Brady Short leads Dave Darland at Kokomo Speedway

(Doug Vandeventer photo)

Brady Short Captures King of Indiana Sprint Series Championship
Finale at Terre Haute Action Track Canceled Due To Rain

Hail to the King! Brady Short has earned his second King of Indiana Sprint Series crown. With the final event of the 2013 KISS series falling to rain earlier today, Bedford, Indiana’s Short finalized the point title that he led from the first race through the last.

After receiving 1 ½ inches of rain overnight and conditions not improving enough to conduct the racing program, the promoters of the Terre Haute Action Track ruled that the KISS/MSCS event had to be canceled. Unfortunately this story has been heard too often this year, as three of the last four races on the KISS schedule were washouts.

Short opened this year’s KISS tour with a victory, hustling from mid-pack at Bloomington Speedway. Two nights later, Robert Ballou claimed the second feature of the series, at the Kokomo Speedway. Towing to Gas City I-69 Speedway, a track that has challenged him over the years, Short sat up in the cockpit of the Pottorff sprinter and notched his second victory. It also gave him five wins in the history of KISS, second most behind Jon Stanbrough’s 19 victories.

Lawrenceburg Speedway was first to be rained out this year and a week later, Daron Clayton scored at Tri-State Speedway, his fourth KISS win. With fifth place finishes at both Kokomo and Tri-State, Short held a solid 80-point advantage as the last two races, Paragon Speedway and the Terre Haute Action Track, also suffered to the weather. Runner-up Kevin Thomas Jr. recorded his best KISS point finish, and Ballou took third in the final standings.

Following his first crown in 2009, Short becomes the second driver to win more than one KISS championship. Stanbrough is the winningest driver and also the record holder with six titles. Other champions over the 13 years of KISS competition include Dave Darland, Tony Elliott, Justin Marvel, Dickie Gaines and Michael Burthay.

Final 2013 KISS Point Standings

1. Brady Short 680, 2. Kevin Thomas Jr. 600, 3. Robert Ballou 581, 4. Hunter Schuerenberg 577, 5. Casey Shuman 536, 6. Levi Jones 492, 7. Dave Darland 479, 8. Shane Cottle 427, 9. Jerry Coons Jr. 400, 10. Chris Gurley 351


May 3 Bloomington Speedway – Brady Short
May 5 Kokomo Speedway – Robert Ballou
May 10 Gas City I-69 Speedway – Brady Short
May 18 Lawrenceburg Speedway – Rain
May 26 Tri-State Speedway – Daron Clayton
June 1 Paragon Speedway – Rain
July 2 Terre Haute Action Track – Rain