Weekend Rewind: American Sprint Car Series

TULSA, Okla. (November 17, 2014) As quickly as it began, the 2014 season for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV American Real has become a memory. Ending out the series 23rd season of touring this past weekend at the Cocopah Speedway, located just south of Yuma, Ariz., the season finale was one filled with plot twists and drama as the championship came down to the final night.

The Winners:

Friday, November 14, 2014*

Jason Johnson (National / Southwest) – Seven times a runner-up finisher leading up Friday night, Jason Johnson finally broke into Victory Lane with the Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour in 2014, winning by 6.226 seconds for the night’s $5,000 payday.

Saturday, November 15, 2014

Shane Stewart (National / Southwest) – The two-time ASCS National Champion graced the wheel of the Scottie McDonald owned No. 88 to pick up his 29th career ASCS National Tour victory. The win was worth $10,000 to the Bixby driver.

News and Notes:

Hanging in the Balance – Jason Johnson’s drive over the past two weeks to come from fifth to first in the Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour standings may not be the biggest point’s deficit ever made up, but it is the greatest number of positions gained to win the Championship in the eleventh hour. However, just minutes after the checkered flag fell on the season; ASCS officials were given an official protest. As of now, all points are unofficial until the Cylinder Heads are checked, and confirmed by Brodix. The Heads are in the possession of ASCS officials and results will be confirmed within the week.

Oh, by the way – Jason Johnson was lucky to even finish on Saturday night as the driver of the No. 41 was suffering from food poisoning. Talking with Johnson the following day, he was feeling better but was still unable to keep anything down.

Know thy Cranes – The wall in Turns one and two made for some interesting, vehicular acrobatics over the weekend as Joshua Williams, Matt Covington, and Mitchell Faccinto all ended up on the wrong side of the concrete. While most tracks normally have a tow-truck with an extendable boom, the Cocopah Speedway believes that overkill is underrated and brought out the Crane to retrieve the misplaced machines.

Engine Swap – Jason Johnson’s victory on Friday night was impressive, but nearly went the way of so many that got away this season as it was revealed that the engine was laps away, if not sooner, from giving up.

Worth the Wait – With the track starting to go away on Friday night, the line had moved all the way around the bottom of the Cocopah Speedway. To bring the track back to life, the top 20-feet of the racing surface was given a light coating of water. The delay to allow track crews and drivers to pack the track in was well worth it as drivers were able to work nearly every inch of the three-eighths mile oval. Proof of that came when Aaron Reutzel charged from 20th to third.

Racing on Seven – Missing a cylinder on Saturday night might have hurt Roger Crockett in terms of catching the leaders, but with the track slick from top to bottom, the lack of power seemed to actually help the Oregon driver, as Crockett raced to a third place finish after starting eleventh.

Thank you – From everyone with the American Sprint Car Series, thank you everyone who has supported us throughout the season. Without the fans, track owners, drivers, crew members, and sponsors we would not be able to do what we love to do.

Coming Up:

With the 2014 season in the books, officials with the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series are hard at work preparing the 2015 lineup, which begins with the $10,000-to-win, Ronald Laney Memorial at Tampa’s East Bay Raceway February 19-21, 2015. The complete scheduled will be released at the 2014 Performance Racing Industries Tradeshow in Indianapolis, Ind.

For continued updates on the American Sprint Car Series, log onto http://www.ascsracing.com.

The 2014 season marks the twenty-third year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation. Anchored by the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Lucas Oil Products is the title sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. More information can be found on Lucas Oil Products at www.lucasoil.com. MAVTV is the presenting sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. Log onto www.mavtv.com for information regarding availability and listings in your area.

Associate sponsors for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV include: Hoosier Racing Tire and Brodix.

Team Lucas Sponsors for the American Sprint Car Series consist of Protect the Harvest, iON Camera, Smokey Mountain Moonshine, C&R Radiator, Hawk Performance Products, Geico, E3 Spark Plugs, and General Tire.

Product and Contingency Sponsorship provided by: K&N Filters, KSE Racing Products, SpeedMart, Competition Suspension, Engler Machine and Tool, FSR Radiator and Racing Products, Schoenfeld Headers, Driverwebsites.com, Weld Wheels, Saldana Racing Products, Maxwell Industries, Print Place, Simpson, The Joie of Seating, Wesmar Racing Engines, Hinchman Indy Racewear, Rod End Supply, Smiley’s Racing Products, Speedway Motors, and Hilborn Injection Systems.A

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at www.ascsracing.com as well as Twitter (@LucasOilASCS) and Facebook. News and information can also be sent to you with the ASCS E-News by texting ASCS to 22828 with any mobile device.A