Lucas Oil LM Logo

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Heads to TN and KY for Two Shows This Weekend

WAYCROSS, GA (May 29, 2013) – After a highly successful Show-Me 100 at Lucas Oil (MO) Speedway this past weekend, the premier national tour for dirt super late models heads to Tennessee and Kentucky for two events this weekend. On Friday Night, May 31st, the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series ventures to the “World’s Fastest 1/3 Mile Dirt Track”, Tazewell Speedway in Tazewell, TN. Then on Saturday Night, June 1st, the series heads north on Interstate 75 to Florence Speedway in Union, KY. Both events will feature a complete show with RED BUCK Time Trials, Heat Races, B-Mains, and 50-lap $10,000-to-win main events.

“The Taz”, Tazewell Speedway, is one of the most exciting dirt tracks in the country and the LOLMDS event is the most anticipated event for the speedway. The “Toyota Knoxville 50” will see the stars and cars of the LOLMDS battle against some of the best local and regional racers in East Tennessee and Kentucky. Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, TN is the defending event winner. Not only did Bloomquist establish a brand new track record at Tazewell Speedway with a super-fast lap of 10.822 seconds, he also won his heat race, and dominated the feature event in his backyard taking the $10,000 first place prize money last year.

“We always look forward to seeing the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series come to Tazewell,” said race director, Brad Hall, who has taken over the duties from the retired Rick Brooks. “It’s one of the few opportunities the fans in this part of Tennessee get to see Scott Bloomquist and Jimmy Owens race close to their home base. We have already planned for overflow parking with the huge crowd that is expected on Friday night. With the great weather forecast, I would urge everyone to get there early.”

On Saturday night, Florence Speedway will host the 27th Annual “Ralph Latham Memorial Race”, sanctioned by the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series. The event is in honor of the late Ralph Latham. Ralph was a three-decade Cincinnati area racing star that passed away in August of 1986 from cancer. His first full season was in 1970 when he won a remarkable 43 feature events. During his career he won track titles at Florence Speedway (then Northern Kentucky Speedway), Tri-County (OH) Speedway and Glen Este (OH) Speedway. He also competed regularly with ARCA and USAC during his career. One of his most memorable wins came at Daytona in 1967 when he passed 5-time ARCA champion, Iggy Katona on the final lap to win the ARCA event. During his racing career he won more than 200 feature races.

“We’re always excited when the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series comes to Florence Speedway. The series puts on a great show for the fans and our local and regional racers always enjoy battling against the series stars as they try to defend their home track. This weekend is shaping up to be a great show and we look forward to seeing all the great fans at Florence Saturday night”, stated Josh King, promoter of Florence Speedway.

The series will visit Florence Speedway twice in 2013, this weekend’s Ralph Latham Memorial Race and the Sunoco North/South 100 Presented by Lucas Oil in August. Don O’Neal of Martinsville, IN won both events in 2012 and is looking forward to coming back to Florence Speedway again in 2013.“Our whole team is pumped and excited to be going back to Florence Speedway this weekend. We were fortunate to win both events there last year, but that doesn’t mean it will be easy this year. All these guys that race the series full-time can win any given night anywhere in the country. Then you add in some really tough competition that race in that area on a regular basis as well and it will be a dog-fight come Saturday Night at Florence”, stated Don O’Neal, driver of the Optima Batteries MasterSbilt House Car # 71.

Jimmy Owens of Newport, TN will lead the stars and cars of the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series into this weekend’s events. Owens coming off his big crown jewel win last weekend at the Show-Me 100 will be sporting the day-glow orange Keyser Manufacturing Point Leader Spoiler so fans can keep up with the series point leader throughout the event. Bobby Pierce of Oakwood, IL leads the JRi Shocks Rookie of the Year-Presented by Dunn-Benson Ford chase into this weekend’s events with a slim lead over Batesville, AR Billy Moyer Jr.

The Holiday Inn Cincinnati Airport is the host hotel for the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series for this weekends Ralph Latham Memorial, the Sunoco North/South 100 Presented by Lucas Oil at Florence Speedway in August, as well as the “Whiskey City 50” at Lawrenceburg Speedway in Lawrenceburg, IN in August. To take advantage of the great rates the Holiday Inn Cincinnati Airport has to offer, simply call 859-371-2233 and ask for In-House Reservations (to avoid being transferred off property). Once with the Reservationist, just request a room in the “Florence Speedway Ralph Latham Memorial” block, the “Florence Speedway North/South 100” block, or “Whiskey City 50 Lawrenceburg Speedway” block. Callers can contact Reservations directly by calling 859-746-5608.

To make reservations online for the 27th Annual Ralph Latham Memorial, simply follow the instructions after clicking this link:

Reservations for 21st Annual Sunoco North/South 100 Presented by Lucas Oil can be made by following the instructions after clicking this link:

“Whiskey City 50” reservations can be made online by following the instructions after clicking the following link:

For tickets, gate times, admission prices and general information for both Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Events this weekend visit their respective track websites at www.tazewellspeedway.netand

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, visit the series’ website at

Follow the series on the social media outlets at!/lucasdirt.

Current Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Championship Points Standings

Jimmy Owens (Newport, TN) – 1930
Don O’Neal (Martinsville, IN) – 1795
John Blankenship (Williamson, WV) – 1780
Steve Francis (Ashland, KY) – 1740
Scott Bloomquist (Mooresburg, TN) – 1690
Dennis Erb Jr. (Carpentersville, IL) – 1690
Earl Pearson Jr. (Jacksonville, FL) – 1680
Jared Landers (Batesville, AR) – 1575
Eddie Carrier Jr. (Salt Rock, WV) – 1530
Bobby Pierce (Oakwood, IL) – 1505

Current JRi Shocks Rookie of the Year Presented by Dunn-Benson Ford Points Standings

Bobby Pierce (Oakwood, IL)- 1505
Billy Moyer Jr. (Batesville, AR) – 1375

Track Information

Tazewell Speedway
1400 Bacchus Road, Tazewell, TN 37879
Track Phone #: (423) 626-2222
Promoter: Gary Hall-(423) 626-2222

Florence Speedway
12234 US Hwy 42, Walton, KY 41094
Track Phone #: (859) 485-7591 or Office-(859) 493-0034
Promoter: Jerry King – (859) 485-7591 or Office-(859) 493-0034

Event Purse for Both Nights

$10,000 to win- 1. $10000, 2. $5500, 3. $3500, 4. $2750, 5. $2250, 6. $1800, 7. $1500, 8. $1300, 9. $1200, 10. $1100, 11. $1075, 12. $1050, 13. $1025, 14. $1000, 15. $950, 16. $925, 17. $900, 18. $875, 19. $850, 20. $825, 21. $800, 22. $800, 23. $800, 24. $800.

Tire Rule for Each Event


Right Rear – Hoosier 01, 03, 06, LM40
Left Rear/Fronts – Hoosier Rib 1300, 1350


Right Rear – Hoosier 01, 03, 06, LM40
Left Rear/Fronts – Hoosier Rib 1300, 1350, 1640, LM40