Lucas Wolfe Wins Williams Grove, Mark Smith Gets 2nd URC Main Of August


Lucas Wolfe Wins Williams Grove, Mark Smith Gets 2nd URC Main Of August

Williams Grove Speedway

Mechanicsburg – Lucas Wolfe wired the field from the pole to claim the 25-lap 410 sprint car feature on Friday night at Williams Grove Speedway.

By leading each lap, the Mechanicsburg native garnered $250 in lap money to go on top of his $3,600 paycheck for getting to the checkered flag first.

In the 25-lap URC Sprint main, Mark Smith took his second Williams Grove URC victory of the month.

Wolfe did lead all 25 tours of the 410 sprint main at the stripe but lost the lead briefly on the first lap when Ryan Taylor swooped underneath for the lead in the third and fourth turns.

But Wolfe turned his car back under Taylor to hold command down the frontchute.

Wolfe’s pace was slowed on three occasions during the event, first with six laps completed and again with 10 and 15 laps in the books.

The final caution with 10 laps to go was for a stopped Brian Montieth on the frontstretch. At the same time, Lance Dewease pitted with a flat right rear tire.

Taylor took looks under Wolfe for control at each new green but on the final restart he was forced to deal with sixth starter Cory Haas who got by for the runner up spot.

Haas then did close in on the leader during the waning stages amid lapped traffic but at no time was Wolfe seriously challenged for the victory, which was his first at the track since 2010.

“We had a lot of circumstances to win tonight,” Wolfe said.

“I’m not 100-percent sure we’re where we need to be yet but I’m enjoying it all.”

Haas finished second followed by Taylor, Logan Schuchart and Jim Siegel.

Sixth through 10th went to Danny Dietrich, Brent Marks, Alan Krimes, Greg Hodnett and Fred Rahmer.

Heats for the 22-car field went to Hodnett, Rahmer and Wolfe.

Smith started 12th in the URC feature and after moving up two rows after an initial start yellow for outside starter JR Berry, he restarted eighth at the new green.

And then by the completion of the races first lap Smith was up to fifth behind leader Randy West.

URC point leader JJ Grasso drove into the lead on the ninth tour and tried to outdistance the field but Smith just kept moving forward, taking second on the same lap.

A red flag with 13 down for a flipped Tim Berkheimer saw Grasso choose the outside lane for the restart, forcing Smith to restart to his inside.

And when the green came back out, Smith bolted out front into the lead as the cars raced into the first corner.

Grasso, who at first watched Smith streak away with the lead, was able to run him back down before the finish and make a final turns effort to eek out the win but to no avail.

Grasso rode home second followed by 15th starter Pat Cannon, 20th starter Josh Weller and West.

Sixth through 10th went to Aaron Ott, Andy Best, Ryan Bohlke, Brian Carber and Davie Franek.

Heats for the 30-car field went to Jonathon Swanson, West and Best.

Curt Michael took the consolation race.

August 23, 2013 Feature Finishes:

410 sprint cars, 25 laps: 1. Lucas Wolfe, 2. Cory Haas, 3. Ryan Taylor, 4. Logan Schuchart, 5. Jim Siegel, 6. Danny Dietrich, 7. Brent Marks, 8. Alan Krimes, 9. Greg Hodnett, 10. Fred Rahmer, 11. Lance Dewease, 12. Don Kreitz Jr., 13. Tim Glatfelter, 14. Nicole Bower, 15. Troy Fraker, 16. Brian Montieth, 17. Gerard McIntyre Jr., 18. Ryan Smith, 19. Glenndon Forsythe, 20. Steve Buckwalter, 21. Jay Reichard

DNS: Jacob Allen

URC sprints, 25 laps: : 1. Mark Smith, 2. JJ Grasso, 3. Pat Cannon, 4. Josh Weller, 5. Randy West, 6. Aaron Ott, 7. Andy Best, 8. Ryan Bohlke, 9. Brian Carber, 10. Davie Franek, 11. Glenndon Forsythe, 12. Ryan Wilson, 13. Chad Trout, 14. Curt Michael, 15. Brock Zearfoss, 16. Chris Arnold, 17. Jay Galloway, 18. Dan Mazy, 19. Jon Swanson, 20. Scott Lutz, 21. Troy Betts, 22. Ed Aiken, 23. Tim Berkheimer, 24. Robbie Stillwaggon, 25. JR Berry

DNQ: Keith Prutzman, Dave Ely, Rich Eichelberger, Denny Garl, Jim Stitzel