Hell Tour
Contact: Chris Dolack
DIRTcar Racing PR
704-795-7223 | cdolack@dirtcar.com

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Points Leader Sheppard Increases Advantage after Clarksville Victory

CLARKSVILLE, Tenn. – June 26, 2013 – Brandon Sheppard passed Dustin Griffin on lap 27 and held onto the lead the rest of the way in the 40-lapper on Wednesday night at Clarksville Speedway for his third DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” victory.

Sheppard, of New Berlin, Ill., has traditionally struggled at the ΒΌ-mile track, but in the ninth event of the 2013 Hell Tour everything seemed to go right for the Illinois native. Sheppard sat on the pole for the A-main but relinquished the lead to Griffin, of Camp Point, Ill., on the start. Griffin led the race’s first 26 laps before being passed by Sheppard, who raced to the $5,000 checkered flag to continue his dominance in the overall championship battle.

“This is probably my favorite Summer Nationals win yet,” said an ecstatic Sheppard in victory lane. “We’ve been coming here for a lot of years and struggled here. This Rocket Chassis has been good to us for the whole tour and it was again tonight.”

(Click here for news and information on the DIRTcar Summer Nationals.)

Ryan Unzicker, Wendell Wallace and Bobby Pierce rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners included Griffin, Charles Zimmerman, Randy Korte and Sheppard.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour continues on Thursday night at Clayhill Motorsports Park in Atwood, Tenn.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Clarksville (Tenn.) Speedway; June 26, 2013

A-Main (40-laps): 1.Brandon Sheppard ($5,000), 2.Dustin Griffin, 3.Ryan Unzicker, 4.Wendell Wallace, 5.Bobby Pierce, 6.Randy Korte, 7.Dennis Erb, Jr, 8.Timothy Culp, 9.Walker Auther, 10.Jack Sullivan, 11.Shannon Babb, 12.Tyler Reddick, 13.Justin Rattliff, 14.Riley Hickman, 15.Dillon Wood, 16.Carnell Parker, 17.Tim Lance, 18.Jason McBride, 19.Caleb Ashby, 20.Clayton Miller, 21.Charles Zimmerman, 22.Kevin Weaver.