Hell Tour

Contact: Chris Dolack
DIRTcar Racing PR
704-795-7223 | cdolack@dirtcar.com

Babb Captures Fourth Win of 2013 DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” at Tri-State Speedway

HAUBSTADT, Ind. — July 7, 2013 — Shannon Babb scored his fourth win of the 2013 “Hell Tour” season in dominating fashion Sunday night, as he lead all 40-laps from his second starting position to capture the checkered flag at Tri-State Speedway.

Babb, of Moweaqua, Ill., started from the outside of row one with teenager Bobby Pierce grabbing the pole. Babb took advantage of his starting position and pulled out to an early lead as he rode the outside line. Babb led every lap, but Pierce challenged him as the race wore on. Pierce pulled to Babb’s inside multiple times but couldn’t complete a pass. Babb held him off over the final two laps and pulled away to secure the $5,000 checkered flag. With the victory Sunday night, Shannon Babb is now only two wins shy of Billy Moyer’s record of 82 Summer National career wins.

“The track was excellent,” said Babb, a three-time Summer Nationals champion. “I just think I got the right draw — front row outside was hard to beat tonight. It worked out perfect for me. We’re just happy we’ve won the race. It’s been getting tough. These guys — little Bobby was right there — and these guys are making me step up my program a little bit.”

(Click here for news and information on the DIRTcar Summer Nationals.)

Tanner English, Brandon Sheppard and Ryan Unzicker rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners included Jason Riggs, Shannon Babb and Bobby Pierce.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour continues on Tuesday night at Florence Speedway located in Union, Kentucky.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Tri-State Speedway; Haubstadt, Ind.: July 7, 2013

A-Main (40-laps): 1. Shannon Babb ($5,000), 2. Bobby Pierce, 3. Tanner English, 4. Brandon Sheppard, 5. Ryan Unzicker, 6. Dennis Erb, Jr, 7. Randy Korte, 8. Austin Dillon, 9. Dustin Griffin, 10. Jason Papich, 11. Jason McBride, 12. Mike Schulte, 13. Jeff Watson, 14. Jason Riggs, 15. MCKay Wenger, 16. Michael Kloos, 17. Michael Chilton, 18. Dillan White, 19. Chris Shelton, 20. Clayton Miller, 21. Todd Frank, 22. Frankie Martin.