World of Outlaws STP Sprint Cars at a Glance: Merced & Silver Dollar

World of Outlaws 2013 Logo
Contact: Sam Martin
World of Outlaws STP Sprint Cars PR
704-467-7803 |

World of Outlaws STP Sprint Cars at a Glance: Merced & Silver Dollar
Outlaws caged in California bullrings on Friday and Saturday

MERCED, Calif. – March 25, 2014 – The World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series continues its California Spring Break tour this weekend starting Friday night at Merced Speedway then shifting Saturday night to the Mini Gold Cup at Silver Dollar Speedway in Chico.

Sammy Swindell will be the driver to beat Friday night at Merced. The Germantown, Tenn., native has won all three World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series events at the track, in fact he’s the only driver to finish in the top five all three years.
Current championship points leader Paul McMahan, who grew up on the California bullrings, will be attempting to win the Mini Gold Cup for the second consecutive year after an emotional win last season.


· Friday, March 28, at the Stockton Dirt Track. Racing begins at 7 p.m.

· Saturday, March 29, at Silver Dollar Speedway. Racing begins at 7 p.m.


· Merced Speedway is located in Merced, Calif., five blocks southwest of SR99 on SR 59, at the fairgrounds. Take State Route 99 to Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd to fairgrounds on left. Click on the link for a map (

· Silver Dollar Speedway is located on Park Avenue, 0.6 miles south of SR 99, then 0.1 miles west. Click on the link for a map (


Merced Speedway is a semi-banked, quarter-mile oval. The track record is 10.823 seconds by Joey Saldana on March 29, 2013

Previous winners at Merced Speedway:

2013 – Sammy Swindell on March 29

2012 – Sammy Swindell on March 30

2011 – Sammy Swindell on April 1

Silver Dollar Speedway is a high-banked, quarter-mile oval. The track record is 10.918 seconds by Daryn Pittman on March 22, 2013

Previous winners at Silver Dollar Speedway:

2013 – Paul McMahan on March 23, Joey Saldana on Sept. 6, Jason Meyers on Sept. 7

2012 – Donny Schatz on March 23, Donny Schatz on Sept. 6, Sean Becker on Sept. 7, Kyle Larson on Sept. 8

2011 – Craig Dollansky on March 12, Paul McMahan on Sept. 9, Kyle Larson on Sept. 10

2010 – Jason Meyers on Sept. 11

2009 – Joey Saldana on March 13, Jason Meyers on March 14, Joey Saldana on Sept. 12

2008 – Jac Haudenschild on Sept. 6

2007 – Joey Saldana on Sept. 8

2006 – Daryn Pittman on Sept. 9

2005 – Steve Kinser on Sept. 10

2004 – Donny Schatz on Sept. 11

2003 – Steve Kinser on Sept. 6

2002 – Steve Kinser on Sept. 7

2001 – Mark Kinser on Sept. 8

2000 – Danny Lasoski on Sept. 16

1999 – Jac Haudenschild on Sept. 18

1998 – Jac Haudenschild on Sept. 19

1997 – Dave Blaney on Sept. 20

1996 – Jeff Swindell on Sept. 21

1995 – Andy Hillenburg on Sept. 16

1994 – Andy Hillenburg on Sept. 17

1993 – Stevie Smith on Sept. 18

1992 – Steve Kinser on March 13, Steve Kinser on Sept. 19

1991 – Brent Kaeding on March 16, Joe Gaerte on Sept. 14

1990 – Bobby Davis, Jr., on March 11, Steve Kinser on Sept. 15

1989 – Jac Haudenschild on March 11, Darrell Hanestad on Sept. 20

1988 – Jimmy Sills on March 5, Steve Kinser on Sept. 17

1987 – Jac Haudenschild on March 7, Steve Kinser on Sept. 19

1986 – Steve Kinser on Sept. 21

1985 – Danny Smith on Sept. 21

1984 – Steve Kinser on Sept. 22

1983 – Steve Kinser on Sept. 24

1982 – Doug Wolfgang on Sept. 25

1981 – Sammy Swindell on Sept. 25, Sammy Swindell on Sept. 26

1980 – Steve Kinser on June 8, Wayne Sue on Sept. 25, Johnny Anderson on Sept. 26, Johnny Anderson on Sept. 27

1979 – Steve Kinser on June 10


The following World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series drivers maintain websites:

Cody Darrah –

Tim Kaeding –

Kraig Kinser –

Steve Kinser –

Kerry Madsen –

Paul McMahan –

Daryn Pittman –

Joey Saldana –

Logan Schuchart –

Donny Schatz –

Jason Sides –

Brad Sweet –

Sammy Swindell –

For more driver information, visit:

WINNERS: Donny Schatz – 2 (Volusia Speedway Park on Feb. 15, The Dirt Track at Las Vegas on March 6), Brad Sweet – 2 (Volusia Speedway Park on Feb. 14, Tucson International Raceway on March 8), Rico Abreu – 1 (Thunderbowl Raceway on March 15),Steve Kinser – 1 (Volusia Speedway Park on Feb. 16), Kerry Madsen – 1 (Stockton Dirt track on March 22), Paul McMahan – 1 (The Dirt Track at Las Vegas on March 5), Daryn Pittman – 1 (Thunderbowl Raceway on March 14)

DASH TWIST: Beginning with Friday’s Merced Speedway event, the World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series will use a new format for the dash, which will be comprised of six cars. The dash will include the heat race winners plus the next fastest cars in qualifying that transfer from their heat to the A-main. The number of heat races will dictate the number of qualifiers that will join the dash, which will set the first three rows of the A-main.

STOCKTON FINISH REVISED: An officials’ review of the finish from Saturday night’s event at the Stockton Dirt Track revealed on Monday that Sammy Swindell’s car sustained a transponder failure during the A-main, resulting in Swindell’s car being scored incorrectly behind Brad Sweet after the two made contact on lap 15 with Swindell ahead. Neither car was able to continue. By World of Outlaws rules, since Swindell was ahead at the time of the incident, he will be awarded 20th position with Sweet finishing 21st.

LISTEN LIVE: Listen live as the Voice of the Outlaws, Johnny Gibson, calls the action at all World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series events on the DIRT Radio Network, with a number of events throughout the season being featured on the DIRTVision Cybercast. Visit for more information on all the features.

LIVE ONLINE UPDATES: Check out the Official World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series website at for live, interactive text updates of each race. It also includes driver biographies with statistics and pictures, race-by-race stats, detailed track information and race coverage, series news and team press releases.

UP NEXT: The World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series races into Calistoga Speedway on Friday and Saturday, April 5-6.