410 Sprint Cars Featured In Selinsgrove Speedway Opener: 51st Season Begins Tomorrow!
2013 Hoosier Sprint Car Tire Rule In Effect


The green flag will fall on the 51st consecutive season opener at Selinsgrove Speedway this Sunday, March 10, featuring a program of 410 sprint car racing. Track gates will open at 12 p.m., with qualifying slated to begin at 2 p.m.

The 410 sprint cars will soar around the sprawling half-mile clay oval in a 25-lap main event paying $4,000 to win and $300 to start out of a purse totaling more than $16,500. Heat races, with starting lineups to be determined by luck-of-the-draw, and a B-main will be the qualifying format for the first open wheel event and Hoosier Tire race of the season at the historic Snyder County oval.

Track officials are making final preparations to the facility in anticipation of this weekend’s opening day tradition. As of Thursday afternoon, the speedway surface was groomed and race-ready.

Sunday’s race will mark a tie for the track’s third earliest sprint car start since the speedway re-opened in 1963. In 1990, the late Joey Kuhn of Mt. Holly Springs also won the sprint car opener on a March 10 race date. Cris Eash of Hanover won the earliest opener held on March 8, 1997, while Todd Shaffer of Millerstown took the checkered flag in the track’s second earliest opener on March 9, 1991.

The late Ray Tilley of Pine Grove is the speedway’s only four-time opening day sprint car winner (1965-1968).

The 410 sprint cars are also scheduled to return to Selinsgrove Speedway on May 26 for the Ray Tilley Classic, July 7 for the Jan Opperman Memorial PA Speedweek Finale, Sept. 14 for the Jim Nace Memorial 31st Annual National Open, and Oct. 6 for the Twin 20’s program.

Last year’s 410 sprint car races at the track were won by Daryn Pittman of Owasso, Okl., (season opener), Lance Dewease of Fayetteville (PA Speedweek), and Pat Cannon of Etters (National Open).

For the latest news, results, and race status, visit selinsgrovespeedway.com or follow us on Twitter and Facebook. The speedway office can also be reached at 570.374.2999.

Admission for March 10, 2013: Adults $15; Students (12-17) $12; Kids 11 & Under Free; Pit Passes $25
410 Sprint Car Purse for March 10, 2013: 1) $4,000 2) $1,600 3) $1,200 4) $1,100 5) $1,000 6) $800 7) $650 8) $600 9) $550 10) $500 11) $450 12) $425 13) $400 14) $375 15) $350 16-24) $300