‘Slowride’ David Scott and Vic Vena ‘Stars of MCR’ Winners at NDRL’s McKean County Raceway


For Immediate Release:
The NDRL’s McKean County Raceway

‘Slowride’ David Scott and Vic Vena ‘Stars of MCR’ Winners at NDRL’s McKean County Raceway

East Smethport, PA (August 23, 2013) The NDRL’s McKean County Raceway returned to action after a three week hiatus with 103 cars in the pits with its “Stars of MCR” night on tap for the NDRL’s ULMS Late Model Series and NDRL’s UEMS Modifieds highlighting the program. David “Slowride” Scott took home the $5000 ULMS Late Model feature and Vic Vena of Olean took home his first ever NDRL UEMS modified win. Ted Mascho, Max Blair, Joe Boylan and Josh Wilcox all were winners as well.

Don Wolfer and Ted Mascho brought the street stocks to the green flag for the first feature event of the season. Wolfer took the lead on the start with Joe Chamberlain in second over Mascho, Randy Taylor and Brad Ullman. Andy Michael would grab fifth from Taylor on lap three as point leader, Adam Ashcroft moved Taylor back another spot the next lap. Close racing resulted in the first yellow of the event as contact between Taylor and Ashcroft sent the point leader of Ashcroft around and Taylor being sent to the pits for the evening. The restart saw Mascho come roaring from third to the lead with Wolfer and Michael in third. Michael would grab second on lap seven as the top five cars were all with each other till a series of cautions kept the field tight for the final five laps which saw Mascho lead all the final laps but second thru fifth were hotly contested between Michael, Ashcroft, Ullman and Steve Mowery that kept the fans on their feet in the most exciting race of the year! At the finish it was Mascho capturing his first MCR win of the year over Ullman, Michael, Ashcroft and Mowery.

The NDRL’s UEMS modifieds rolled onto MCR oval for their 25 lap event. Central NY driver, Michael Smith and Olean’s Vic Vena paced the field. Vena took the lead immediately on the start. Point leader Steve Dixon was third. At the halfway point it was Vena, Smith, Dixon, Michael and defending series point leader Carl McKinney was now fifth. Vena was busy going thru lap traffic as Rich Michael who has been the hottest driver in the region now started to make his charge by series point leader, Dixon on lap 19 and with five to go he was in the runner-up position. Vena would charge to the checker flags for his first ever NDRL’s UEMS modified feature win. Michael came home second with Smith, Dixon and McKinney your top five.

The NDRL’s Late Models saw David Scott roar into the lead at the start with series point leader, Mike Knight following into second. Track point leader, Rob Blair moved Dutch Davies back to third on the second lap. World of Outlaw star Tim Fuller would enter the top five from his tenth starting position. Lap fifteen, Fuller’s teammate Shane Clanton would take fifth from Fuller. Blair would start making his late race charge on the front two and would take second from Knight with eleven laps remaining. Blair would catch “Slowride” in lap traffic and as he was making his charge for the lead the yellow would come out for Keith Barbara. The restart had the fans on their edge of their feet as Knight, Blair, Davies, Fuller, Boom Briggs and Clanton all looking for a last shot at “Slowride”. They never got a chance as Scott rocketed out in front of everyone with Knight now in second over Blair. Scott would roar to the very popular win over Knight, Blair, Dutch and Fuller.

Max Blair continued his dominance in the RUSH Crate Late Model division. Blair started on the outside pole due to his redraw position and he would lead the entire 20 laps. It wasn’t easy as Damien Bidwell and Chad Ruhlman swapped second position several times before Ruhlman would take over second for good on lap 8. Steve Dixon driving the Craig Dean #21 was on the charge in fourth, Joe Bucccola fifth. The real driver on the charge was last place starting Jeremy Wonderling in the Brad Mesler machine was up to sixth at the finish. With Blair’s win he officially claimed the 2013 MCR RUSH Crate Late Model championship.

Riley Ellison took the lead on the start of the mini stock feature with point leader, Joe Boylan charging from sixth to the lead by lap three. Boylan would lead the rest of the distance to win and pad his point lead going into the final event. Ellison was second with Mitch Boylan third followed by Holden Heineman and Eric Canfield coming home fifth.

Josh Wilcox took the immediate lead at the start of the 15 lap pure stock feature. Wilcox of Franklinville would lead the entire distance with Jim Challingsworth, Don Williams, Joe Layfield and Roger Schweikart rounding out the top five.

McKean Count Raceway will return to action on Friday, August 30 for their season ending championship night where all six champions will be crowned in the inaugural season of the NDRL McKean County Raceway. It will also be autograph night where all kids will receive free checkered flag that can get sign before the races by their favorite driver. Autographs will be held from 7pm to 7:30PM on the front stretch of the track with the green flag dropping approximately 15 minutes later than the normal 7:30PM start. This is the final tune up before the 8th annual MCR Fall Classic that will be held on September 19-21st and will see a track record $118,000 payout! Race teams from Ohio, Maryland, Delaware, Michigan, New York, West Virginia, Pennsylvania and Ontario, Canada are expected to be on hand.


DAVID SCOTT, Mike Knight, Rob Blair, Dutch Davies, Tim Fuller, Boom Briggs, Shane Clanton, Greg Oakes, Jason Dupont, Billy Decker, Coleby Frye, Dick Barton, Chris Hackett, Vic Coffey, Bob Dorman, Brent Rhebergen, Matt Urban, Keith Barbara, Doug Eck, Dan Stone, Michael Oakes, Chad Ruhlman, Kyle Beimel

NDRL’s UEMS Modifieds:
VIC VENA, Rich Michael, Michael Smith, Steve Dixon Carl McKinney, Michael McGee, Shane Crotty, Randy Hall, Al Brewer, Tim Walden, Dan Davies, Ken Zimmer, Darren Tarabori, John Boardman, Carl Ballinger, Karl Born, Mike McNeal (DNS)

RUSH Crate Late Models:
MAX BLAIR, Chad Ruhlman, Damien Bidwell, Steve Dixon, Joe Buccola, Jeremy Wonderling, Adam Sixt, Bill Mesler, Bruno Mowery, Zack Carley, Paul Grigsby, Garrett Mott, Ed Carley, Bob Kish, Justin Smith, John Haggerty, Dustin Waters, Critter Hemphill, Dave Shagla Jr., Jason Genco, Cody Mason, Dereck Frank, Miles Stitzinger, Doug Ricotta, Steve Fitch

TED MASCHO, Brad Ullman, Andy Michael, Adam Ashcroft, Steve Mowery, Butch Talbot, Joe Chamberlain, Jeff Hellwig, Don Wolfer, Gary Fisher, Brad Curran Jr (DNS), Darryl Greene (BF), Randy Taylor (BF)

JOE BOYLAN, Riley Ellison, Mitch Boylan, Holden Heineman, Eric Canfield, Jeff Buhl., Chad Babcock, Richard Kline, Denny Babcock, Lindsay Carlson Jr., Rick Bump, Duane Powers, Aaron Bartas, Kurt Babcock

JOSH WILCOX, Jim Challingsworth, Don Williams, Joe Layfield, Roger Schweikert, Ron Winans, Mark Carlson, Michael Ely, Dennis Cummings, Clif Easton (DNS – Tim Burkett)

For more information on the NDRL’s McKean County Raceway and the 8th Annual Fall Classic please visit www.mckeancountyraceway.com.

Like the National Dirt Racing League and the NDRL’s McKean County Raceway on Facebook at www.facebook.com/NationalDirtRacingLeague or www.facebook.com/NDRLMckeanCountyRaceway and follow the NDRL on Twitter at @The_NDRL.