Babb Scores Second Win of 2014 DIRTCar Summer Nationals Season at Clarksville Speedway
By Jordan Morris

CLARKSVILLE, Tenn. — June 25, 2014 — Shannon Babb powered around pole-sitter Ryan Unzicker on the opening lap and never looked back en route to grabbing his second victory of the 2014 DIRTcar Summer Nationals season on Wednesday night at Clarksville Speedway.

Unzicker, who led the series points heading into the night, managed to finish second but never had a chance to lead a lap, as Babb pulled away from the field by half of a straightaway. The race was slowed by two cautions, one at lap 21 and the other at lap 25, but Unzicker could not get back around Babb, who led all 40 laps in dominating fashion, scoring a well-earned $5,000 payday.

The victory on Wednesday night gave Babb his 85th career Summer Nationals win, returning his name to the top of the series’ all-time wins list, topping Billy Moyer in the season-long battle for the top spot.

“I’ve always enjoyed racing at this track,” said Babb in victory lane. “It’s been tough on me at times, but I started in a good spot, front-row outside was just perfect place to start and was able to get it done.”

Dennis Erb Jr., Tanner English and Bobby Pierce rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners included Erb Jr., Unzicker and Babb.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals continues on Thursday night as they join the DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals at Clayhill Motorsports in Atwood, Tenn.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Clarksville Speedway; Clarksville, Tenn.;June 25, 2014;

A-Main (40-laps): 1. 18-Shannon Babb ($5,000), 2. 24-Ryan Unzicker, 3. 28E-Dennis Erb Jr, 4. 96-Tanner English, 5. 32-Bobby Pierce, 6. 81-Brian Shirley, 7. 96T-Terry English, 8. C8-Timothy Culp, 9. 18S-Jack Sullivan, 10. 12B-Kevin Weaver, 11. B5-Brandon Sheppard, 12. 6M-Wendell Wallace, 13. 16-Justin Rattliff, 14. 15-Richard Frost, 15. 20-Alan Westling, 16. 54JR-Larry Barber Jr, 17. 81JR-Jason Riggs, 18. 27M-Rodney Melvin, 19. 94-Austin Rettig, 20. 61-Caleb Ashby, 21. 25L-Steve Lance Jr, 22. 74-John Minon.