Hell Tour
Contact: Chris Dolack
DIRTcar Racing PR
704-795-7223 | cdolack@dirtcar.com

Sheppard Goes Back-to-Back at Clayhill Motorsports, Sweeps DIRTcar Summer Nationals Tennessee Events

ATWOOD, Tenn. – June 27, 2013 – Brandon Sheppard, with a little bit of good luck, scored his fourth victory of the 2013 DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” Thursday night when leader Shannon Babb’s car broke with two laps remaining at Clayhill Motorsports.

A 30-car field took to the 3/8-mile oval, but it was Sheppard, the Wednesday night winner at Clarksville (Tenn.) Speedway, who pulled out his broom and swept the “Hell Tour” events held in Tennessee in 2013.

Sheppard sat on the pole and led the race’s opening 18 laps before surrendering the lead to Babb, who then dominated the next 20 laps and looked as if he was going to cruise to his second win of the season. However, Babb’s car quit on him with two laps remaining and Sheppard slipped by Babb and held off Dennis Erb Jr. to secure the $5,000 checkered flag for the second consecutive year at Clayhill Motorsports.

“I owe this to (Babb), if it wasn’t for him breaking I would’ve ran second,” said Sheppard, who led 20 of the race’s 40 laps. “I hate it for Shannon because he’s had some bad luck here lately. But we’ll take them however we can get it.”

(Click here for news and information on the DIRTcar Summer Nationals.)

Ryan Unzicker, Bobby Pierce and Jack Sullivan rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners included Jason Riggs, Erb and Sheppard.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour continues on Friday night at Paducah International Raceway located in Paducah, Ky.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Clayhill Motorsports Park; Atwood, Tenn.: June 27, 2013

A-Main (40-laps): 1.Brandon Sheppard ($5,000), 2.Dennis Erb, Jr, 3.Ryan Unzicker, 4.Bobby Pierce, 5.Jack Sullivan, 6.Tyler Reddick, 7.Terry English, 8.Eric Cooley, 9.Randy Korte, 10.Tanner English, 11.Tim Lance, 12.Jason McBride, 13.Dustin Griffin, 14.Chris Shelton, 15.Shannon Babb, 16.Kevin Weaver, 17.Billy Moyer, 18.Todd Frank, 19.Thomas Dacus, 20.Kent Robinson, 21.Jason Riggs, 22.Timothy Culp.