Swindell wing dances at Willamette with Lucas Oil ASCS

Bryan Hulbert – LEBANON, Ore. (July 26, 2013) For the third time in 2013, Jeff Swindell parked the MVT No. 94 in Lucas Oil ASCS victory lane, taking the lead on a Lap 11 restart in Friday’s Protect the Harvest A-Main at the Willamette Speedway in Lebanon, Ore.

Drawing fourth, Swindell worked to the runner up spot on Lap 3. Trailing the No. 05 of Brad Loyet, the pair worked into slower traffic early before the caution flew on Lap 8 for the spun No. 5 of Brian Boswell. The caution again flew on Lap 11 for the spun No. 17w of Cole Wood.

Glued to the back bumper of Loyet’s Miller Truck Lines No. 05, Swindell dropped to the hub of the Willamette Speedway entering turn one, sliding across the nose of Loyet for the race lead to lead Lap 12.

“The key was to be right on his back bumper at the flag stand” commented Swindell on the pass for the lead. “He beat me on the first one. I didn’t get the jump quick enough and with him going down to the bottom, and me going to the top on that restart it just goes back to if you don’t get the jump real quick, you’re not going to be with them.”

Loyet rode in the runner up spot until Lap 22 before surrendering the position to fourteenth starting Johnny Herrera.

Finding the very thin strip of rubber, the Print Place No. 45x held off the hard charging Logan Forler for the runner up finish.

“We knew we were going to have our work cut out for us starting fourteenth. You know the guys worked hard and probably, if it hadn’t taken rubber, we were going to run about seventh, or eighth with the way the racetrack was” said Herrera of the runner up finish. “You just had to wait for guys to make a mistake on the cushion.”

Logan Forler crossed third with Brad Loyet ending up fourth after leading the first 11 laps to take the final transfer into Saturday’s 30 lap Protect the Harvest feature event. Jason Johnson salvaged his night with a fifth place after contact with the wall through turns one and two sent the Roush/Yates No. 41 from fourth eighth on Lap 14.

Second starting Chadd Noland settled for sixth with Seth Bergman coming from twelfth to seventh. Roger Crockett crossed eighth with Dustin Morgan and Shane Golobic completing the top ten.

Heat Races numbered three with Brad Loyet, Jason Johnson, and Dustin Morgan each earning wins. The Northwest Region saw high points going to Chadd Noland followed by Roger Crockett, Henry VanDam, Reece Gotez, and Jake Waddell earning the top five in points.

The final night at the Willamette Speedway begins at 6:30 P.M. (PDT) on Saturday, July 27.

Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV American Real
Willamette Speedway – Lebanon, Ore.
Friday, July 26, 2013

Car Count: 22

Wesmar Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 05-Brad Loyet[5]; 2. 9R-Reece Goetz[2]; 3. 71-Chadd Noland[6]; 4. 23-Seth Bergman[3]; 5. 10-Kyle Miller[8]; 6. 26F-Shane Forte[1]; 7. 5-Brian Boswell[7]; 8. 4J-Allison Journey[4]

BMRS Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 41-Jason Johnson[2]; 2. 94-Jeff Swindell[3]; 3. 17W-Cole Wood[1]; 4. 11-Roger Crockett[7]; 5. 33V-Henry VanDam[5]; 6. 29-Brandon Hahn[6]; 7. 10J-Jake Waddell[4]

Rod End Supply Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 93-Dustin Morgan[1]; 2. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[3]; 3. 2L-Logan Forler[6]; 4. 22-Shane Golobic[7]; 5. 45X-Johnny Herrera[5]; 6. 21T-Zack Spaulding[4]; DNF 88-Brent Hoover[2]

Protect the Harvest A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 94-Jeff Swindell[4]; 2. 45X-Johnny Herrera[14]; 3. 2L-Logan Forler[5]; 4. 05-Brad Loyet[1]; 5. 41-Jason Johnson[3]; 6. 71-Chadd Noland[2]; 7. 23-Seth Bergman[12]; 8. 11-Roger Crockett[8]; 9. 93-Dustin Morgan[7]; 10. 22-Shane Golobic[9]; 11. 33V-Henry VanDam[13]; 12. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[6]; 13. 9R-Reece Goetz[10]; 14. 10J-Jake Waddell[19]; 15. 17W-Cole Wood[11]; 16. 29-Brandon Hahn[15]; 17. 4J-Allison Journey[21]; 18. 26F-Shane Forte[18]; DNF 21T-Zack Spaulding[16]; DNF 10-Kyle Miller[22]; DNF 5-Brian Boswell[17]; DNF 88-Brent Hoover[20]

Lap Leaders: Brad Loyet (1-11), Jeff Swindell (12-25)
PitstopUSA.com Hard Charger: Johnny Herrera +12
FSR High Points of the Night: Brad Loyet
Hawk Performance Products Fastest Lap of the Night: Johnny Herrera – 13.713 seconds
Provisionals: N/A

2013 “A” Feature Winners: Jason Johnson-6, Johnny Herrera-3, Roger Crockett-3, Jeff Swindell-3, Logan Forler-2, Brian Brown-1, Kyle Bellm-1, Brad Loyet-1, Danny Lasoski-1, Jack Dover-1, Seth Bergman-1, Jonathan Cornell-1, Tony Bruce, Jr.-1, Travis Rilat-1

Lucas Oil ASCS Driver Standings (Top 10): 1. Johnny Herrera 3,343; 2. Jason Johnson 3,314; 3. Jeff Swindell 3,179; 4. Brad Loyet 3,114; 5. Tony Bruce, Jr. 3,026; 6. Logan Forler 3,021; 7. Seth Bergman 2,954; 8. Dustin Morgan 2,787; 9. Cole Wood 2,634; 10. Brandon Hahn 2,169;

The 2013 season marks the twenty-second year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series, ASCS also consists of nine different Regions throughout the nation.

Lucas Oil Products is the title sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. More information can be found on Lucas Oil Products at www.lucasoil.com. MAVTV is the presenting sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. Log onto www.mavtv.com for information regarding availability and listings in your area.

Associate sponsors for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV include: Hoosier Racing Tire and Brodix

Team Lucas Sponsors for the American Sprint Car Series consist of Protect the Harvest, Hawk Performance Products, Geico, E3 Spark Plugs, and General Tire.

Product and Contingency Sponsorship provided by: K&N Filters, PitstopUSA.com, Engler Machine and Tool, Roush Yates Racing Engines, FSR Radiator and Racing Products, Schoenfeld Headers, Driverwebsites.com, Weld Wheels, Fuel Safe, Saldana Racing Products, SBI Fuel Bladders, Maxwell Industries, Print Place, Xtreme Accu-Tach, Simpson, LeJoie Seating, Ti 22 Performance, Wesmar Racing Engines, Hinchman Indy Racewear, Brown and Miller Racing Solutions, DMI Rear Ends, Rod End Supply, Smiley’s Racing Products, Speedway Motors, and Hilborn Injection Systems.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at www.ascsracing.com as well as Twitter (@LucasOilASCS) and Facebook. News and information can also be sent to you with the ASCS E-News by texting ASCS to 22828 with any mobile device.

Photo Credit: Bryan Hulbert