All-Star Sprints Logo

ROSSBURG, Ohio (6-22-13) By Brian Liskai – A well-known sprint car driver once said he learned more about how to drive Eldora Speedway from following Jac Haudenschild for 10 laps then he had learned in all his races at the track combined. When Eldora is slick and the racing groove is inches off the wall…no one can drive the famous oval better than “The Wild Child.”

He proved it Saturday for Night #2 of the 31st Annual Ohio Sprint Speedweek. The Wooster, Ohio driver blasted around Tim Shaffer on lap seven and made daring moves in lapped traffic late in the race to score his 24th career University of Northwestern Ohio All Star Circuit of Champions victory. It was the eighth series win of Haudenschild’s career at the half-mile track. 

“We have had an up and down year. Last night we had some motor issues. But I knew when the track got slick like this I’d be okay. My crew chief Bonzai and I have been together off and on for a lot of years and he knows what I like here. I have to thank my owner Tom Leidig is from Florida and he has given us a great opportunity to race…I can’t thank him enough,” said Haudenschild beside his Rick’s Auto Body/Southern Pacific Farms/Auto Electric backed #59. “I knew Shaffer (Tim) was back there on those restarts and I couldn’t give him an inch.”

Four time All Star Champion Tim Shaffer would begin to reel in Haudenschild as they approached lapped traffic, but a caution would seem to always fly.

“I had the best seat in the house to watch Jac Haudenschild run around the wall at Eldora….he is awesome here. It was old school here tonight to run that hard against the wall. My guys are working hard and we are getting better and better every night out. One of these days I’m going to win an All Star race here,” said Shaffer beside his Aaron Call/Janet Holbrook owned, Kistler Engines, J&J Auto Racing, VRP Shocks, Champion Oil backed #83.

It had been five years since the UNOH All Stars visited Eldora for Ohio Sprint Speedweek. A big crowed and 35 sprint cars came to the historic speedway Saturday for the 132nd appearance of the UNOH All Stars at Eldora – which has hosted the series more than any other track. There have been 41 different winners in UNOH All Star competition at Eldora, and Haudenschild’s eight series wins now has him third on the track’s all-time win list for the series. It was Haudenschild’s first UNOH All Star win at Eldora since 2006. 

Shaffer and Brad Sweet would bring the field to the green with Shaffer gaining the advantage as fourth starting Haudenschild shot into second with Sweet third followed by Dave Blaney, Danny Holtgraver and Cap Henry. Blaney would take third the second circuit. With six laps in, Shaffer had already caught the back of the pack and Haudenschild closed quickly. On lap seven Haudenschild executed the patented “Eldora Slider” in turns three and four to take the lead. 

Sweet and Blaney would battled hard for third as Haudenschild and Shaffer pulled away. Behind the top four there was a great battle among Holtgraver, Randy Hannagan (in the Ed Neumiester #11n), Brandon Wimmer and Dale Blaney, who lost a tire in his heat and had to transfer through the B-main. Sheldon Haudenschild would coast to a stop on lap 11 for the first caution with the running order Jac Haudenschild, Shaffer, Sweet, Dave Blaney, Hannagan, Wimmer, Holtgraver and Dale Blaney. When the green flew, Haudenschild pulled away from Shaffer as Sweet and Dave Blaney battled for third. At the half-way point, Haudenschild held a 7 car length advantage over Shaffer as Sweet ran comfortably in third with Hannagan, Wimmer and Dale Blaney in pursuit.

Wimmer’s run would end with a flat tire on lap 17. On the restart Dale Blaney dove low and advanced to fourth and would grab third a lap later. Haudenschild and Shaffer had pulled away and with five laps to go Shaffer was closing as they prepared to enter lapped traffic. Shaffer was closing rapidly and was about ready to pounce with three laps to go when Haudenschild showed why they call him “The Wild Child.” Haudenschild blasted into turn three and split two lapped cars at full speed and slid up to the wall and pulled away for the win.

Shaffer, Sweet, Dale Blaney and Hannagan would round out the top five.

Date: June 22, 2013
Starting position in []
All Star Sprint

Kistler Engines TIME TRIALS – 1. 9X-Rob Chaney [13.727]; 2. 49-Brad Sweet [13.234]; 3. 59-Jac Haudenschild [13.342]; 4. 2-Dale Blaney [13.401]; 5. 45H-Danny Holtgraver [13.403]; 6. 54-Cap Henry [13.421]; 7. 83-Tim Shaffer [13.488]; 8. 10-Dave Blaney [13.638]; 9. 00-Jim Nier [13.645]; 10. 1S-Logan Schuchart [13.661]; 11. 11N-Randy Hannagan [13.669]; 12. 9W-Brandon Wimmer [13.674]; 13. 24H-Bryan Sebetto [13.678]; 14. 40T-Gary Taylor [13.682]; 15. 33M-Sheldon Haudenschild [13.735]; 16. 97-Dean Jacobs [13.783]; 17. 27-Paige Polyak [13.793]; 18. 7K-Cole Duncan [13.808]; 19. 40-Caleb Helms [13.818]; 20. W20-Greg Wilson [13.833]; 21. 4-Danny Smith [13.846]; 22. 5T-Travis Philo [13.848]; 23. 53-D.j. Foos [13.880]; 24. 0-Justin Henderson [13.896]; 25. 9Z-Duane Zablocki [13.942]; 26. 46AU-Stuart Williams [13.954]; 27. 80-Trey Gustin [14.019]; 28. 15H-Mitch Harble [14.033]; 29. 15W-Adam Wilt [14.035]; 30. 2M-Dallas Hewitt [14.051]; 31. 35B-Stuart Brubaker [14.213]; 32. 1A-Jacob Allen [14.361]; 33. 5-Jordon Harble [15.006]; 34. 96AU-Bruce White [15.349]; 35. T29-Robin Dawkins [15.398];
Kear’s Speed Shop HEAT 1 (8 laps, top 5 to A) – 1. 4-Danny Smith [1]; 2. 49-Brad Sweet [6]; 3. 54-Cap Henry [5]; 4. 27-Paige Polyak [2]; 5. 40T-Gary Taylor [3]; 6. 15W-Adam Wilt [8]; 7. 1S-Logan Schuchart [4]; 8. 9Z-Duane Zablocki [7]; 9. 5-Jordon Harble [9];

Al Pro Cylinder Heads HEAT 2 (8 laps, top 5 to A)- 1. 5T-Travis Philo [1]; 2. 83-Tim Shaffer [5]; 3. 11N-Randy Hannagan [4]; 4. 9X-Rob Chaney [3]; 5. 59-Jac Haudenschild [6]; 6. 7K-Cole Duncan [2]; 7. 46AU-Stuart Williams [7]; 8. 2M-Dallas Hewitt [8]; 9. 96AU-Bruce White [9];

Dragon Race Fuel HEAT 3  (8 laps, top 5 to A) – 1. 40-Caleb Helms [2]; 2. 9W-Brandon Wimmer [4]; 3. 33M-Sheldon Haudenschild [3]; 4. 10-Dave Blaney [5]; 5. 53-D.j. Foos [1]; 6. 2-Dale Blaney [6]; 7. 35B-Stuart Brubaker [8]; 8. 80-Trey Gustin [7]; 9. T29-Robin Dawkins [DNF];
Kinsler Fuel Injection HEAT 4 (8 laps, top 5 to A) – 1. W20-Greg Wilson [2]; 2. 45H-Danny Holtgraver [6]; 3. 24H-Bryan Sebetto [4]; 4. 97-Dean Jacobs [3]; 5. 0-Justin Henderson [1]; 6. 1A-Jacob Allen [8]; 7. 15H-Mitch Harble [7]; 8. 00-Jim Nier [DNF];

Howard Johnson’s of Lima DASH (finish determines starting positions in A) – 1. 83-Tim Shaffer [3]; 2. 49-Brad Sweet [6]; 3. 10-Dave Blaney [5]; 4. 59-Jac Haudenschild [4]; 5. 45H-Danny Holtgraver [1]; 6. 54-Cap Henry [2];

MSD Ignitions B-FEATURE j(12 laps, top 4 to A) – 1. 2-Dale Blaney [3]; 2. 00-Jim Nier [12]; 3. 1S-Logan Schuchart [5]; 4. 2M-Dallas Hewitt [10]; 5. 7K-Cole Duncan [2]; 6. 15W-Adam Wilt [1]; 7. 15H-Mitch Harble [8]; 8. 9Z-Duane Zablocki [9]; 9. 1A-Jacob Allen [4]; 10. 80-Trey Gustin [11]; 11. 46AU-Stuart Williams [6]; 12. 5-Jordon Harble [13]; 13. 96AU-Bruce White [14]; 14. 35B-Stuart Brubaker [DNF]; 15. T29-Robin Dawkins [DNS];

UNOH A FEATURE (30 laps)- 1. 59-Jac Haudenschild [4]; 2. 83-Tim Shaffer [1]; 3. 49-Brad Sweet [2]; 4. 2-Dale Blaney [11]; 5. 11N-Randy Hannagan [7]; 6. 10-Dave Blaney [3]; 7. 45H-Danny Holtgraver [5]; 8. 9X-Rob Chaney [14]; 9. W20-Greg Wilson [19]; 10. 40T-Gary Taylor [10]; 11. 40-Caleb Helms [18]; 12. 27-Paige Polyak [17]; 13. 97-Dean Jacobs [16]; 14. 9W-Brandon Wimmer [8]; 15. 53-D.j. Foos [22]; 16. 5T-Travis Philo [21]; 17. 2M-Dallas Hewitt [24]; 18. 4-Danny Smith [20]; 19. 24H-Bryan Sebetto [DNF]; 20. 54-Cap Henry [DNF]; 21. 0-Justin Henderson [DNF]; 22. 33M-Sheldon Haudenschild [DNF]; 23. 1S-Logan Schuchart [DNF]; 24. 00-Jim Nier [DNF]