CAMARGO, IL.) By Brian Liskai– This weekend could be a rich one for Daryn Pittman.

The native of Owasso, Okla. could take home over $30,000 when the University of Northwestern Ohio All Star Circuit of Champion Sprint Car series heads to Port Royal Speedway in Port Royal, Pa. Friday and Saturday for the running of the 45th Annual AB Auto Glass Tuscarora 50. 

On Friday, Sept. 7, the UNOH All Stars will compete in the All Star Night Before The 50 along with the late models before racing in the prestigious Tuscarora 50 on Saturday, Sept. 8.

Pittman comes into the event with a 41-point advantage in the series’ Eastern Region over three time national UNOH All Star champion Tim Shaffer, who hails from Aliquippa, Pa. The champion of the UNOH All Star Circuit of Champions Eastern Region will earn $20,000.

Shaffer, who won the UNOH All Stars’ Western Region championship a month ago, leads the series’ national points as he tries to become only the third driver in series history to win four straight championships. “The Steel City Outlaw” has 5 UNOH All Star wins in 2012.

An adopted member of the PA Posse, Pittman has picked up six wins in 2012, including three UNOH All Star victories.

“Dangerous” David Gravel, Watertown, Conn., will look to solidify his third place UNOH All Star Eastern Region standing. And, don’t count out three time series champion Dale Blaney, who has eight series wins in 2012 and leads the UNOH All Stars Ohio Region points. Blaney currently sits sixth in the series’ Eastern Region points.

Other contenders for the win include Gregg Hodnett, who took the Bob Weikert Memorial victory at Port Royal when the UNOH All Stars last visited in April. Hodnett has seven wins at the track in 2011 and sits fourth in the UNOH All Stars’ Eastern Region Points. 

Nashville, Tennessee resident Paul McMahan has had a solid season with the UNOH All Stars, sitting fourth in the national points; fifth in the Ohio Region; and fifth in the Eastern Region. Bellevue, Ohio’s Cap Henry has also had a very good season and is fifth in the series’ national points; fourth in the Ohio region; and 7th in the Eastern Region.

Winners in 2012 at Port Royal include: Sept. 2 – Frank Cozze; Aug. 26 – Chad Layton; Aug. 19 – Blane Heimbach; Aug. 12 – Davey Sammons; Aug. 5 – Blane Heimbach; July 29 – Greg Hodnett; July 15 – Chad Layton; July 8 – Tyler Walker; June 24 – Greg Hodnett; June 17 – Chad Layton; June 3 – Lance Dewease; May 25 – Greg Hodnett; May 20 – Greg Hodnett; May 6 – Rick Lafferty; April 29 – Greg Hodnett; April 8 – Greg Hodnett and Lance Dewease; and March 18 – Greg Hodnett.

Layton leads Port Royal’s points over 2011 track champion Mike Wagner, Lafferty, Mike Erdley, Hodnett, Heimbach, Keith Kauffman, Nate Snyder, Joey Hershey and Dewease. Dewease is the reining UNOH All Star’s Eastern Region champion.

Friday’s All Star Night Before the 50 feature will go 30 laps and pay $5,000 to win. Saturday’s AB Auto Glass 45th Annual Tuscarora 50 will go 50 laps with at least $11,000 going to the feature winner.

And with laps paying $25 each to lead, more than $1,200 in lap money is also on the line. Plus, a $200 bonus has been posted for the leader at the half-way point.

Adult admission for Friday’s event is $20 with Saturday’s price for adults set at $25. Students ages 12-18 will be admitted for just $5 both nights. 

For more information go to or