ABBOTTSTOWN, PA , 3/9/13 –One week after setting the all-time Lincoln ten-lap track record, Myerstown’s Brent Marks came from eight starting spot to claim his eighth career win in the Pigeon Hills in the final afternoon race of the season Saturday afternoon.

“The track was awesome today,” said Marks upon exiting his BAPS Auto Paints & Supply/Fredericksburg Eagle Hotel/TJ’s Body Shop #19M, “This is a great race track and we had a lot of passing here, and it’s perfect for sliders. This was cool. I really enjoyed this race.”

The first handicapped show of the year put Marks on the outside of row four for the start. Polesitter Billy Dietrich grabbed the lead from fellow front row starter Cory Haas and led the first 16 laps. Marks was already in fifth by the end of the first lap and caught Gerard McIntyre, Jr. for third on lap four.

He was still running there when John Rudisill got together with Ryan Smith in turns three and four of lap seven. Both opening day winner Brian Montieth and J.J. Grasso sustained tire and suspension damage after hitting the wall while trying to take evasive action. They went to the pits and never returned.

Two laps later, Marks caught Haas for second, and was closing Dietrich when the caution came out for oil dropped onto the end of the front stretch by Greg Hodnett with 16 laps complete.

On the restart, Marks pulled a pair of sliders in each of the turns to make the race-winning pass.

“I knew I had to set him up on that restart,” said Marks, “I got maybe a half car length behind him there, and really couldn’t do anything with him. We both carried the same speed there. Once we got in lapped traffic, there was nowhere for me to peel off…so I just had to kinda’ sit there and wait for an opportunity. Luckily, we got that last yellow and I got a restart. I got down as soon as I could to get some bite, and he spun the tires a little bit. I just sailed it on in there, and it was awesome!”

His final margin of victory was .64 seconds over Lance Dewease, who passed both Haas and then Dietrich on the backstretch of lap 18.

“Fred (Putney) does an awesome job preparing this place,” continued Marks, “With all the snow they had here this week (5”), and to have a racetrack like this where it’s slick from the bottom to top…I love these types of race tracks. It really brings the driver out in you.”

Haas, who destroyed cars in each of the first two weeks, held on for third, with Dietrich and Logan Schuchart completing the top five. Sixth through tenth were Alan Krimes, Danny Dietrich, last week’s winner Jim Siegel, Hodnett, and Fred Rahmer.

Heats for the 25 “410” Sprinters were won by McIntyre, Schuchart, and Montieth.

Two-time Lincoln champ Jeff Rohrbaugh claimed his second straight opening day win in the 358 sprints. The leaders entered lapped traffic near the end, reducing Rohrbaugh’s final margin of victory over second-starting Shane Hoff to .91 seconds. It was also Rohrbaugh’s eighth career win in the Pigeon Hills. Hoff started second after Niki Young experienced motors problems while winning his heat, switching cars, and going to the rear for the start.

Crossing third was Eric Tomecek, with Ryan Wilson and Tyler Ross completing the top five. Sixth through tenth were Ted Thomas, Jr., Brie Hershey, Young, Matt Findley, and Scott Fisher.

Heats for the 16 “358” Sprinters were won by Young and Tomecek.

Lincoln swings back into action next Saturday, March 16 th (6 PM) with the first night race of 2013 as the Thundercars kick off their 2013 season with the annual running of the “Spring Thaw 20.” with $500 going to the winner. The Lawrence Chevrolet 410 sprints will once again headline the evening’s racing action. Gates will open at 4 PM, with racing action getting underway at 6 PM.

To get all the latest news, results, schedule changes and rule changes, visit Lincoln Speedway’s website at to stay up-to-date on all the action or pending weather conditions at Central Pennsylvania’s “Premier” Saturday night race track – The Fabulous Lincoln Speedway.

Sat., March 9, 2013 LINCOLN SPEEDWAY Abbottstown, PA LAWRENCE CHEVROLET 410 SPRINTS Feature (25-Laps) – 1. 19M-Brent Marks ($3,200); 2. 27-Lance Dewease; 3. 11C-Cory Haas; 4. 8-Billy Dietrich; 5. 1S-Logan Schuchart; 6. 87-Alan Krimes; 7. 48-Danny Dietrich; 8. 59-Jim Siegel; 9. 39-Greg Hodnett; 10. 20S-Fred Rahmer; 11. 14-Gerard McIntyre, Jr.; 12. 15-Adam Wilt; 13. 56-Billy Pauch, Jr.; 14. B52-Scott Geesey; 15. 1A-Jacob Allen; 16. 29-Ryan Wilson; 17. 21A-Will Rose; 18. 1080-Jordon Mackison; 19. 25-JJ Grasso (DNF); 20. 21-Brian Montieth (DNF); 21. 2W-Glenndon Forsythe (DNF); 22. 4-John Rudisill (DNF); 23. 92-Ryan Smith (DNF); 24. 95-Hunter Mackison. No Time

Lap Leaders – Billy Dietrich (1-16), Brent Marks (17-25)

1st Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 14-Gerard McIntyre, Jr.; 2. 11C-Cory Haas; 3. 19M-Brent Marks; 4. 20S-Fred Rahmer; 5. 48-Danny Dietrich; 6. 2W-Glenndon Forsythe; 7. 1A-Jacob Allen; 8. 92-Ryan Smith. Time – 2:24.917

2nd Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 1S-Logan Schuchart; 2. 87-Alan Krimes; 3. 27-Lance Dewease; 4. 59-Jim Siegel; 5. 39-Greg Hodnett; 6. 56-Billy Pauch; 7. 15-Adam Wilt; 8. 95-Hunter Mackison; 9. 1080-Jordon Mackison (DNF). No Time

3rd Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 21-Brian Montieth; 2. 25-JJ Grasso; 3. 8-Billy Dietrich; 4. 4-John Rudisill; 5. B52-Scott Geesey; 6. 21A-Will Rose; 7. 0-Rick Lafferty (DNF); 8. 29-Ryan Wilson (DNF). No Time

KEIZER ALUMINUM WHEELS 358 SPRINTS Feature (20-Laps) – 1. 45-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 2. 69-Shane Hoff; 3. 13-Eric Tomecek; 4. 29-Ryan Wilson; 5. 5-Tyler Ross; 6. 94-Ted Thomas; 7. 97-Brie Hershey; 8. 17-Niki Young; 9. 28-Matt Findley; 10. 21-Scott Fisher; 11. 2D-Chase Dietz; 12. 52-Austin Hogue; 13. 7C-JB Cunningham (DNF); 14. 23-Chris Arnold (DNF); 15. 1*-Tim Wagaman (DNF); 16. 12-Mike Bittinger (DNF). No Time

Lap Leaders – Jeff Rohrbaugh (1-20)

1st Heat (10 Laps) – 1. 65-Niki Young; 2. 5-Tyler Ross; 3. 29-Ryan Wilson; 4. 69-Shane Hoff; 5. 23-Chris Arnold; 6. 28-Matt Findley; DQ-52-Austin Hogue (Failed to report to scales); DNS – 2D-Chase Dietz. Time – 2:26.90

2nd Heat (10 Laps) – 1. 13-Eric Tomecek; 2. 97-Brie Hershey; 3. 45-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 4. 94-Ted Thomas, Jr.; 5. 7C-JB Cunningham; 6. 1*-Tim Wagaman; 7. 21-Scott Fisher; 8. 12-Mike Bittinger (DNF). Time – 2:25.44