Knoxville, IA – 8/11/12] Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania native and second year Knoxville Nationals competitor, Danny Holtgraver, has officially earned a starting spot in Saturday night’s 22 lap B-main during the 52nd Annual Goodyear Knoxville Nationals finale at Knoxville Raceway in Knoxville, Iowa. The former Lernerville Speedway track champion and Western Pennsylvania hotshoe finished 10th Friday evening in the 25 lap, Knoxville Nationals preliminary A-main event; allowing the Kargo Quality Cars and Trucks/Alternative Power Sources ‘D4’ team to lock themselves into Saturday night’s 22 lap B-main event. If Holtgraver can finish inside the top four (4) of Saturday night’s Knoxville Nationals B-main event, then the ‘D4’ will automatically qualify for the $150,000-to-win, Knoxville Nationals feature event. 

“We had a really great night tonight” said Holtgraver about his Friday night performance at Knoxville, “The new Friday night format allowed us to put ourselves in better position for Saturday night’s finale…the car felt great in qualifying and in the heat race but I kinda ruined the tires in the feature…hopefully we can make the car go forward in tomorrow night’s B-main and get in the big show!”

After having a rather disappointing start to his Knoxville Nationals effort during preliminary action on Wednesday evening where he failed to make the A-main, Holtgraver and the Kargo Quality Cars and Trucks ‘D4’ team turned things around and took full advantage of the Friday night ‘last chance’ program. The current All-Star Circuit of Champions ‘Ohio Region’ competitor qualified 11th fastest out of 67 teams that took time Friday evening. Holtgraver would then earn himself a second place finish during his respective heat race; good enough to land him a spot in the Friday night, 25 lap Knoxville Nationals preliminary A-main event. The familiar white and blue ‘D4,’ lead by well renowned crew chief Brian Kemenah, would go on to secure a top 10 finish by crossing the start/finish line 10th in the running order. If Holtgraver would have been able to secure a finish inside the top four (4) of Friday night’s preliminary A-main, then he would have earned a spot in Saturday night’s $150,000-t0-win A-main event. Instead, the ‘D4’ will start the B-main on the outside of row number eight in 16th position. 

Stay tuned for more on Danny Holtgraver at the conclusion of Saturday night’s Knoxville Nationals finale!

Friday Night Knoxville Nationals Preliminary A main (started), 25 laps, NT: 1. Justin Henderson (6); 2. David Gravel (1); 3. Dale Blaney (3); 4. Cody Darrah (2); 5. Kerry Madsen (13); 6. Chad Kemenah (16); 7. Terry McCarl (5); 8. Dusty Zomer (14); 9. Steve Kinser (15); 10. Danny Holtgraver (4); 11. Bronson Maeschen (17); 12. Kevin Swindell (18); 13. Wayne Johnson (11); 14. Scott Winters (24); 15. Danny Lasoski (10); 16. Jamie Veal (22); 17. Rager Phillips (12); 18. Jac Haudenschild (8); 19. Cap Henry (19); 20. James McFadden (20); 21. Greg Wilson (23); 22. Jeff Swindell (9); 23. Sam Hafertepe Jr. (7); 24. Joey Moughan (21). Lap Leaders: Darrah 1-4, Gravel 5-20, Henderson 21-25.

52nd Annual Goodyear Knoxville Nationals Feature Lineups!

A-Main Event
1. 19, Stevie Smith, Broken Arrow, OK

2. 7, Craig Dollansky, Elk River, MN

3. 0, Jonathan Allard, Chico, CA

4. 21, Brian Brown, Grain Valley, MO

5. 15, Donny Schatz, Fargo, ND

6. 9, Joey Saldana, Brownsburg, IN

7. 21m, Jason Meyers, Clovis, CA

8. 83JR, Tim Kaeding, San Jose, CA

9. 11K, Kraig Kinser, Bloomington, IN

10. 5w, Lucas Wolfe, Mechanicsburg, PA

11. 55, Ian Madsen, St. Mary’s, NSW, Aust.

12. 1K, Kyle Larson, Elk Grove, CA

13. 57, Shane Stewart, Bixby, OK

14. 27, Daryn Pittman, Owasso, OK

15. 30c, Lance Dewease, Fayetteville, PA

16. 13x, Paul McMahan, Nashville, TN

17. 82, Justin Henderson, Tea, SD

18. 89G, David Gravel, Watertown, CT

19. 2, Dale Blaney, Hartford, OH

20. 4, Cody Darrah, Red Lion, PA

B main

1. 56, Davey Heskin, St. Michael, MN

2. 13, Mark Dobmeier, Grand Forks, ND

3. 39, Greg Hodnett, Thomasville, PA

4. 28, Brian Paulus, Mooresville, IN

5. 41, Jason Johnson, Eunice, LA

6. 1, Sammy Swindell, Germantown, TN

7. 83, Tim Shaffer, Aliquippa, PA

8. 98, Brooke Tatnell, Sans Souci, NSW, Aust.

9. 7x, Dustin Selvage, Indianola, IA

10. 7s, Jason Sides, Bartlett, TN

11. 29, Kerry Madsen, St. Mary’s, NSW, Aust.

12. 63, Chad Kemenah, Findlay, OH

13. 24, Terry McCarl, Altoona, IA

14. 91, Dusty Zomer, Sioux Falls, SD

15. 11, Steve Kinser, Bloomington, IN

16. D4, Danny Holtgraver, Pittsburgh, PA

17. 96, Bronson Maeschen, Pleasantville, IA

18. 71, Kevin Swindell, Germantown, TN

19. 77x, Wayne Johnson, Knoxville, IA

20. 23w, Scott Winters, Butterfield, MN

C main

1. 1z, Danny Lasoski, Dover, MO

2. 35AU, Jamie Veal, Warrnambool, VIC, Aust.

3. 9P, Rager Phillips, Pleasantville, IA

4. 59, Jac Haudenschild, Wooster, OH

5. 54, Cap Henry, Bellevue, OH

6. 55xm, James McFadden, Brisbane, QLD, Aust.

7. W20, Greg Wilson, Benton Ridge, OH

8. 7K, Jeff Swindell, Bartlett, TN

9. 26, Sam Hafertepe Jr., Sunnyvale, TX

10. 17M, Joey Moughan, Springfield, IL

11. 49, Brad Sweet, Grass Valley, CA

12. 18, Tony Bruce Jr., Owasso, OK

13. 53D, Jack Dover, Springfield, NE

14. 6R, Ryan Bunton, Morton, IL

15. 99, Brady Bacon, Broken Arrow, OK

16. 12, Lynton Jeffrey, Prairie City, IA

17. 1x, Randy Hannagan, Pittsboro, IN

18. 47, Don Droud Jr., Lincoln, NE

19. 55x, Trey Starks, Puyallup, WA

20. 49J, Josh Schneiderman, West Burlington, IA

D main

1. 8, Casey Mack, East Grand Forks, MN

2. 35, Tyler Walker, Hermosa Beach, CA

3. 1s, Logan Schuchart, Hanover, PA

4. 17A, Austin McCarl, Altoona, IA

5. 51, Fred Rahmer, Salfordville, PA

6. 88, Jarrod Schneiderman, West Burlington, IA

7. 2x, Dustin Morgan, Broken Arrow, OK

8. 6x, Kaley Gharst, Decatur, IL

9. 4D, Danny Smith, Chillicothe, OH

10. 2K, Kevin Ingle, Huron, SD

11. 20, AJ Moeller, Rockwell City, IA

12. 1T, Chris Shirek, Thompson, ND

13. 47AU, Trevor Reynolds, Perth, WA, Aust.

14. 40, Caleb Helms, Findlay, OH

15. 71B, Robert Bell, Colfax, IA

16. 12P, TJ Peterson, Des Moines, IA

17. 75, Glen Saville, Razorback, NSW, Aust.

18. 24H, Bryan Sebetto, Fremont, OH

19. 71AU, Domain Ramsey, Geelong, VIC, Aust.

20. 1m, Jim Moughan Jr., Springfield, IL

E main

1. 20PK, Ron Krysl, Atkinson, NE

2. 6, Bill Rose, Plainfield, IN

3. 2L, Ed Lynch Jr., Apollo, PA

4. 2s, Lee Sowell, Nesbit, MS

5. 7c, Critter Malone, Speedway, IN

6. 13v, Seth Brahmer, Wisner, NE

7. 81, Austin Johnson, Shakopee, MN

8. 74x, Josh Hodges, Tijeras, NM

9. 02, Mike Reinke, Howards Grove, WI

10. 7TAZ, Tasker Phillips, Pleasantville, IA

11. 10, Sheldon Haudenschild, Wooster, OH

12. 45x, Johnny Herrera, Albuquerque, NM

13. 66, Geoff Dodge, Colorado Springs, CO