World of Outlaws STP Sprint Cars at a Glance: Oil City Cup

World of Outlaws 2013 Logo
Contact: Sam Martin
World of Outlaws STP Sprint Cars PR
704-467-7803 |

World of Outlaws STP Sprint Cars at a Glance: Oil City Cup
Daryn Pittman leads the championship battle with Donny Schatz in hot pursuit

EDMONTON, Alberta – Aug. 21, 2013 – The World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series championship battle continues to heat up as the series kicks off its second western swing of the year this weekend at Castrol Raceway. Kasey Kahne Racing’s Daryn Pittman has led the points race from the opening night of the season, but Tony Stewart Racing’s Donny Schatz has come on strong as the series enters ventures north of the border for the second time this season.

Schatz enters Castrol Raceway just 42 points behind Pittman as the tour prepares for the Oil City Cup on Friday and Saturday. A year ago it was Big Game Motorsports teammates Craig Dollansky and Sammy Swindell taking the victories at the semi-banked 3/8-mile oval.


· Friday and Saturday, August 23 & 24, at Castrol Raceway, stands open at 4:00 p.m.


· Castrol Raceway is located South of Edmonton on Highway 2, then 1.3 miles west on Highway 19 Click on the link for a map (


Castrol Raceway is a semi-banked, 3/8-mile oval. The track record is 12.561 seconds by Jason Meyers on Aug. 27, 2011

Previous A-Feature winners at Castrol Raceway:

2012 – Craig Dollansky on Aug. 24, Sammy Swindell on Aug. 25

2011 – Jason Meyers on Aug. 26, Cody Darrah on Aug. 27

2010 – Jason Meyers on Aug. 27, Joey Saldana on Aug. 28

2009 – Joey Saldana on Aug. 28, Joey Saldana on Aug. 29

2008 – Jac Haudenschild on Aug. 22, Jason Meyers on Aug. 23

2007 – Steve Kinser on Aug. 17, Donny Schatz on Aug. 19


· Tickets for Castrol Raceway can be purchased by visiting


The following World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series drivers maintain websites:

Cody Darrah –

Craig Dollansky –

David Gravel –

Chad Kemenah –

Kraig Kinser –

Steve Kinser –

Kerry Madsen –

Paul McMahan –

Daryn Pittman –

Bill Rose –

Joey Saldana –

Donny Schatz –

Jason Sides –

Sammy Swindell –

For more driver information, visit:

WINNERS: Donny Schatz – 16 (Kings Speedway on April 12, The Dirt Track at Las Vegas on March 6, Knoxville Raceway on May 11, Williams Grove Speedway on May 17, Lawrenceburg Speedway on May 27, Jackson Speedway on June 14 Knoxville Raceway June 15, Dodge City Raceway Park on July 5, Limaland Motorsports Park on July 11 Lernerville Speedway July 16 Williams Grove Speedway July 20, Lebanon Valley Speedway on July 21, Ohsweken Speedway on July 30, Knoxville Raceway on August 10 River Cities Speedway on August 16 and Nodak Speedway on August 18); Daryn Pittman – 8(Perris Auto Speedway on April 13, Tucson International Raceway on March 9, Volusia Speedway Park on Feb. 15, Eldora Speedway on May 4, New Egypt Speedway on May 21 Dodge City Raceway Park on July 6 Lernerville Speedway on July 16 and Rolling Wheels Raceway Park on July 23); Tim Kaeding – 7 (Thunderbowl Raceway on March 15, The Dirt Track at Las Vegas on March 7, Tri-State Speedway on April 20, Elko Speedway on May 10 LaSalle Speedway on Jun 29 and Huset’s Speedway on July 3); Craig Dollansky – 6 (Thunderbowl Raceway on March 16 Salina Highbanks Speedway on April 27, 34 Raceway on June 6, Lakeside Speedway on June 8 and Beaver Dam Raceway on June 29 ); Paul McMahan – 3 (Silver Dollar Speedway on March 23, The Dirt Track at Charlotte on May 24, I-96 Raceway on June 1 and I-55 Raceway on Aug. 3); Sammy Swindell – 2(Merced Speedway on March 29 and Cedar Lake Speedway on June 30); Kerry Madsen – 2 (Eldora Speedway on May 3 and Eldora Speedway on July 12) ; Steve Kinser – 2 (El Paso Speedway Park on April 16 and McCool Junction Speedway on August 20); Danny Dietrich – 1 (Lincoln Speedway on May 17); Shane Golobic – 1 (Antioch Speedway on April 5); Kraig Kinser – 1 (Orange County Fair Speedway on May 20); Kyle Larson – 1 (Stockton 99 Dirt Track on March 22); Danny Lasoski – 1 (Volusia Speedway Park on Feb. 17); Terry McCarl – 1 (Volusia Speedway Park on Feb. 16),); David Gravel – 1 (I-94 Speedway on June 22) Brad Sweet – 1 (Eldora Speedway on July 13)

LISTEN LIVE: Listen live as the Voice of the Outlaws, Johnny Gibson, calls the action at all World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series events on the DIRT Radio Network, including this week’s Knoxville Nationals. Visit for more information on all the features.

LIVE ONLINE UPDATES: Check out the Official World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series website at for live, interactive text updates of each race. It also includes driver biographies with statistics and pictures, race-by-race stats, detailed track information and race coverage, series news and team press releases.

UP NEXT: The World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series races through the west coast in a grueling swing of nine races in 10 days.