PPMS 2012 Logo

Ferree, Lukon and Dixon Capture
PENNational Victories

PITTSBURGH, PA — The 2013 edition of the Diehl of Robinson PENNational saw Alex Ferree claim his second PPMS victory of the year as he was victorious in the 30 ULMS portion of the evening’s action. Kyle Lukon scored the win in the Sweeney RUSH Speedweek main event and an ecstatic Steve Dixon scored his first ever PPMS win in the 20 lap UEMS finale.
The thirty lap Super Late Model event saw Brandon Burgoon lead the 24 car field for the first four circuits. The event’s only caution flew on the fourth lap when veteran Lynn Geisler broke a wheel and slowed in turn three. Fortunately Geisler, who was running in the third spot at the time, was able to safely slow the car and no other competitors were collected. The remaining 26 laps were caution free as second generation driver Burgoon grew his lead to nearly half a lap over Alex Ferree, Dave Johnson, Jared Miley and Keith Barbara. The lapped traffic allowed Ferree and company to reel in Burgoon and by the 26th circuit Ferree would catch Burgoon and go on to wrestle the top spot away from him on the next lap. Ferree went on to lead the last three laps to score a popular win in his Joe Corrado owned Rocket Chassis. Burgoon managed to hold on to the runner-up spot after brushing the wall in turn one near the end of the event. Johnson, Miley and Jared Hawkins rounded out the top five. Barbara, Devin Moran, in his first ever PPMS start, Michael Davis, Daryl Charlier and Kyle Lukon completed the top ten.

Late Model heat winners were Jim Stephans, Burgoon and Ferree.

The brother/sister combo of Kyle and Laura Lukon would lead the 25 lap RUSH Pro-Late Speedweek event to the green flag with Kyle taking command. The first 17 laps of the event were run under green with Lukon in the top spot followed by Max Blair, Josh Holtgraver and Ryan Montgomery. The first caution flew on lap 17 when Nico Dabecco spun. Just two laps later the caution would fly for a second time when both Andrew Wylie and Colton Flinner slowed on the backstretch. As the field prepared to return to green, they bunched up behind the leaders with Josh Holtgraver, Rocky Kugel, Matt Latta, Michael Reft, Dennis Neiderriter, Andrew Satterlee and Dan Angelicchio being collected in the melee. Lukon went on to lead the final handful of circuits and score his fifth PPMS victory of 2013 over Montgomery, Mark Moats, Jr., Mike Pegher, Jr. and Justin Tatlow. Joe Martin, Justin Lamb, Tommy Schirnhofer, Paul Jablonski and Jason Rider completed the top ten.

RUSH heat winners were Chad Ruhlman, Tommy Schirnhofer, and the brother and sister combo of Kyle and Laura Lukon. Andrew Satterlee and Michael Reft were victorious in the two B-Mains while Jordan Peters captured the wins in Future’s Cup action and the Non-qualifiers event. Defending PPMS Pro-Late Champion Colton Flinner scored the win in the K&N Dash.

The evening’s finale was the 20 lap UEMS E-Mod feature event. Michael Davis and Kari Gasser paced the field with Davis winning the battle to the first turn. The Rayland, OH driver would lead the first two laps before Steve Dixon took over the top spot on the third circuit. Davis wrestled the top spot away from Dixon on the next lap before the caution waved for J.E. Stalder Clayton Kennedy, Vic Vena and Randy Bauchnecht, who got together in turn one. Davis claimed the top spot when the action resumed with Dixon, Aukland, Bruce Takach and Jonathan Taylor right behind. Aukland gained the upper hand by the ninth circuit before Dixon reclaimed the top spot on the 12th circuit. Lucky lap 13 found Aukland winning the battle to the flagstand before Dixon made his winning pass on the 15th circuit. Dixon went on to lead the final five circuits to claim his first ever PPMS victory in the Tim Engles owned Close Racing Supply BMS Chassis. Aukland, Davis, Jonathan Taylor and Bruce Takach rounded out the top five with Kevin Miller, Ken Zimmer, Carl McKinney, Wayne Tessean and Gasser completing the top ten.

The E-Mod prelims were won by Gasser, Aukland and Takach with Vena claiming the B-Main.

PPMS will return to action next Saturday, July 20th as we present a five division Action Event featuring the Diehl of Robinson Super Late Models, Precise Racing Products Pro-Late Models, Sunoco Race Fuels Late Model Sportsman, Miley BP Carwash Hobby Stocks and the Imperial Heights Garage Young Guns. In addition, Berks will present the Third Annual PPMS Hot Dog Eating Contest and it will also be $1.00 Dog Night. Gates open at 5:00PM with the racing action getting underway at 7:00PM.

Fans are also encouraged to sign up for free race day text messages to get the latest information on weather or traffic delays that may impact the racing action by clicking on the “Rained Out” logo on the speedway website, www.ppms.com.

Additional information is also available on the speedway website: www.ppms.comor by contacting the speedway office at (412) 279-RACE (7223). Race fans can follow Pittsburgh’s PA Motor Speedway at www.twitter.com/PAMotorSpeedway and http://www.facebook.com/Pittsburgh’s Pennsylvania Motor Speedway.

Diehl Of Robinson Super Late Model Finish: Alex Ferree, Brandon Burgoon, Davey Johnson, Jared Miley, Jacob Hawkins, Keith Barbara, Devin Moran, Michael Davis, Daryl Charlier, Kyle Lukon, Michael Norris, Ben Miley, Jim Stephans, Steve Baker, Mike Basich, Ed Ferree, Garrett Krummert, Sam Eichelberger, Matt Urban, Jayme Beck, Keith Berner, Mike Johnson, Tommy Beck, Lynn Geisler

Precise Racing Products RUSH Pro Late Model Finish: Kyle Lukon, Ryan Montgomery, Mark Moats, Mike Pegher, Jr., Justin Tatlow, Joe Martin, Justin Lamb, Tommy Schirnhofer, Paul Jablonski, Jason Rider, Laura Lukon, Colton Flinner, Max Blair, Rick Singleton, Ben Policz, Dusty Curry, Matt Latta, Nico Dabecco, Josh Holtgraver, Andrew Satterlee, Rocky Kugel, Daniel Angelicchio, Dennis Neiderriter, Mike Reft, Andrew Wylie, Chad Ruhlman

E-Mod Feature Finish: Steve Dixon, Rick Aukland, Michael Davis, Jonathan Taylor, Bruce Takach, Kevin Miller, Ken Zimmer, Carl McKinney, Wayne Tessean, Kari Gasser, Randy Hall, Tom Martineck, J. J. Bametzrieder, Bob Damron, Bruce Dreistadt, Deana Groves, Joel Watson, Evan Taylor, J. E. Stalder, Chris Basich, Clayton Kennedy, Joe Gabrielson, Vic Vena, Randy Bauchnecht