Outlaws VS. Posse showdown begins at 5 pm October 25!

Port Royal – It has been a decade since the STP World of Outlaws Sprint cars last raced at the historic Port Royal Speedway. And now the wait is over!

The cars and stars of the World of Outlaws circuit will return to Port Royal Speedway this Saturday night, October 25 for a 5 pm showdown with the Pennsylvania Posse stars to close out the 2014 Port Royal Season.

Purely sprint car racing is on the agenda that climaxes with a $10,000 to win, 30-lap feature event.

Gates open at 3 pm for the races and beginning at the same time will be the Nittany Media Penn State Football Tailgate party in the speedway commercial building.

Nittany Media of Lewistown will be hosting the event complete with a pair of 8 x 8 projection screens to help get action started for the evening kickoff of the Penn State/Ohio State match up.

The tailgate will continue through the racing program and until the conclusion of the game if fans remain in attendance.

The World of Outlaws have contested a total of seven events at Port Royal Speedway over the years, staging their first in 1979 when local Lynn Paxton scored the victory aboard the Boops Special No. 1 over Sammy Swindell.

As his career was still on the rise, Don Kreitz Jr. trumped the outlaws in his No. 69 at Port Royal in 1986 over Doug Wolfgang.

Wolfgang came back with a win for Bob Weikert over the band in 1987 with Steve Kinser finishing second.

And then a 14-year hiatus for the series at the track took place before Oklahoma’s Danny Wood won in his No. 21 over Mark Kinser in 2001.

The year 2002 found Californian Brad Furr pilot his No. 2 to a victory ahead of Mark Kinser.

A pair of future outlaws series champions in the making; Jason Meyers took a win over Daryn Pittman in 2003.

And current outlaws powerhouse Donny Schatz scored the most recent outlaws show at the track in 2004 over Pittman.

Ticket sales are ongoing for the upcoming invasion by the STP World of Outlaws and with contingency plans put in place to protect from a loss of the program due to inclement weather, fans can purchase tickets with confidence.

Seat tickets for the highly anticipated return of the World of Outlaws to Port Royal Speedway can be purchased now at the World of Outlaws official website, located at www.worldofoutlaws.com/tickets.

Reserve seating admission tickets, available in rows 7 – 19 of the aluminum grandstand, are set at $35 with adult general “day of” prices set at $30.

General admission prices for students ages 12 – 18 for the outlaws show will be just $20. Ages 0 – 11 will be admitted for free to general admission areas.

Rows 1 – 6 of the aluminum grandstand will be open to general admission ticket holders.

A reserved seat/ticket, in rows 7 – 19 if desired, for ages 0 – 11 and for students will be the aforementioned $35.

Keep up to date on all the latest speedway news and information by visiting the oval’s official website at portroyalspeedway.com or by following the track on Facebook or Twitter.


July 25, 1979

1. Lynn Paxton, Boops

2. Sammy Swindell

3. Jim Nace

4. Steve Kinser

5. Randy Wolfe

May 28, 1986

1. Don Kreitz Jr.

2. Doug Wolfgang

3. Dave Blaney

4. Jack Hewitt

5. Jac Haudenschild

May 27, 1987

1. Doug Wolfgang

2. Steve Kinser

3. Cris Eash

4. Brad Doty

5. Dave Blaney

September 27, 2001

1. Danny Wood

2. Mark Kinser,

3. Steve Kinser

4. Paul McMahan

5. Jason Meyers

September 29, 2002

1. Brad Furr

2. Mark Kinser

3. Greg Hodnett

4. Tim Shaffer

5. Craig Dollansky

October 2, 2003

1. Jason Meyers

2. Daryn Pittman

3. Steve Kinser

4. Tim Shaffer

5. Danny Lasoski

September 29, 2004

1. Donny Schatz

2. Daryn Pittman

3. Lucas Wolfe

4. Steve Kinser

5. Kraig Kinser


May 6, 2000

1. Don Kreitz Jr.

2. Paul McMahan

3. Dave Ely

4. P.J. Chesson

5. Jason Meyers

August 26, 2000

1. Jeff Shepard

2. Jason Meyers

3. Lance Dewease

4. Brad Furr

5. Don Kreitz Jr.

April 28, 2001

1. Lance Dewease

2. Keith Kauffman

3. Todd Shaffer

4. Todd Hestor

5. Todd Gracey

August 25, 2001

1. Todd Shaffer

2. Mike Goodman

3. Lance Dewease

4. Ronald Laney

5. Shane Stewart

April 27, 2002 (feature run 8/24)

1. Lance Dewease

2. Tyler Walker

3. Keith Kauffman

4. Alan Cole

5. Wayne Johnson