Jamaica, VA – The finish to the Ultimate Super Late Model sanctioned Mid-Atlantic Spring Championship had the crowd on their feet as Steve Shaver of Vienna, WV and Jeremy Miller of Gettysburg, PA put on a show as they battled over the final twenty laps for the win with Shaver taking the lead on last lap to take the win and the $10,000 top prize.

“I have to thank the Sawyer’s for supplying us with a track you can race on, you could go anywhere on the track and pass cars, I just love coming to this place,” commented a very elated Shaver in victory lane.

Jeremy Miller and Chris Madden led the field to green with Miller taking the top spot and the lead out of turn 2. Miller looked to be untouchable as he pulled away from the field and began lapping slower cars by lap 8.

On lap 12 Madden had to hold off Dale McDowell for second as they worked through lapped traffic. In Lap 16 McDowell got inside off Madden out of turn 2, as they raced back into three Steve Shaver made it three wide coming out of turn 4 to take third. On a lap 21 restart Shaver got inside McDowell for second and set out to catch Miller.

By lap 29 Shaver had caught Miller and began pressuring him for the lead. Several times he would get inside Miller but each time Miller would hold on to the spot. On lap 35, with the lead duo working lapped traffic, Shaver got inside Miller coming out of turn 4 and nipped Miller for the lead at the line. Miller would rocket back to the lead in turn 1 with Shaver in close pursuit.

On lap 46 Shaver began testing the outside of Miller and on each successive lap would pull alongside to challenge for the lead. On lap 48 shaver dove it in deep in turn 1 and when the two exited turn 2 Shaver had pulled off the pass for the lead and would go on to score the $10,000 victory.

Rounding out the top five were Jeremy Miller, Dale McDowell, Rick Eckert, and Jamie Lathroum.

Heat race wins went to Chris Madden, Jeremy Miller, Jamie Lathroum and Chris Ferguson. B Main win went to Ricky Elliott.


A Main:1. Steve Shaver (Vienna, WV), 2. Jeremy Miller (Gettysburg, PA), 3. Dale McDowell (Chickamauga, GA), 4. Rick Eckert (York, PA), 5. Jamie Lathroum (Mechanicsville, MD), 6. Stevie Long (Mechanicsville, MD), 7. Chris Ferguson (Mt. Holly, NC), 8. Dennis Franklin (Gaffney, SC), 9. Jason Covert (York Haven, PA), 10. Casey Roberts (Toccoa, GA), 11. Jerry Bard (Shippingsburg, PA), 12. Darryl Hills (Great Mills, MD), 13. Daniel Baggerly (Rural Retreat, VA), 14. Devin Friese (Chambersburg, PA), 15. Casey Barrow (Savannah, GA), 16. Zack Mitchell (Enoree, SC), 17. Kenny Moreland (Waldorf, MD), 18. Dustin Mitchell (Lucama, NC), 19. Chris Madden (Gaffney, SC), 20. Ricky Elliott (Seaford, DE), 21. David Watts (Buchanan, VA), 22. Coleby Frye (Dover, PA), 23. Mike Gault (Gaffney, SC), 24. Benji Cole (Cannon, GA), 25. Greg Satterlee (Rochester Mills, PA), 26. Donald Bradsher (Burlington, NC),