073013 ShawanoVL

Trip To Wisconsin’s Shawano Speedway Brings Satterlee First-Ever World of Outlaws Late Model Series Victory

Rising Young Pennsylvania Driver Dominates After Mechanical Trouble Sidelines Clanton

By Kevin Kovac, WoO LMS P.R. Director

SHAWANO, WI – July 30, 2013 – Gregg Satterlee’s turn to bask in the World of Outlaws Late Model Series spotlight finally arrived Tuesday night at Shawano Speedway.

Racing for the first time at a track located over 750 miles from his home in Rochester Mills, Pa., Satterlee inherited the lead when Shane Clanton of Zebulon, Ga., slowed with mechanical trouble on lap 21 and dominated the remainder of the 50-lap distance to record his coveted first-ever A-Main triumph on the national tour.

Satterlee, who will celebrate his 29th birthday on Aug. 3, cracked Victory Lane on the WoO LMS in his 85th career event and 57th A-Main start. His best previous finish was fourth place on four occasions, most recently on June 29 in the Firecracker 100 by GottaRace.com at Lernerville Speedway in Sarver, Pa.

Flashing the talent that has made him a driver to reckon with in the Mid-Atlantic region, Satterlee easily handled a final restart on lap 45 to lead a trio of former WoO LMS champions – Tim McCreadie of Watertown, N.Y., Josh Richards of Shinnston, W.Va., and Rick Eckert of York, Pa. – under the checkered flag.

McCreadie, 39, was unable to offer Satterlee a challenge over the final five circuits and settled for second place, 2.219 seconds behind the victor. Richards extended his points lead with a third-place finish after starting 14th and Eckert slipped to fourth with a tight-handling race car after taking the green flag from the pole position.

A.J. Diemel of Elk Mound, Wis., completed the top five, scoring a career-best WoO LMS finish after starting seventh. He reached fifth just before the halfway point and stayed there to the finish.

Results of World of Outlaws Late Model Series at Shawano Speedway (Finishing Position/Start/Driver/Laps Completed/Money Won):

1. (4) Gregg Satterlee/50 $10,550
2. (5) Tim McCreadie/50 $5,650
3. (14) Josh Richards/50 $3,650
4. (1) Rick Eckert/50 $3,250
5. (7) A.J. Diemel/50 $2,050
6. (6) Jimmy Mars/50 $1,750
7. (16) Chub Frank/50 $1,950
8. (17) Tim Fuller/50 $1,850
9. (18) Dennis Erb Jr./50 $1,250
10. (20) Dan Stone/50 $1,100
11. (11) Jonathan Davenport/50 $1,050
12. (10) Morgan Bagley/50 $1,850
13. (22) Bub McCool/49 $1,500
14. (13) Dillon Wood/45 $950
15. (8) Darrell Lanigan/44 $1,500
16. (3) Eric Wells/29 $1,350
17. (12) Clint Smith/23 $1,320
18. (2) Shane Clanton/21 $1,300
19. (9) Billy Moyer/15 $830
20. (19) Ricky Weiss/15 $750
21. (21) Ron Berna/13 $700
22. (15) Dale McDowell/7 $700
23. (24) Brandon Sheppard/5 $725
24. (23) Brady Smith/2 $700

* Earnings include Winners Circle program and cash contingency award bonuses

Time of Race: 25 Mins., 01.211 Secs.
Margin of Victory: 2.219 Secs.
Yellow Flags: 3 (laps 15, 21, 45)
Lap Leaders: Clanton (1-21); Satterlee (22-50)
Provisional Starters: B. Smith, Sheppard
Rookie of the Race: Bagley ($250)
WoO LMS ‘Bonus Bucks’ Winner: Satterlee ($500)

Ohlins Shocks Time Trial Results (Position/No./Driver/Hometown/Best Lap):

1. 24-Rick Eckert/York, PA 18.883
2. 39-Tim McCreadie/Watertown, NY 18.921
3. 18W-Eric Wells/Hazard, KY 18.946
4. 25-Shane Clanton/Zebulon, GA 18.957
5. 28-Jimmy Mars/Menomonie, WI 18.977
6. 22-Gregg Satterlee/Rochester Mills, PA 18.998
7. 58-A.J. Diemel/Elk Mound, WI 19.015
8. 1-Josh Richards/Shinnston, WV 19.015
9. 17M-Dale McDowell/Chickamauga, GA 19.047
10. 1W-Dillon Wood/New Smyrna Beach, FL 19.060
11. 19-Tim Fuller/Watertown, NY 19.063
12. 44-Clint Smith/Senoia, GA 19.145
13. 14M-Morgan Bagley/Longview, TX 19.156
14. 49-Jonathan Davenport/Blairsville, GA 19.160
15. 21-Billy Moyer/Batesville, AR 19.183
16. 1*-Chub Frank/Bear Lake, PA 19.229
17. 29-Darrell Lanigan/Union, KY 19.310
18. 28e-Dennis Erb Jr./Carpentersville, IL 19.344
19. 57J-Bub McCool/Vicksburg, MS 19.357
20. 7-Ricky Weiss/Winnipeg, Manitoba 19.386
21. 9i-Steve Isenberg/Marshfield, WI 19.657
22. 2-Brady Smith/Solon Springs, WI 19.673
23. 10-Pete Parker/Kaukauna, WI 19.742
24. 3-Bret Swedberg/Shawano, WI 19.895
25. 1B-Doug Blashe/Maroon, WI 19.955
26. 27-Jake Redetzke/Eau Claire, WI 19.965
27. 15-Nick Anvelink/Navarino, WI 20.095
28. GG-Ron Berna/Abrams, WI 20.147
29. 28R-Mark Rose/Elcho, WI 20.370
30. 5E-Jason Enoch/Colgate, WI 20.582
31. 17-Cody Grosskreutz/Clintonville, WI 21.005
32. 21d-Dan Stone/Thompson, PA 21.163
33. b5-Brandon Sheppard/New Berlin, IL N/T

Heat No. 1 (10 laps – Top 6 Transfer): Eckert, Clanton, Diemel, Bagley, Wood, Frank, B. Smith, Berna, Blashe, Grosskreutz, McCool

Heat No. 2 (10 laps – Top 6 Transfer): McCreadie, Mars, Lanigan, Davenport, Richards, Fuller, Stone, Weiss, Parker, Redetzke, Rose

Heat No. 3 (10 laps – Top 6 Transfer): Satterlee, Wells, Moyer, C. Smith, McDowell, Erb, Swedberg, Anvelink, Isenberg, Enoch, Sheppard

B-Main No. 1 (12 laps – Top 4 Transfer): Weiss, Stone, Berna, McCool, Parker, Anvelink, Redetzke, Rose, Isenberg, Blashe, Grosskreutz, Enoch, Swedberg, B. Smith, Sheppard

World of Outlaws Late Model Series Contingency Award Winners (awards presented to noted finisher/qualifier or next highest displaying decal:

Ohlins Shocks ($50 cash to fast qualifier): Rick Eckert
Eibach Springs (one free spring to each B-Main winner): Ricky Weiss
VP Race Fuels ‘Nice Jugs’ Award: (One VP 5-gallon container to fastest qualifier who misses A-Main): Jake Redetzke
Wrisco Aluminum (3 sheets of aluminum to A-Main winner only): Gregg Satterlee
Armor All (One case of product to highest-finishing non-WoO team in A-Main): Gregg Satterlee
Comp Cams ($50 certificate to A-Main winner): Gregg Satterlee
QuarterMaster ($100 certificate to A-Main winner, $50 certificate to 5th-place finish): Rick Eckert/Eric Wells
MSD Ignition ($50 cash to A-Main winner): Gregg Satterlee
STP ($50 cash to 2nd-place finisher in A-Main): Rick Eckert
XS Power ($50 cash to 3rd-place finisher in A-Main): Josh Richards
Roush Yates ($50 cash to 4th-place finisher in A-Main): Rick Eckert
JE Pistons ($50 cash to 5th-place finisher in A-Main): A.J. Diemel
Dominator ($50 cash to 6th-place finisher in A-Main): Jimmy Mars
American Race Wheels ($50 cash to 7th-place finisher in A-Main): Chub Frank
VP Race Fuels ($50 cash to 8th-place finisher in A-Main): Tim Fuller
Edelbrock Manifolds ($50 cash to 9th-finisher in A-Main): Dennis Erb Jr.
Comp Cams ($50 cash to 10th-place finisher in A-Main): Morgan Bagley
XS Power ($60 product certificate to 11th-place finisher in A-Main): Morgan Bagley
Cometic Gasket ($50 cash to 12th-place finisher in A-Main): Morgan Bagley
JRI Shocks ($50 cash to 13th-place finisher in A-Main): Bub McCool
Super Flow Dynos ($50 cash to 14th-place finisher in A-Main): Dillon Wood
JE Pistons (one complete set of JE Pro Seal rings to 16th-place finisher in A-Main, redeemable w/next purchase of set): Eric Wells
Klotz Lubricants ($50 cash to 17th-place finisher in A-Main): Ricky Weiss
Roush Yates ($50 gift card to 18th-place finisher in A-Main): Ricky Weiss
QuarterMaster ($25 certificate to 19th-place finisher in A-Main): Ricky Weiss
Arizona Sport Shirts ($100 certificate to 20th-place finisher in A-Main): Ricky Weiss
JE Pistons (one complete set of JE Pro Seal rings to 21st-place finisher in A-Main, redeemable w/next purchase of set): Ron Berna
Roush Yates ($50 gift card to 22nd-place finisher in A-Main): Brandon Sheppard
MSD Ignition ($25 cash to 24th-place finisher in A-Main): Brandon Sheppard
XS Power ‘Power Move of the Race’ ($60 product certificate): Gregg Satterlee
Roush Yates ($25 gift card to driver who leads most laps in the A-Main): Gregg Satterlee
Reliable Painting Award (one free tire): Chub Frank