USAC Black National Logo

Port Royal – June 8 will be EMMR/Penn Central Racing Reunion Honoree Night at Port Royal Speedway when the track opens its gates for the gutsy, wingless stars of USAC as part of the clubs Eastern Storm tour.

The USAC stars and cars will share the racing card with the ARDC Midgets and the pro stocks at 7 pm.

But long before 7 o’clock the grounds of Port Royal Speedway will be adorned with numerous restored vintage racecars as put on display by members of the Eastern Museum of Motor Racing and the Penn Central Racing Organization as they gather for the reunion.

The EMMR/Penn Central Racing Reunion is celebrating its 24th anniversary event at Port Royal Speedway on June 8 and after last year’s banner turnout of restored racers and stars of yesteryear, anticipation is running high for this year’s program.

The tradition of bestowing the oval’s Founders Awards at the annual event was established in 2011 and that will again be the case in 2013 when two of the track’s most recognizable names will be honored.

Mr. Elmer Gray of Burnham holds the distinction of being the first driver to win a feature event at Port Royal Speedway under the direction and banner of the Penn Central sanctioning organization back in 1950.

Penn Central sanctioned and conducted racing at the Juniata County oval from November 1950 through the 1963 season.

And the man who started the Penn Central Racing Reunion back in 1990, Mr. Joe Lingle of Reedsville will share 2013 Founders honors with Gray.

Lingle started the reunion in 1990 along with the late Elmer Drum who also was a Penn Central star.

Awards will be presented to Gray and Lingle following time trials for the USAC sprints.

Track time for all the restored racers on hand will also be afforded.

Fans are invited to turn out to the speedway early on June 8 and take in all the memories of yesterday as the stars and cars of the EMMR and Penn Central reunite for this special event.

Previous Port Royal Founders Awards winners have been brothers Eddie and Guy McCardle in 2011 and Leroy Felty and John Regester in 2012.