ROME, GA (October 5, 2014) – Scott Bloomquist returned to Victory Lane on Sunday Night at Rome Speedway. Bloomquist led the entire 50-lap distance aboard his Ole Smoky Moonshine, Base Fuels, Durham Racing Engines powered, Sweet-Bloomquist entry en route to his seventh Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series victory of the season.

Brandon Overton came home in second, followed by Chris Madden, Rick Eckert, and Casey Roberts. Don O’Neal finished sixth and increased his points lead over Jimmy Owens with one race remaining on the 2014 schedule. Owens recovered to finish ninth, after pitting to replace a broken right rear shock.

“The car was just terrific all night long,” said Bloomquist who; with the victory; broke a tie with Owens atop the all-time LOLMDS win list with his 53rd LOLMDS win. “To have a sweep here tonight with Brandon in one of our older cars and Chris with his new car, tells us we are headed in the right direction”, stated Bloomquist.

“We felt like we gave one away last night at Dixie. We have worked extremely hard on this car. I want to thank all the fans for coming out this weekend. It looked like there was another great crowd here tonight. It’s a lot of fun for us drivers to run in front of so many people.”

Bloomquist started on the pole and was never seriously challenged for the race lead. Owens held the second spot until lap 32 when he slowed in turn four with a broken right rear shock, relinquishing the position to Overton. Owens’ crew was able to change the shock return at the tail of the field without losing a lap.

Overton in the Troy Baird owned, Baird Transport entry held off Madden over the remaining 18 laps to finish second. “I only live about 2 hours from here, and have never run here before. It is a super-fast race track and I am glad to finish second against this competition, they are the best-of-the-best.”

Madden, who won the Dixie Shootout at Rome’s sister track, Dixie Speedway last night was satisfied with his weekend’s performance in his new Sweet-Bloomquist car. “To win the Shootout and finish third here tonight, I am extremely proud of our race team. We started off the season really good, with a lot of wins, and now we will try and finish the season strong to get ready for next year.”

Completing the top ten were O’Neal, Ray Cook, Jared Landers, Owens, and Jason Papich.

In preliminary action, Scott Bloomquist set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time (Group A) amongst the 34 entrants, with a lap of 13.045 seconds. Chris Madden set the fastest time in Group B with a time of 13.102 seconds. Scott Bloomquist, Jimmy Owens, Brandon Overton and Casey Roberts won their respective heat races. Eddie Carrier Jr. and Donald McIntosh won their respective B-Mains.

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log onto and follow the series and

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Sunday Night, October 5th, 2014
Rome International Speedway – Rome, GA


Miller Welders Fast Time Group A: Scoot Bloomquist / 13.045 seconds
Miller Welders Fast Time Group B: Chris Madden / 13.102 seconds

Fast Shafts Heat Race #1 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Scott Bloomquist, Dale McDowell, Rick Eckert, Shane Clanton, Eddie Carrier, Jr., Jason Papich, Mike Marlar, Austin Smith, Bo Eaton-DNS

Eibach Springs Heat Race #2 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Jimmy Owens, Don O’Neal, Jared Landers, Dennis Erb, Jr., Billy Ogle Jr., Jason Croft, Cody King, Earl Pearson, Jr.

Simpson Performance Products Heat Race #3 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Brandon Overton, Chris Madden, Ray Cook, Randy Weaver, Donald McIntosh, Chase Junghans, Casey Barrow, Doug Stevens, Scott Groves

FK Rod Ends Heat Race #4 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Casey Roberts, Steve Francis, Eric Jacobsen, Jason Hughes, Clint Smith, John Blankenship, Aaron Ridley, Austin Kirkpatrick

JRi Shocks B-Main #1 (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer) Finish: Eddie Carrier, Jr., Billy Ogle Jr., Mike Marlar, Jason Croft, Jason Papich, Cody King, Earl Pearson, Jr., Austin Smith, Bo Eaton

CV Products B-Main #2 (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer) Finish: Donald McIntosh, John Blankenship, Clint Smith, Chase Junghans, Doug Stevens, Austin Kirkpatrick, Casey Barrow, Aaron Ridley, Scott Groves
Feature Finish (50 Laps):

1 1 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN
2 2 5X Brandon Overton Appling, GA
3 6 44m Chris Madden Gaffney, SC
4 9 24 Rick Eckert York, PA
5 4 101 Casey Roberts Toccoa, GA
6 7 5 Don O’Neal Martinsville, IN
7 10 53 Ray Cook Brasstown, NC
8 11 777 Jared Landers Batesville, AR
9 3 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN
10 24 91p Jason Papich Nipomo, CA
11 15 28e Dennis Erb, Jr. Carpentersville, IL
12 12 5J Eric Jacobsen Watsonville, CA
13 8 15 Steve Francis Ashland, KY
14 17 28 Eddie Carrier, Jr. Salt Rock, WV
15 19 201 Billy Ogle Jr. Knoxville, TN
16 20 23 John Blankenship Williamson, WV
17 23 44 Earl Pearson, Jr. Jacksonville, FL
18 18 7 Donald McIntosh Dawsonville, GA
19 16 12 Jason Hughes Watts, OK
20 14 116 Randy Weaver Crossville, TN
21 13 25c Shane Clanton Zabulon, GA
22 5 17m Dale McDowell Chickamauga, GA
23 22 25x Clint Smith Senoia, GA
24 21 157 Mike Marlar Winfield, TN



Race Statistics
Entrants: 34
Lap Leaders: Scott Bloomquist (Laps 1 – 50)
Cautions: John Blankenship (Lap 3); Eddie Carrier Jr. (Lap 3); Dale McDowell (Lap 6); Randy Weaver (Lap 8); Jimmy Owens (Lap 34); Eric Jacobsen (Lap 34); Earl Pearson Jr. (Lap 45); Donald McIntosh (Lap 47)
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisionals: Earl Pearson Jr., Jason Papich
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Emergency Provisionals: n/a
Miller Welders Fast Time Provisionals: n/a
Wrisco Feature Winner: Scott Bloomquist
Optima Batteries Hard Charger of the Race: Jason Papich (Started: 24th; Finished: 10th; Advanced 10 Positions)
Keyser Mfg Spoiler Challenge Point Leader: Don O’Neal
Allstar Performer of the Race: Rick Eckert
Sunoco Race for Gas Highest Finisher: Don O’Neal
Dunn Benson Ford Rookie of the Race: Jason Papich
Midwest Sheet Metal Highest Finishing Rookie: Jason Papich
COMP Cams Engine Builder of the Race: Clements Racing Engines
Ohlins Shocks Chassis Builder of the Race: Sweet-Bloomquist Race Cars
Outerwears Crew Chief of the Race: Brian Imler (Scott Bloomquist)
HAWK Performance Fastest Lap of the Race: Scott Bloomquist (Lap # 1 – 13.864 seconds)
Time of Race: 35 minutes 58 seconds