For Immediate Release:
The NDRL’s United Late Model Series

Alex Ferree and Steve Dixon Claim ‘PENNational’ ULMS and UEMS Wins at Pittsburgh’s PA Motor Speedway

Imperial, PA (July 13, 2013) The NDRL’s ULMS and UEMS tours made their season debut at Pittsburgh’s PA Motor Speedway for the annual ‘PENNational’. The event was a prelude for the season ending ‘Pittsburgher’ as the ULMS, UEMS and RUSH Late Models will be in action. Alex Ferree from Saxonburg chased down Brandon Burgoon to win the 30 lap $3000 ULMS event and UEMS point leader Steve Dixon of Smethport passed early leader Rick Aukland to win his first ever event at PPMS in the Emod portion of the ‘PENNational’.

Brandon Burgoon shot out in front at the drop of the green flag with former ‘Pittsburgher’ winner Keith Barbara in tow. Burgoon quickly shot ahead as Lynn Geisler pressured Barbara for second. Geisler’s quick challenge came to an end on lap three as he lost his left rear tire going into turn one bringing out the first yellow of the event. Burgoon refired the field and again motored away as the battle for fourth began to take place with Jared Miley, Jacob Hawkins and Davey Johnson running three wide. Burgoon opened a half straightaway lead over Barbara by lap ten with Alex Ferree sitting in third. Burgoon opened his lead to a full straightaway over Barbara by lap twelve. Lap thirteen saw Ferree and Davey Johnson both sweep past Barbara in turns one and two. Jared Miley moved into fourth as Barbara’s tires seemed to be fading as he slid back to fifth. Burgoon entered lap traffic on lap 17 and by lap 20 it was evident that Ferree was closing in on the leader with Johnson, Miley and now Jacob Hawkins in fifth and Barbara back to sixth. Ferree kept the high side moving as he closed in within ten car lengths of the leader Burgoon and with five to go was on the rear bumper of Burgoon. The very next lap saw Ferree make the winning pass on the front stretch and quickly motored away to win by a full straightaway over Burgoon, Davey Johnson, Jared Miley, Hawkins, Barbara, Devin Moran, Michael Davis, Daryl Charlier and Kyle Lukon rounded out the top ten. Heat winners were Jim Stephans Brandon Burgoon and Alex Ferree.

Michael Davis and former Miss UEMS Kari Gasser paced the 24 car UEMS Emod field to the green getting the quick jump as Gasser got high going into turn one and losing several spots at the start. Fifth place starting Rick Aukland quickly grabbed second as eighth place starting, Steve Dixon was third as the field rounded turn two. As the leaders were clicking the opening lap off the board Deana Groves would lose control of her machine bringing out the first yellow with Evan Taylor in turn three. The restart saw Dixon get a great start and move into second but UEMS officials ruled he had a little quicker start than needed and would be penalized on lap four when the yellow lights waved again for a four car crash in turn one that eliminated UEMS top runner Vic Vena with severe damage to his machine. Dixon was moved back to the fourth position due to the previous restart jump. On the restart Aukland took the lead from Davis and Dixon was back in third with Bruce Takach and Jonathan Taylor in fifth. Davis would lead the next lap as Dixon would get under and pressure Aukland for second and on lap 7 would grab second from Aukland running the extreme low lane. JE Stalder would bring out the yellow on lap 8
With a flat tire. The restart saw the top three cars of Davis, Dixon and Aukland bring the crowd to their feet with a 3 wide battle for the lead wiith Aukland being the new leader over Dixon, Davis, Jonathan Taylor and former UEMS ‘Pittsburgher’ winner and 20th starting Randy Hall now in fifth! A pair of yellow flags on lap ten and eleven kept the field tight for the restarts. Dixon and Aukland went at it on the restarts with Aukland holding the edge the next few laps by a half car length over the UEMS point leader. Lap 13 the duo were side by side and officially on lap 14 Dixon was the new leader by setting the fastest lap of entire evening at 21.291 seconds, some 2 seconds faster than the time trial laps. Lap 16 saw disaster for fifth place running Hall as he came to a stop with a flat tire bringing out the yellow. The restart saw Aukland chase after Dixon and the final two laps Aukland closed in within a few car lengths but Dixon would pick up his first ever win at PPMS and celebrated in victory lane. Aukland was second with Michael Davis, Jonathan Taylor, Bruce Takach, Kevin Miller, Ken Zimmer, Carl McKinney, Wayne Tessean, and Kari Gasser rounding out the top ten. Heat winners were: Gasser, Aukland and Takach

The ULMS Racing Series “Speedweek” kicks off on Thursday night at the NDRL’s McKean County Raceway as the ULMS Late Models will be running $3000 and the UEMS Emods will be running for a cool grand! Friday night will see both series at Lernerville Speedway with the ULMS cars running for $2500 to win and the Emods for another $1000. The ULMS Late Models will have to be on the UMP tire for Lernerville. Saturday the two series head to Sharon Speedway as the late models will again be running for $3000 and the Emods for another $1000 and the Speedweek tour ends on Sunday as the UEMS Emods will be gunning for their final $1000 payday of the weekend.

NDRL’s ULMS PENNational 30
ALEX FERREE, Brandon Burgoon, Davey Johnson, Jared Miley, Jacob Hawkins, Keith Barbara, Devin Moran, Michael Davis Daryl Charlier, Kyle Lukon, Michael Norris, Ben Miley, Jim Stephans, Steve Baker, Mike Basich, Ed Ferree, Garrett Krummert, Sam Eichelberger, Matt Urban, Jayme Beck, Keith Berner, Mike Johnson, Tommy Beck, Lynn Geisler

NDRL’s UEMS PENNational 20
STEVE DIXON, Rick Aukland, Michael Davis, Jonathan Taylor, Bruce Takach, Kevin Miller, Ken Zimmer, Carl McKinney, Wayne Tessean, Kari Gasser, Randy Hall, Tom Martineck, JJ Baetzrieder, Bob Damron, Bruce Dreistadt, Deana Groves, Joel Watson, Evan Taylor, JE Stalder, Chris Basich, Clayton Kennedy, Joe Gabrielson, Vic Vena, Randy Bauchnecht DNQ: Jeff Johnson, Tim Rager, Jim Plance, Bill Yohe, Joe Betz

The NDRL’s ULMS Racing Series would also like to thank their supporters for the 2013 season: Aero Racing Wheels, American Racer Tires, Big Shot Performance, LLC, Bill’s Dirt Late Models, Close Racing Supply, Genesis Racing Shocks, Hoosier Racing Tire, Integra Racing Shocks, Jay’s Auto Wrecking, JNJ Motorsports Media, Keizer Aluminum Wheels, Lias Tire, Oyler Photos, Performance Bodies, Slavic Custom Racing Apparel and Decals, and R2C Filters.