Tony Stewart Wins Williams Grove URC Nationals, Buckwalter Claims 410 Sprint Main

Williams Grove Speedway

Mechanicsburg – Reigning NASCAR champion Tony Stewart claimed the $4,000 to win URC Rislone Sprint Nationals at Williams Grove Speedway on Friday night, turning in a dominating performance in the 25-lap URC main.

In the Lawrence Chevrolet 410 sprint main, Steve Buckwalter wired the field for the victory to pick up $250 in lap money on top of his $3,600 winner’s share.

Stewart started 12th in the URC Rislone Nationals and was already up to third on just the second circuit when a caution flag regrouped the field with Chad Trout leading ahead of Randy West.

On the restart, Stewart drove his Office Depot No. 14 by West and immediately closed on Trout.

Twice on the third lap Stewart edged ahead of Trout for the lead only to see Trout reclaim the spot.

But as the pair headed for the completion of lap four, Stewart slammed the door hard on Trout as the pair entered the third turn to take control and speed to his first ever sprint car win at the historic Mechanicsburg oval.

B Main winner Aaron Ott motored into second on lap 13 but failed to close on the leader who extended his advantage to a straightaway at times as he raced through traffic to the finish.

“The motor started breaking with six to go,” Stewart said.

“And when you’re payin’ the bills, you actually watch the gauges,” he joked.

“I like doin’ what I’m doin’ here with the sprint cars.”

Ott rode home second followed by Trout, Robbie Stillwaggon and Davie Franek.

Sixth through 10th went to Eric Tomecek, Randy West, Ryan Bohlke, Ed Aiken and Josh Weller,

Heats for the 35 car field went to Tim Berkheimer, Trout, West with Ott scoring the B Main.

Buckwalter started on the pole of the 25-lap 410 sprint main and led all the way although Doug Esh and Don Kreitz Jr. made attempts to steal his win.

Laps two through 24 went non-stop with fifth starter Doug Esh taking over second on the second circuit to hound Buckwalter the rest of the way.

Seventh starter Kreitz also was on the move and took over a challenging third with 12 laps to go.

During the late stages, the lead duo of Buckwalter, Esh and Kreitz raced within a set of turns for the lead as they negotiated traffic.

It looked as if Buckwalter was home free with less than a lap to go when the red flag appeared for a roll over by fourth-runner Greg Hodnett who reportedly had a blown tire.

Kreitz pounced on the restart as Esh tried to pounce for the lead and got by Esh for second but fell short of pulling out the win.

Esh finished third followed by Danny Dietrich and Brent Marks.

Sixth through 10th went to Chad Layton, Lance Dewease, Fred Rahmer, Ryan Smith and Adam Wilt.

Heats for the 27-car field went to Alan Krimes, Buckwalter and Layton.

August 3, 2012 Feature Finishes:

410 sprint cars, 25 laps: 1. Steve Buckwalter, 2. Don Kreitz Jr., 3. Doug Esh, 4. Danny Dietrich, 5. Brent Marks, 6. Chad Layton, 7. Lance Dewease, 8. Fred Rahmer, 9. Ryan Smith, 10. Adam Wilt, 11. Alan Krimes, 12. Brian Montieth, 13. Pat Cannon, 14. Greg Hodnett, 15. Davey Sammons, 16. Derek Sell, 17. Michael Ruttkamp, 18. Curt Michael, 19. Troy Fraker, 20. Cory Haas, 21. Glenndon Forsythe, 22. Todd Zinn, 23. Jim Shuster, 24. Aaron Ott

DNQ: Dylan Cisney, Jay Reichard, Rick Lafferty

URC 358/360 Sprint Nationals, 25 laps: 1. Tony Stewart, 2. Aaron Ott, 3. Chad Trout, 4. Robbie Stillwaggon, 5. Davie Franek, 6. Eric Tomecek, 7. Randy West, 8. Ryan Bohlke, 9. Ed Aiken, 10. Josh Weller, 11. Tim Berkheimer, 12. Andy Best, 13. Kevin Darling, 14. Tim Hogue, 15. Jimmy Stitzel, 16. Joey Biasi, 17. Bryn Gohn, 18. Steve Downs, 19. JJ Grasso, 20. Mark Bitner, 21. Ryan Wilson, 22. Jonathan Swanson, 23. Scott Lutz, 24. Dave Betts

DNQ: Art Leidl, Kramer Williamson, Fink, Miller, Riggins, Mazy, Fisher, Swanson, Brian Garland, Denny Garl