Hell Tour

Contact: Chris Dolack
DIRTcar Racing PR
704-795-7223 | cdolack@dirtcar.com

Unzicker Earns DIRTcar Summer Nationals ‘Hell Tour’ Victory at Fairbury American Legion Speedway

FAIRBURY, Ill. — June 22, 2013 — At one of the biggest events all year at his home track of Fairbury American Legion Speedway, Ryan Unzicker scored his first win of the 2013 DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” in exciting fashion on Saturday night.

With 46 cars were in attendance, Unzicker, of El Paso, Ill., was the man to beat. Starting fourth in the 50-lap main event, Unzicker utilized the inside line to do the majority of his passing. At the halfway point he had only managed to reach the third position, but two laps later he hooked up with Brian Birkhofer and moved to second after passing race-long leader Kevin Weaver. Another 10 laps after reaching second, Unzicker managed to maneuver around a fading Birkhofer for the $10,000 checkered flag, his fifth “Hell Tour” victory of his career.

Unzicker, a former DIRTcar Late Model national champion, becomes the sixth different winner in seven DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour events this season. Only points leader Brandon Sheppard has more than one victory.

(Click here for news and information on the DIRTcar Summer Nationals.)

Birkhofer, Sheppard and Jimmy Mars rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners included Weaver, Daren Friedman and Unzicker.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour continues on Sunday night at I-96 Speedway in Lake Odessa, Mich.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Fairbury (Ill.) Speedway: June 22, 2013

A-Main (50-laps): 1. Ryan Unzicker ($10,000), 2. Brian Birkhofer, 3. Brandon Sheppard, 4. Jimmy Mars, 5. Kevin Weaver, 6. Brian Shirley, 7. Joe Harlan, 8. Bobby Pierce, 9. Shannon Babb, 10. Chris Simpson, 11. Brady Smith, 12. Daren Friedman, 13. Randy Korte, 14. Dustin Griffin, 15. Frank Heckenast Jr, 16. Tim Lance, 17. Scott Schmitt, 18. Jason McBride, 19. Daniel Fiessner, 20. Tyler Reddick, 21. Scott Bull, 22. Derek Chandler, 23. Jason Krohn.