NDRL’s McKean County Raceway, ULMS, and UEMS Honor Champions at Awards Banquet!


For Immediate Release:
The NDRL’s McKean County Raceway

NDRL’s McKean County Raceway, ULMS, and UEMS Honor Champions at Awards Banquet

Eldred, PA (March 1, 2014) The 2013 NDRL McKean County Raceway season came to an official end Saturday night at the Eldred Township Fire Hall in Eldred, PA where the top ten teams in each division were honored along with the top racers in the NDRL’s ULMS Late Model Series and NDRL’s UEMS Emod Series received over $50,000 in monetary funds for their 2013 racing season efforts. Nearly 200 people were in attendance with Top of Line Catering providing dinner.

McKean County Raceway, General Manager, Chris Zuver emceed the event with track race director, Jeff Gardner assisting. Another $12,000 was handed out to the top 15 racers in the Hoosier Tire Mid Atlantic Emod Driver Rewards Program. Steve Dixon of Smethport, Pennsylvania took home the lion’s share of the money with his 12 main event wins in 2013. Joel Watson of Conneaut, Ohio, Mike Kinney of Ashtabula, OH, Randy Hall of Olean, NY and Brent Rhebergen of Clymer, NY were the top five point cars.

The NDRL’s ULMS Late Model Series awarded the top 10 teams for the 2013 season. “Hollywood” Mike Knight of Ripley, New York picked up his second career ULMS championship. Knight picked up two wins in 2013 at MCR and Sharon Speedway in Hartford, Ohio enroute to his championship. Knight’s father-in-law, Boom Briggs of Bear Lake, PA finished second in points. Briggs had three wins on the 2013 ULMS season, winning at Sharon Speedway in Ohio and sweeping the FALL Classic weekend in September at MCR. Rob Blair captured five wins on the 2013 season and finished third behind Briggs. Blair won at Stateline and four times at MCR including the $7,500 ‘Down and Dirty 50’ event at MCR in June. Matt Urban of Waterford, PA finished fourth in his first full season running with the ULMS series. Cyclone, PA driver, “The Captain” Jason Dupont came home fifth in the final point standings.

The NDRL UEMS Emod Series also awarded their top 10 teams with Smethport driver, Steve Dixon taking home the top honors for his first ever series championship in Tim Engle’s #68 machine. Dixon captured five wins on the circuit with wins at MCR, Expo, Sharon and a huge win at Pittsburgh PA Motor Speedway. Former three time UEMS champion, Randy Hall of Olean finished second to Dixon with an early season win at Sharon Speedway and a pair of wins at MCR. Hall’s car owner, Vic Vena was third in the final point battle with one lone win coming at MCR in late August. 2012 series champion Carl McKinney was fourth in 2013 finishing nine points behind Vena. Joel Watson of Conneaut OH finished fifth in the final point chase. The 2011 series champion found victory lane twice this year with wins at Eriez Speedway and taking the $2000 Fall Classic Finale at MCR. Series founder and director, Chris Zuver announced the series will be moving forward in 2014 under the NDRL banner under the direction of new series director, John Stivason. The old ULMS and UEMS series will see a new name also with the NDRL Northeast Late Model Series and the NDRL Modifieds kicking off 2014 on March 29 at Mercer Raceway Park.

McKean County Raceway honored their top drivers in their respective weekly divisions. Veteran Joe Layfield of Bolivar, NY captured his first ever MCR track championship in the Pure Stock Division. Roger Schweikart, Jim Challingsworth, Josh Wilcox and Donnie Williams were the top five division point cars. Wilcox was the only car in the top five in points that had won a feature event.

Joe Boylan of Lantz Corners, PA captured the 2013 Mini Stock championship over his father Mitch Boylan. Joe captured four wins on his way to win his championship. Eric Canfield of Smethport finished third just two points behind Mitch Boylan. Kurt Babock picked up one win while Travis Babcock came home in fifth.

Adam Ashcroft of Arcade NY captured the Close Racing Supply Street Stock championship. Ashcroft had nine feature wins on the season including the Lee Anderson Memorial event. Brad Ullman of Allegany came home second in points followed by former track champion, Andy Michael also of Allegany who captured three wins on the season. Joe Chamberlain of Farmersville finished fourth in points with one win, while Gary Fisher of North East, Pennsylvania driving the Mike Asel #0 machine finding fifth place in the final points.

The top ten Emod point racers were also awarded prize money for their efforts. Steve Dixon made his third and final trip to the podium for this 2013 MCR Emod Championship capping off a terrific season with two wins at MCR. Vic Vena was second in the final run down behind Dixon with his one win, while his teammate and former track champion, Randy Hall of Olean was third in the final point chase with three wins on the year. The Rim-Rider, Ron Davies of Warren, PA found victory lane also three times and came home fourth, while Kirk Bradley of Great Valley, PA was fifth at end of the season point chase.

The weekly RUSH Crate Late Models saw the dominance of Centerville, Pennsylvania’s, Max Blair. Blair the former crate national champion showed why he is one of the best crate late model racers in the country with eight wins on the season and capturing the point title by 89 points over Adam Sixt of Sardinia, NY who had one win on the season. Veteran Ed Carley of Freedom NY finished nine points behind Sixt in third in points while Chad Ruhlman of Bemis Point NY was a slim three points behind Carley. Second generation racer and second year driver, Zach Carley was fifth in the final point battle.

The Blair dominance wasn’t just in the Crate division, Max’s father, Rob Blair wrapped up six wins on the season at MCR. Blair’s biggest win was the $7,500 to win ‘Down and Dirty 50’ event in June, while also capturing the annual USMC Cpl. Jason Dunham Memorial. Jason Dupont of Cyclone came home second in points behind Blair. Boom Briggs had one win on the season; he was followed by former track champion Dick Barton and Ron Davies of Warren in the point chase.

Rounding out the night activities, MCR, General Manager awarded the 2013 MCR Driver of Year Award to CRS Street Stock Champion, Adam Ashcroft to the capacity crowd’s delight.

The 2014 MCR season kicks off Friday, April 18 with a practice session followed by opening night the next night, Saturday, April 19 for all six divisions. For all your MCR information check www.mckeancountyraceway.com or follow MCR on Facebook and Twitter.

For more information on the NDRL’s McKean County Raceway please visit www.mckeancountyraceway.com.

Like the National Dirt Racing League and the NDRL’s McKean County Raceway on Facebook at www.facebook.com/NationalDirtRacingLeague or www.facebook.com/NDRLMckeanCountyRaceway and follow the NDRL on Twitter at @The_NDRL.