Hell Tour
Contact: Chris Dolack
DIRTcar Racing PR
704-795-7223 | cdolack@dirtcar.com

Simpson Scores First DIRTcar Summer Nationals Victory at Tri-City Speedway

PONTOON BEACH, Ill. – June 21, 2013 – Chris Simpson passed Brady Smith for the lead on lap 18, then led the remaining 22 laps en route to his first DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” victory on Friday night at Tri-City Speedway.

With a field of 43 cars in attendance, Simpson of Oxford, Iowa, started the race from the fourth position and ran third for the first 10 laps. Then he changed his driving line and ran down pole-sitter Brian Shirley, who was running second. Simpson was definitely in the right groove because after he cruised past Shirley, he went by Smith and captured the $10,000 checkered flag.

“I jumped up to the top early there and wasn’t too good,” Simpson said. “So I just ran that momentum line. I bought this car from Brian Birkhofer and I’ve watched him win a lot of races running that line. It worked for us tonight.”

(Click here for news and information on the DIRTcar Summer Nationals.)

Birkhofer, Mark Burgtorf and Shannon Babb rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners included Shirley, Simpson, Smith and Kevin Weaver.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour continues on Saturday night at Fairbury American Legion Speedway in Fairbury, Ill.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Tri-City Speedway; Pontoon Beach, Ill.: June 21, 2013

A-Main (40-laps): 1. Chris Simpson ($10,000), 2. Brady Smith, 3. Brian Birkhofer, 4. Mark Burgtorf, 5. Shannon Babb, 6. Brian Shirley, 7. Ryan Unzicker, 8. Tyler Reddick, 9. Jack Sullivan, 10. Billy Faust, 11. Dustin Griffin, 12. Jason McBride, 13. Brandon Sheppard, 14. Scott Weber, 15. Jason Perry, 16. Kevin Weaver, 17. Jimmy Mars, 18. Randy Korte, 19. Bobby Pierce, 20. Craig Smith, 21. Michael Kloos, 22. Billy Moyer.