky (April 12, 2013) On a cool April evening the National Dirt Racing League came to fruition as the series hosted their inaugural event at Paducah International Raceway (Paducah, Kentucky). A near capacity crowd and a pit area that saw the overflow parking overflowing with drivers from approximately twenty states set the tone for the night.

The night began with Shannon Babb claiming the Keyser Manufacturing Fast Qualifier honor by registering a lap of 14.531 seconds around the 3/8 mile oval over the fifty-five car field. Heat race action was topped by Eric Wells, Josh Richards, Don O’Neal, Steve Francis, Jared Landers, and Scott Bloomquist, and the redraw for the feature positioned Landers and Richards on the front row for the 75 lap finale.

Landers blazed to the lead at the drop of the green flag and held down the top spot until turn one on the fourth lap, when Richards used a slide job to take over the lead. Once out front Richards motored away from the field as Landers, Don O’Neal, and Scott Bloomquist mixed it up in the top five. By lap 10 O’Neal and Landers were side by side for second, while Richards maintained a comfortable lead until caution flew on lap 12 for a slowing Craig Smith.. The race returned to green flag conditions briefly until lap 15 when Smith slowed again with mechanical issues.

A few laps later the race’s complexion took another dramatic change when fourth running John Blankenship (started seventeenth) retired abruptly from the race on lap 29, and two laps later Don O’Neal saw his night come to a sudden end with his own issues as he drew the yellow flag.

At the time of the caution the top five running order consisted of Richards, Babb, Owens, Moyer, and Bloomquist. On the ensuing restart Owens shot to second on the restart, and over the next several laps began to pressure Richards for the lead. The battle for the lead would continue to rage for the next several laps before Richards began to stretch his advantage over the final twenty laps.

Despite a handful of cautions in the final laps Richards pulled away to a straightaway win over Jimmy Owens, Jimmy Mars, Billy Moyer, and Scott Bloomquist.

In victory lane Richards commented on the hard work of the track staff. “This race was really fun tonight, and while the track was a little rough in some areas, the track crew did a great job after the monsoons that fell here yesterday.”

He was quick to note how fun the racing was with his competitors. “O’Neal and Owens really drove me clean tonight, and I’ve got to thank them for that.” He concluded by noting, “This car was awesome tonight, and I have to give so much credit to my crew. They really made my job easier tonight.”

In the UMP Open Wheel Modifieds a talented field of thirty-seven competitors were on hand, and Mike Harrison charged from his third starting spot to take the lead on lap five from Josh Harris. Once out front he checked out from the field in the caution-free event to claim the win over Ken Schrader, Chad Kinder, Jason Krohn, and Matt Mevert.


No. Name Laps
1 1R Josh Richards 75
2 20 Jimmy Owens 75
3 28M Jimmy Mars 75
4 21 Billy Moyer 75
5 0 Scott Bloomquist 75
6 15 Steve Francis 75
7 18 Shannon Babb 75
8 15B Brian Birkhofer 75
9 32S Chris Simpson 75
10 28 Eddie Carrier Jr. 75
11 28E Dennis Erb  Jr 72
12 14T Tim Brown 65
13 18W Eric Wells 60
14 32P Bobby Pierce 48
15 57J Bub McCool 45
16 25C Shane Clanton 45
17 25 Jason Feger 35
18 1D Don ONeal 31
19 23 John Blankenship 29
20 3S Brian Shirley 22
21 5 Jared Landers 15
22 116 Randy Weaver 15
23 8 Craig Smith 14
24 32H Austin Hubbard 0

NDRL Let’s Get Dirty Qualifying

No. Name Fast Time
18 Shannon Babb 14.531
1R Josh Richards 14.682
116 Randy Weaver 14.805
18W Eric Wells 14.853
21 Billy Moyer 14.854
15 Steve Francis 14.923
5 Jared Landers 14.942
0 Scott Bloomquist 14.951
1D Don ONeal 14.977
15B Brian Birkhofer 14.991
25C Shane Clanton 15.004
25 Jason Feger 15.016
57J Bub McCool 15.027
28M Jimmy Mars 15.03
28 Eddie Carrier Jr. 15.062
32H Austin Hubbard 15.065
28E Dennis Erb  Jr 15.078
23 John Blankenship 15.084
32C Vic Coffey 15.092
20 Jimmy Owens 15.093
3S Brian Shirley 15.13
32S Chris Simpson 15.189
8 Craig Smith 15.191
96E Tanner English 15.202
33M Wendell Wallace 15.222
81K Randy Korte 15.232
B5 Brandon Sheppard 15.237
32P Bobby Pierce 15.243
14T Tim Brown 15.244
99 Donnie Moran 15.25
87 Walker Auther 15.292
3X Randy Sellars 15.303
19F Tim Fuller 15.303
21JR Billy Moyer Jr 15.334
96 Terry English 15.34
77M Jason McBride 15.362
1S Jack Sullivan 15.372
7L Jerry Lierly 15.423
99T Todd Hall 15.428
1 Vic Hill 15.52
27 Kevin Cole 15.573
1J Davey Johnson 15.58
81JR Jason Riggs 15.636
28P Jeff Provinzino 15.688
7K Rodney Sanders 15.744
41J Jarryd Holshouser 15.776
54D Dane Dacus 15.822
360 Michael Asberry 15.852
1 Austin Rettig 15.88
16S Chris Shelton 16.084
2J Mike Johnson 16.332
14t Shawn Knuckles 17.446
49 Jonathan Davenport
6K Michael Kloos
99M Devon Moran  


Heat Race #1: 18W-Eric Wells, 18-Shannon Babb, 15B-Brian Birkhofer, 32H-Austin Hubbard, 32P-Bobby Pierce, 87-Walker Arthur, 1J-Davey Johnson, 21JR-Billy Moyer Jr., 1-Austin Rettig

Heat Race #2: 1R-Josh Richards, 21-Billy Moyer, 32S-Chris Simpson, 25-Jason Feger, 3X-Randy Sellars, 14T-Tim Brown, 1-Vic Hill, 54D-Dane Dacus

Heat Race # 3: 1D-Don O’Neal, 116-Randy Weaver, 28-Eddie Carrier Jr., 99-Donnie Moran, 19F-Tim Fuller, 96E-Tanner English, 360-Michael Asberry, 27-Kevn Cole, 99M-Devin Moran

Heat Race #4: 15-Steve Francis, 20-Jimmy Owens, 25C-Shane Clanton, 28E-Dennis Erb, 7L-Jerry Lierly, 16S-Chris Shelton, 33M-Wendall Wallace, 49-Jonathan Davenport, 96-Terry English

Heat Race #5: 5-Jared Landers, 57J-Bub McCool, 23-John Blankenship, 3S-Brian Shirley, 81K-Randy Korte, 7K-Rodney Sanders, 99T-Todd Hall, 2J-Mike Johnson, 77M-Jason McBride

Heat Race #6: 0-Scott Bloomquist, 28M-Jimmy Mars, 8-Craig Smith, 32C-Vic Coffey, B5-Brandon Sheppard, 81JR-Jason Riggs, 1S-Jack Sullivan, 41J-Jarryd Jolshouser, 14JR-Shawn Knuckles

B-Main # 1: 32P-Bobby Pierce, 32H-Austin Hubbard, 3X-Randy Sellars, 19F-Tim Fuller, 1-Vic Hill, 1-Austin Rettig, 21JR-Billy Moyer, 14T-Tim Brown, 360-Michael Asberry, 87-Walker Auther, 27-Kevin Cole, 25-Jason Feger, 96E-Tanner English

B-Main #2: 28E-Dennis Erb Jr., 3S-Brian Shirley, 32C-Vic Coffey, 81K-Randy Korte, 7K-Rodney Sanders, 77M-Jason McBride, 99T-Todd Hall, 28P-Jeff Provinzino, 14JR-Shawn Knuckles, 1S-Jack Sullivan, 5B-Brandon Sheppard, 16S-Chris Shelton, 41J – Jarryd Holshouser, 7L-Jerry Lierly, 96-Terry English

Official NDRL’s ‘Let’s Get Dirty Tour’ Sponsors:

VP Race Fuels: The Official Fuel of the NDRL’s ‘Let’s Get Dirty Tour’

Slavic Custom Racing Shirts and Decals: The Official Merchandise Supplier of the NDRL’s Let’s Get Dirty Tour’

Bug Band: The Official Insect Repellant of the NDRL’s ‘Let’s Get Dirty Tour’

Official NDRL’s ‘Let’s Get Dirt Tour’ Associate Sponsors:
American Racer Tires, Bell Helmets, Brown & Miller Racing Solutions, Capital Race Cars, DirtonDirt.com, Driven Racing Oil, Genesis Racing Shocks, Hoosier Racing Tires, JNJ Motorsports Media, Keyser Manufacturing, MSR Mafia, and Responsible Racers.