Stone Sweeps ULMS ‘September Sweep’, Hess Takes UEMS Checkers at Eriez!


For Immediate Release:
The NDRL’s United Late Model Series

Stone Sweeps ULMS ‘September Sweep’, Hess Takes UEMS Checkers!

By Jay Pees
Hammett, PA, September 8, 2013: The September Sweep finale, originally set for Saturday night, was run Sunday with B-Mains filling out the feature lineups, then features for all divisions with the highest purses of the season.

The UEMS Plyler Overhead Door E-Mods ran two B-Mains, won by Steve Dixon and Carl McKinney. Steve Sornberger and Dan Sasso were the provisional starters.

After three heats set the starting field for the Jay’s Auto Wrecking ULMS Super Late Model feature of the First Annual September Sweep Robbie Blair started the 50 lap September Sweep $5000 to win feature from the pole with Dave Scott outside.

Blair, the 2013 Eriez champion and eight time feature winner drove away from Scott at the drop of the green and appeared to be heading for the $5000 winner’s check, building a huge lead early in the race. At ten laps in Blair had half a straight lead over Scott with Friday night’s winner Dan Stone and 2011 track champion Mike Knight fighting over third. Chris Hackett was fifth at this point. Stone was third at lap fifteen and alongside Scott a lap later. With seventeen complete Stone was a solid second and closing on Blair. In heavy lapped traffic Stone closed the gap to three car lengths at lap 22. Coming out of turn four at halfway the tenth starting Stone got by Blair, looking to score his second win in three days. With thirty one complete Stone’s four car-length lead evaporated when Doug Eck spun in turn four. With nineteen laps remaining Stone brought the field back to green with Blair and Knight behind him and then Dave Scott and Chad Valone. At forty one complete Doug Eck pulled to the infield then drove back to the track edge and stopped, drawing a caution and resetting the field for the final green flag run. At Spanky Hall’s four checkered finish Stone held a near half straight lead over Blair. Knight, Scott, and Valone followed to end the 2013 season at Eriez.

Randy Hall and Justin Carlson brought the UEMS Plyler Overhead Door ULMS E-Mod feature to the green with Hall, a former series champion, immediately taking the lead. Several cautions slowed the early going. By lap two the newly crowned Eriez champion, Rich Michael, was second with Carlson third and former Eriez champion Dave Hess fourth. At five laps complete Vic Vena moved to fourth while at the front Michael was challenging Hall. The two were side by side with Dave Hess right behind from lap six through thirteen with Hall pulling back to the lead at lap fourteen. At lap sixteen Hess was alongside Michael with the lapped traffic coming into play. The lead battle was three-wide coming by the line to finish lap eighteen. The three stayed three wide till turn three when Michael turned hard into the turn three concrete wall, possibly after wheel to wheel contact with a lapped car. On the lap prior to the yellow Hess was slightly ahead at the line so restarted the event from the lead. One lap after green again flew Vena came to second but Hess was pulling away from the pack. Hess’s lead vanished at lap 24 when Steve Simon got into the turn two wall, setting up a six lap run to the checkers. The final six laps had Hall coming back to second but Hess was opening his lead again, heading to a $5000 payday. Vena and Hall ran side by side over the last lap with Hall getting the spot by inches. 2012 track champion Joel Watson was fourth and 2013 McKean County Raceway champion Steve Dixon fifth.

Jay’s Auto Wrecking ULMS Super Late Models:
Heat 1: David Scott, Chris Hackett, Robbie Blair, Dave Hess, Bump Hedman, Scott Gurdak, Bob Dorman, Ryan Scott
Heat 2: Mike Knight, Rich Gardner, Boom Briggs, Andy Boozel, Chub Frank, Matt Urban, Greg Oakes
Heat 3: Russ King, Tim Fuller, Darrell Bossard, Dan Stone, John Lobb, Scott Johnson, Chris Peterson, Doug Eck
ULMS Feature: Dan Stone, Robbie Blair, Mike Knight, Dave Scott, Chad Valone, Tim Fuller, Darrell Bossard, Rich Gardner, Dave Hess, Greg Oakes, Andy Boozel, Chub Frank, Boom Briggs, Scott Gurdak, Bump Hedman, Scott Johnson, John Lobb, Chris Hackett, Doug Eck, Matt Urban, Chevy Scott, Russ King, Bob Dorman ,Chris Peterson

Plyler Overhead Door UEMS E-Mods:
B-Main1: Steve Dixon, John Boyd, John Boardman, Steve Simon, Brian Fardink, Dan Sasso, Bill Raylor, Cubby Haupt
Heat 2: Carl McKinney, Shane Crotty, John Schenker, Tom Hagberg, Steve Sornberger, Gary Murphy, Tony Marrotto
Feature: Dave Hess, Randy Hall, Vic Vena, Joel Watson, Steve Dixon, Butch Southwell, Justin Carlson, Russ Dunn, Greg Johnson, Kenny Zimmer, John Boyd, Shane Crotty, Steve Sornberger, John Schenker, Tom Hagberg, Scott Pangrazio, Carl McKinney, Steve Simon, Mike Smith, Rich Michael, Dan Sasso, Darren Tarabori, John Boardman, Chad Carlson

For more information on this event or the NDRL’s ULMS please visit or

Like the National Dirt Racing League and the NDRL’s McKean County Raceway on Facebook at or and follow the NDRL on Twitter at @The_NDRL.

The NDRL’s ULMS Racing Series would also like to thank their supporters for the 2013 season: Aero Racing Wheels, American Racer Tires, Big Shot Performance, LLC, Bill’s Dirt Late Models, Close Racing Supply, Genesis Racing Shocks, Hoosier Racing Tire, Integra Racing Shocks, Jay’s Auto Wrecking, JNJ Motorsports Media, Keizer Aluminum Wheels, Lias Tire, Oyler Photos, Performance Bodies, Slavic Custom Racing Apparel and Decals, and R2C Filters.