CLEARFIELD, PA – Brandon Spithaler of Evans City claimed the first ever BOSS Wingless 410 Sprint show at America’s Motorsports Park in Clearfield on Saturday night.
Justin Williamson of Three Springs became the eighth different winner in as many races in the Clearfield County Metals Four Cylinders and Ronnie Bottenfield of Saxton copped his first ever feature win Denny’s Beer Barrel Pub Semi Late Main.

Repeat winners include: Duane Stiner of Houtzdale in the Randy Sterling Trucking Late Models, Dan Smeal of Ramey in the Srock Contracting Street Stocks and Justin Queen of Irvona in the WG Satterlee Oil Pure Stocks.
Brandon Spithaler and Adam Miller led the 20 car BOSS Sprint feature to the green flag with Spithaler taking the lead and pulling away from the field. As he led, the battle from second back was an intense one, as five cautions slowed the race to the point where a fuel stop was needed.

Spithaler continued to set the pace on the restart while Dustin Smith was second for most of the race. As he ran second, Chuck Wilson sat third as Chad Wilson and the rest of the field back changed most of the rest of the night. At the finish the top five were: Spithaler, Smith, Wilson, Wilson and Derek Hasting. Spithaler, Mike Miller, Chuck Wilson and Tony Beaber won the heats while the B-main was won by Dick Mahoney.
Derek Rodkey and Duane Stiner led the Late Models to the green flag with Rodkey taking the lead. As the field exited the fourth turn on lap two, Todd Sallack got out of shape and got into the rear of NASCAR Legend Red Farmer, which sent Farmer across the front stretch and into the wall head-on. Farmer’s F15 bounced off the wall and went back into traffic, but luckily no one hit him. Emergency personnel were on the scene quickly and Farmer was uninjured.

On the restart Rodkey was still setting the pace until lap three, when Stiner moved to the inside out of turn two and took the top spot. Stiner was setting the pace with Rodkey still second and Luke Hoffner now third. On lap 10, Hoffner took second from Rodkey, but by then, Stiner had opened up a nice lead. Hoffner was on the gas, trying every trick he knew to reel in Stiner, and as the race continued, Hoffner kept reeling the leader in, but he ran out of time and came home second to Stiner by just a few feet. At the waving of Artie Luzier’s double checkered flags, it was Stiner getting his third win of the season over Hoffner, Rodkey, John Brady and Dan Gill. Heat wins went to Stiner and Rodkey.

It was an all 00 front row for the Semi Lates with Paul Ivory on the pole and Denny Forney outside as Forney took the lead at the start, as Forney took the lead and looked like a sure winner, but Ronnie Bottenfield was sitting in second and he took advantage of a miscue from Forney and took the lead on lap 13, the rest of the way Bottenfield continued to open up an advantage and took his first ever career win. Jeremy Ohl was second, Forney was third with Paul Ivory and Neil Wilson completing the top five. Heat wins were collected by Ohl and Forney.

Jim Bloom and Dan Smeal brought the Street Stocks to the green flag with Smeal wasting no time to take the lead. Bloom Ran second to Smeal for first five laps before Brian Rhed took second and set his sights on Smeal, as Jamie Price dropped Bloom back to fourth, he began to reel in Rhed who was closing on Smeal. Rhed was right with Smeal as they began to close on lapped traffic, and at one time Rhed pulled alongside Smeal going into the first turn as the slower traffic held the leader up, but going through the first and second turns, the slower cars drifted high, blocking Rheds path and Smeal regained the lead off turn two and held on for his second win of the season. Rhed was a close second with Price, Fuzzy Fields and Bob Rosmen rounding out the top five. Smeal and Bloom copped heat wins.

Ron Winslow and BJ Hudson brought the Pure Stocks to the start with Winslow leading the field into the first turn. Eric Lucas then passed Hudson to take over second as Justin Queen was charging to the front. As Winslow led, his handling started to go away, coupled with a lap five caution that tightened the field. This saw Lucas still second, Hudson in third and Queen in fourth. On the restart, Lucas began to fade, as Hudson and Queen both moved by, setting their sights on Winslow, who was still pushing high in the turns. On lap nine, Queen dove under Winslow and took the lead in turn three and held on for his third win of the season and his second straight. Winslow was second, newcomer Shawn Shoemaker was third with Hudson fourth and Cragan Brady in fifth. Hudson and Winslow split the heats.

The final event of the night was the Four Cylinders with Aaron Luzier and Justin Williamson bringing the field to the start, with Williamson taking the lead and Luzier falling to second. They ran that way the entire distance, but the rest of the field jockeyed for position as ninth place starter Stephanie Lucas was determined to get to the front, but she could only muster up a third at the end. The top five were: Williamson, Luzier, Lucas, Ryan Shaffner and Eric Luzier. Heat wins went to Aaron Luzier and Williamson.

PIT NOTES: 83 teams filled the pits, including 11 Late Models, 27 BOSS Wingless 410 Sprints, 9 Semi Lates, 10 Street Stocks, 9 Pure Stocks and 17 Four Cylinders…Regular competiton Bill Phillips Jr. of Blandburg was seriously injured in an ATV crash near his home on Friday night and he was flown the UPMC Altoona for treatment….The 50/50 winner received $1,064.50…Coming up this week is a regular AMPed up show for the Late Models, Semi Lates, Street Stocks, Pure Stocks and Four Cylinders. Gates open at 3 racing is set for 6:30 p.m…Coming Sunday, July 27 is the Fourth Annual Connor Bobik Memorial for the Late Models sponsored by Randy Sterling Trucking and Srock Contracting. The race will pay $3,000 to win and $300 to start plus the Laurel Highland Racesaver Sprints will also be on the card paying $500 to win and $200 to start. Race time is 6 p.m. Check the website at for more.

Randy Sterling Trucking Late Models: 1. Duane Stiner, Houtzdale; 2. Luke Hoffner, 3. Derek Rodkey, 4. John Brady, 5. Dan Gill, 6. Scott Alvetro, 7. Todd Sallack, 8. Tom Merryman, Jr., 9. Red Farmer, 10. Steven Scaife, 11. Travis Brady.

B.O.S.S. Wingless Sprints: 1. Brandon Spithaler, Evans City; 2. Dustin Smith, 3. Chuck Wilson, 4. Chad Wilson, 5. Derek Hastings, 6. Arnie Kent, 7.Joe Butera, 8. Joe Ligouri, 9. Logan Hupp, 10. Dick Mahoney, 11. Bradley Howard, 12. Johnny Beaber, 13. Steve Little, 14. Scott Harman, 15. Craig Folmar, 16. Aaron Middaugh, 17. Michael Fischesser, 18. Tony Beaber, 19. Adam Miller, 20. Mike Miller.

DNQ – Cory Thronton, Jake Gamola, Charlie Cornelius, Eddie Mesaros, Brandon Cornelius, Bob McMillan & Don Sotosky.

Denny’s Beer Barrel Pub Semi Lates: 1. Ronnie Bottenfield, Saxton; 2. Jeremy Ohl, 3. Denny Forney, 4. Paul Ivory, 5. Neil Wilson, 6. Josh Henry, 7. Pete Ivory, 8. Dale Claycomb, 9. Michael Blazer.

Srock Contracting Street Stocks: 1. Dan Smeal, Ramey; 2. Brian Rhed, 3. Jamie Price, 4. Fuzzy Fields, 5. Bob Rosman, 6. Jim Bloom, 7. Curtis Teats, 8. Rick Hemphill, 9. Butch Braim, 10. Tony Brown.

W.G. Satterlee Oil Pure Stocks: 1. Justin Queen, Irvona; 2. Ron Winslow, 3. Shawn Shoemaker, 4. BJ Hudson, 5. Cregan Brady, 6. Brian Mills, 7. Bob Helsel, 8. Eric Lucas.
DNS – Tyler Wagner.
Clearfield County Metals Four Cylinders: 1. Justin Williamson, Three Springs; 2. Aaron Luzier, 3. Stephanie Lucas, 4. Ryan Shaffner, 5.Eric Luzier, 6. Mike Phillipson, 7. Jen Bailey, 8. Milton Owens, 9. Garrett Watkins, 10. Corrin Monosky, 11. Dan Rudy, 12. Bill Hassenplug, 13. Ricky Clark, 14. Andrew Moist, 15. Cody Claycomb, 16. Dustin Kemp.