Bryan Clauson, originally of Carmichael, California, and now living in Noblesville, Indiana, today was named the 2012 “Driver of the Year” by the North American Non-Winged Sprint Car Poll voting panel of media members, promoters, sanctioning officials and manufacturers for his first time ever. The United States Auto Club (USAC) sprint car champion and Indianapolis 500 competitor earned twelve (12) of the sixteen (16) first-place ballots cast in the year-end poll.

Those drivers ranked second through fifth, respectively, are Dave Darland of Indiana, USAC-California Racing Association (CRA) champion Mike Spencer of California, Midwest Sprint Car Series (MSCS) and King of Indiana Sprint Series (KISS) champion Jon Stanbrough of Indiana, and Tracy Hines of Indiana. Rounding out the ‘top ten’ drivers are Chase Stockon, Damion Gardner, three-time “Driver of the Year” Levi Jones, Nic Faas and Ryan Bernal, respectively. Mike Spencer captured three (3) first-place votes, while a single nod went to three-time “Driver of the Year” Jon Stanbrough. Bryan Clauson’s sprint car owners, Corey Tucker, Tim Clauson, Mike Curb and Cary Agajanian, will receive the 2012 non-winged sprint car “Team of the Year” award for their first time.

Chase Stockon of Indiana will receive the “Wild Card Award” for his exciting non-winged sprint car performances in 2012.

Nick Drake of North Carolina will receive the 2012 North American Non-Winged Sprint Car Poll “Rookie of the Year” award from the voting panel. Joe Devin of DRC Chassis will receive the “Builder/Manufacturer of the Year” honors for the fifth time.

The North American Non-Winged Sprint Car Poll is an annual awards program of the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame & Museum Foundation, Inc., of Knoxville, Iowa. All awards will be distributed in the spring of 2013 at tracks throughout North America.