The "Road to Dirt Cup" kicks off on Friday & Saturday in Chico & Medford

(Last year’s ASCS National champ and Knoxville Nationals runner up Shane Stewart will be a top contender on Friday and Saturday in Paul Silva’s No. 57 machine)

Cancen Oil King of the West Sprint Car Series presented by Goodyear Notes & Pertinent Info

“Road to Dirt Cup”

Friday June 8 Silver Dollar Speedway & Saturday June 9 Southern Oregon Speedway


The Cancen Oil King of the West Sprint Car Series presented by Goodyear is geared up for an exciting two-nights of racing this Friday & Saturday with the “Road to Dirt Cup” kicking off. On Friday June 8 the tour will be in action at Chico’s Silver Dollar Speedway for the second time this season and on Saturday June 9 it will be the lone KWS appearance of 2012 at the Southern Oregon Speedway in Medford, Oregon.

Special guest entrants for the Chico and Medford events this coming weekend will include National Sprint Car Hall of Famer Jimmy Sills and last year’s Knoxville Nationals runner up Shane Stewart of Bixby, Oklahoma. Sills will climb behind the wheel of the Dan Simpson Racing No. 4s, whereas Stewart is set to compete in the familiar and always potent Paul Silva Motorsports No. 57 sprinter.

Three-time and defending “Jim Raper Memorial Dirt Cup” champion Jonathan Allard continues to lead the Cancen Oil KWS Series presented by Goodyear going into Friday’s show at Silver Dollar Speedway. Allard was the winner on May 5 in Chico and also claimed victory last June at the Southern Oregon Speedway.

Last year’s Dirt Cup runner-up Tim Kaeding has cut Allard’s point-lead to 20-markers going into the weekend. “TK” last season scored a second place finish at the Southern Oregon Speedway and also drove the Roth Motorsports No. 83 to a victory at the track in 2004. Scotts Valley’s Evan Suggs is fresh off his best outing of the year and now ranks third in the series standings.

Multiple-time Dirt Cup champion Brent Kaeding is currently fourth in the KWS points and will be searching for his first series win of the season this weekend. The Hall of Famer has won a number of races in his career at the Southern Oregon Speedway and is also the all-time winningest driver in Silver Dollar Speedway history. Rounding out the top-five in points is former NARC Speedweek champion Bobby McMahan, who will also be looking to break his way into victory lane this weekend.


On Friday June 8 at front grandstand gate of the Silver Dollar Speedway will open at 5pm, with qualifying at 6:30pm and racing scheduled to begin around 7pm.

On Saturday June 9 the front grandstand gate of Southern Oregon Speedway will open at 4pm, qualifying around 6pm and racing to start at 6:30pm.


The Silver Dollar Speedway is located at 2357 Fair Street on the Silver Dollar Fairgrounds in Chico, California. The office number is (530) 350-7275.

The Southern Oregon Speedway is located at the Jackson County Sports Park just outside of White City, Oregon and is about 15 minutes from downtown Medford. The track number is (541) 826-6825.

About the track:

The Silver Dollar Speedway is a high-banked quarter-mile clay oval and is considered one of the most famous dirt tracks in the country. The all-time KWS 410 track record at SDS was set by Jonathan Allard on May 9, 2009 at a time of 11.119 seconds.

The Southern Oregon Speedway is a one-third mile clay oval with the all-time track record being 10.930 set by Donny Schatz on August 30, 2006. Previous KWS 410 winners at the track include Jonathan Allard, Kyle Larson, Tim Kaeding, Tim Shaffer and Brent Kaeding on two separate occasions.


Adult tickets on Friday night at Silver Dollar Speedway will cost $20, juniors will be $15 and children $6.

Adult general admission tickets on Saturday night at the Southern Oregon Speedway will cost $25, with juniors, seniors and veterans $17 and kids free. Reserved seating will cost $30.

Last June at Silver Dollar Speedway & Southern Oregon Speedway:

Last year’s “Road to Dirt Cup” opener at the Silver Dollar Speedway saw Clovis, CA’s Peter Murphy charge from 15th to claim victory in the main event aboard the Dalton’s Landscaping No. 11 sprinter. Roger Crockett, Tim Kaeding, Brent Kaeding and Ian Madsen rounded the top-five, during what was the re-scheduled “Dave Bradway Jr. Memorial/Tribute to Gary Patterson.”

The second leg of the “Road to Dirt Cup” at Southern Oregon Speedway featured a late-race battle between Jonathan Allard and Tim Kaeding, which ended with Allard getting the upper hand to score his first unlimited 410 win at the one-third mile oval. T. Kaeding came home second, with Ian Madsen, Evan Suggs and Brent Kaeding completing the top-five in the 30-lapper.

Top-15 in Cancen Oil KWS presented by Goodyear points going into Friday:

  1. Jonathan Allard 1366; 2. Tim Kaeding 1346; 3. Evan Suggs 1279; 4. Brent Kaeding 1274; 5. Bobby McMahan 1248; 6. Andy Gregg 1234; 7. Peter Murphy 1216; 8. Jason Statler 1205; 9. Willie Croft 1195; 10. Craig Stidham 1130; 11. Chad Compton 1099; 12. Doug Gandy 926; 13. Pat Harvey 837; 14. Rico Abreu 817; 15. Danielle Simpson 809

Winners so far this season with KWS:

April 7 Antioch Speedway Tim Kaeding; 
April 21 Marysville Raceway Park Jonathan Allard; 
April 28 Placerville Speedway Tim Kaeding; 
May 5 Silver Dollar Speedway Jonathan Allard; 
May 11 Tulare Thunderbowl Raceway Kyle Larson; 
May 12 Tulare Thunderbowl Raceway Rico Abreu; 
May 26 Calistoga Speedway Tim Kaeding;
May 27 Calistoga Speedway Rico Abreu; 
June 2 Kings Speedway Bud Kaeding;

Upcoming events for KWS:

Friday June 8 – Silver Dollar Speedway “Road to Dirt Cup”
Saturday June 9 – Southern Oregon Speedway in Medford, Oregon “Road to Dirt Cup”

Saturday June 23 – Antioch Speedway

Friday June 29- Merced Speedway 
Saturday June 30- Placerville Speedway

On the internet:

Cancen Oil King of the West Sprint Car Series presented by Goodyear-

Official Website-

Silver Dollar Speedway-

Official Website-

Southern Oregon Speedway-

Official Website-