Contact: Shawn Miller
World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series PR
704-467-7803 |

World of Outlaws’ Midwest Debut Set for Lone Kentucky Race
There has been a different winner in each of the six previous WoO events at Paducah

PADUCAH, Ky. – April 3, 2012 – Put the ponchos away.
Following a wet March in California, the World of Outlaws are set to debut in the Midwest, where it has been unseasonably warm and dry compared to the damp West Coast. The Outlaws kick off a four-week schedule throughout the Midwest on Friday, April 13, at Paducah International Raceway.
“The weather has been beautiful back in the Midwest,” said Joey Saldana, who set the track record of 12.825 seconds in 2009. “It’s usually the other way around – California is beautiful and it’s bad in the Midwest. Where I live in Indiana it’s been great weather.”
The event at Paducah International Raceway is the only race in Kentucky this season and the first since 2010. Last year’s event was flooded out at the high-banked, 3/8-mile oval, which has featured tricky conditions in the six previous World of Outlaws main events.
“It’s a very unique place,” four-time Outlaws champion Donny Schatz said. “It’s going to be great to get back in the Midwest and get on some high-banked tracks.
“It’s a challenge. I haven’t been very good there in the past, so hopefully we can get there and get ourselves a win.”

The track opened in 1972 and a trio of NASCAR stars have been involved in ownership in the past decade. Dale Earnhardt Jr. and Kenny Schrader have co-owned the track since 2005, and Tony Stewart has been involved since 2006. “I’ve been around it good and I’ve been around it bad,” Kraig Kinser said. “It’s a tough place to get around; high banked, usually slick and dusty, real fast speeds. You’ve got to really be on when you get there.” 

There has been a different winner in each of the six World of Outlaws events held at Paducah International Raceway since 1998. Jeff Swindell won the inaugural race with Andy Hillenburg claiming a 2001 victory. Following a six-year absence, Danny Lasoski (2007), Craig Dollansky (2008), Jason Meyers (2009) and Jac Haudenschild (2010) recorded wins.

Tickets can be ordered online by clicking or by calling 877-395-8606.

The World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series is brought to fans across the country by many important sponsors and partners, including: Armor All (Official Car Care Products), STP (Official Fuel Treatment), Goodyear Tires (Official Tire), Gravely Tractors (Official Lawn Equipment), University of Northwestern Ohio, VP Racing Fuel (Official Racing Fuel), Vicci (Official Apparel); in addition to contingency sponsors, including: Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, JE Pistons, KSE Racing Products, MSD Ignitions, Penske Shocks, Superflow Dynos and Wix Filters; along with manufacturer sponsors, including: Astro Titanium, Fuel Safe, Intercomp, J&J Auto Racing, Jake’s Carts, Racing Electronics, S&S Volvo and TNT Rescue.