Hell Tour
Contact: Chris Dolack
DIRTcar Racing PR
704-795-7223 | cdolack@dirtcar.com

Pierce Captures Fourth DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” Victory in 2013 at 34 Raceway

WEST BURLINGTON, Iowa – July 13, 2013 – Bobby Pierce claimed his second win in as many nights and his fourth win of the 2013 DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” season Saturday night as he lead the final 15 laps and held off Brian Birkhofer at 34 Raceway.

Pierce, of Oakwood, Ill., would have to pass fewer cars to capture this victory compared to the victory Friday night. Pierce started on the outside of row two, just behind the front row of points-leader Brandon Sheppard and Birkhofer, who grabbed the lead from Sheppard as the two drivers battled side-by-side for much of the early going. With Birkhofer and Sheppard putting on a show for the fans, the youngster Pierce was marching his way to the front.

Pierce, in the same fashion as his three previous wins, stayed glued to the bottom for the duration of the event as he picked up ground on the leaders. Pierce first caught and passed second place Sheppard on lap 25 and then leader Birkhofer one lap later. The 16-year-old easily maneuvered through lapped traffic and extended his lead over the final 15 laps, claiming another $10,000 checkered flag.

“I think once you get rolling along, you get too hard to beat,” said Pierce, who is now second in the point standings. “My dad chose the right tires. We were kinda debating on that the whole night, but we picked the right ones.”

(Click here for news and information on the DIRTcar Summer Nationals.)

Brandon Sheppard, Chris Simpson and Tanner English rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners included Brandon Sheppard, Chris Simpson and Brian Birkhofer.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour continues on Sunday night at Vermilion County Speedway located in Danville, Ill.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; 34 Raceway; Burlington, Iowa: July 13, 2013

A-Main (40-laps): 1. Bobby Pierce ($10,000), 2. Brian Birkhofer, 3. Brandon Sheppard, 4. Chris Simpson, 5. Tanner English, 6. Mark Burgtorf, 7. Chad Simpson, 8. Brian Shirley, 9. Shannon Babb, 10. Denny Eckrich, 11. Brian Harris, 12. Jason McBride, 13. Dustin Griffin, 14. Ryan Unzicker, 15. Jay Johnson, 16. Ron Elbe, 17. Tim Lance, 18. Randy Korte, 19. Richey Frankel, 20. Todd Frank, 21. Denny Woodworth, 22. Frank Heckenast Jr.