Shaver and Bloomquist on Front Row for Saturday’s RED BUCK DTWC


PORTSMOUTH, OH (October 18, 2013) – Steve Shaver of Vienna, WV and Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, TN will start on the front row of the 33rd Annual RED BUCK Dirt Track World Championship –Presented by Borrowed Blue Saturday Night at Portsmouth Raceway Park. This year’s DTWC drew 79 drivers from 15 states and one Canadian driver all trying to capture the $50,000 first place prize money. This weekend’s crown jewel event will wrap up the 2013 season for the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series.

Six heat races were completed on Friday night with Earl Pearson Jr. passing RED BUCK Fast Qualifier, Brandon Sheppard on the final lap of the first heat race. Pearson a former DTWC winner edged out Sheppard by a nose for the victory. Sheppard had led from the green flag of the 20-lap race until Pearson edge him on lap 19, but Sheppard got back around Pearson going down the backstretch to re-capture the lead. But Pearson got a run off of turn four to beat Sheppard at the line. 2011 DTWC winner, Don O’Neal finish third to earn the final transfer spot from heat one.

In heat race number two Steve Shaver led all the way to capture the 20-lap race and will start from the pole position by virtue of the heat race winner’s re-shuffle for Saturday night’s 100-lap feature event. Shaver will be looking for his first career DTWC victory. Jeep VanWormer took home the second transfer position and Steve Francis, the ’99 winner of the DTWC charged from sixth to take home the third and final transfer spot in heat race number two.

Eric Wells dominated heat race number three leading the entire race pulling away from the field over the course of the 20 laps. Dale McDowell trailed Wells the entire distance to claim the second spot. Will Vaught in his first visit to PRP qualified for his first career DTWC by claiming the third and final transfer spot at the finish.

In the fourth heat race Jackie Boggs would lead all 20 laps as the second generation racer would hold off John Blankenship to claim the win. Blankenship would finish second followed by Jason Feger, who took home the third and final transfer spot in heat race number four.

Scott Bloomquist and Eddie Carrier Jr. would put on a fierce battle the entire 20 laps of heat race number five. Carrier led from the green flag but Bloomquist hounded Carrier Jr until Bloomquist was able to slip by him in traffic on lap 17. With his win in the fifth heat race Bloomquist will start on the outside of the front row with and earned his 22nd consecutive start in the DTWC feature event. Carrier Jr. would finish a close second while 2012 LOLMDS Rookie of the Year, Jonathan Davenport claimed the third and final transfer pot in heat race number five.

In the sixth and final heat race of the night, Billy Moyer held off Jimmy Owens to claim the win. Moyer also won the last LOLMDS sanctioned event at PRP back on Labor Day Weekend this year. Moyer a two-time winner of the DTWC will make his first start in the event since 2005. Owens, who will clinch the 2013 Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series National Championship by just starting the feature event tomorrow night, will be trying to become the first driver in the history of the race to win in back-to back years. Shane Clanton finished third to claim the final transfer position of heat race number six.

On Saturday Night activities on track get underway at 7 PM with three Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series B-Mains. Following the B-Mains will be the $3,000 to win Jim Dunn Memorial Non-Qualifiers Race for drivers that failed to transfer to the 100-lap feature event through a heat race or B-Main. Following the non-qualifiers race the fans will witness the 33rd Annual RED BUCK Dirt Track World Championship-Presented by Borrowed Blue. Following the 100-lap crown jewel event will be a $3,000 to win Open Wheel Modified Feature Race.

In preliminary action on Friday Night, Brandon Sheppard set the overall RED BUCK Fast Time (Group A) amongst the ­79 entrants, with a lap of 14.575 seconds. Jackie Boggs set the fastest time in Group B with a time of 14.755 seconds. Heat race winners included Earl Pearson, Jr., Steve Shaver, Eric Wells, Jackie Boggs, Scott Bloomquist and Billy Moyer.

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log onto and follow the series on and!/lucasdirt.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

Race Summary

Friday Night, October 18th, 2013
33rd Annual RED BUCK Dirt Track World Championship presented by Borrowed Blue
Portsmouth Raceway Park – Portsmouth, OH

RED BUCK Fast Time Group A: Brandon Sheppard / 14.575 seconds

RED BUCK Fast Time Group B: Jackie Boggs / 14.755 seconds

Wiles Drive Shafts Heat Race #1 Finish (20 Laps, Top 3 Transfer):

Earl Pearson Jr., Brandon Sheppard, Don O’Neal, Tim Dohm, Chris Wilson, Jared Hawkins, Mark Frazier, KC Burdette, Stephen Breeding, Paul Davis, Tommy Bailey, Mike Unger, Duane Chamberlain

Eibach Springs Heat Race #2 Finish (20 Laps, Top 3 Transfer):

Steve Shaver, Jeep VanWormer, Steve Francis, Jared Landers, Davey Johnson, DJ Wells, Andrew Reaume, Dennis Roberson, JT Conley, Lee Logan, Shannon Thornsberry, Josh Bocook

Simpson Performance Products Heat Race #3 Finish (20 Laps, Top 3 Transfer):

Eric Wells, Dale McDowell, Will Vaught, Jimmy Mars, Greg Johnson, Dustin Linville, Nick Bocook, Michael Chilton, Kenny Howell, Jeff Arnold, Richie Edwards, Jeff Babcock

FK Rod Ends Heat Race #4 Finish (20 Laps, Top 3 Transfer):

Jackie Boggs, John Blankenship, Jason Feger, RJ Conley, Billy Moyer Jr., Jeff Provinzino, Donnie Moran, Russ Frohnapfel, Bobby Pierce, Delmas Conley, Zack Dohm, Mike Marlar, Billy Ogle Jr.

ASi Racewear Heat Race #5 Finish (20 Laps, Top 3 Transfer):

Scott Bloomquist, Eddie Carrier Jr., Jonathan Davenport, Mason Zeigler, Josh McGuire, Devin Moran, Walker Arthur, Tim Fuller, Billy Gullion, Wayne Chinn, DJ Miller, Chris Garnes Heat Race #6 Finish (20 Laps, Top 3 Transfer):

Billy Moyer, Jimmy Owens, Shane Clanton, Chris Combs, Dennis Erb Jr., Gregg Satterlee, Steve Casebolt, Rod Conley, Steve Lucas, David Webb, Charlie Jude


CV Products B-Main #1 Starting Line-Up (12 Laps, Top 2 Transfer):

Tim Dohm – Jared Landers

Chris Wilson – Davey Johnson

Jared Hawkins – D.J. Wells

Mark Frazier – Andrew Reaume

K.C. Burdette – Dennis Roberson

Stephen Breeding – JT Conley

Paul Davis – Lee Logan

Tommy Bailey – Shannon Thornsberry

Mike Unger – Josh Bocook

Duane Chamberlain – Tom Hendrix

Cody Hunley


Wrisco Aluminum B-Main #2 Starting Line-Up (12 Laps, Top 2 Transfer):

Jimmy Mars – RJ Conley

Greg Johnson – Billy Moyer, Jr.

Dustin Linville – Jeff Provinzino

Nick Bocook – Donnie Moran

Michael Chilton – Russ Frohnapfel

Kenneth Howell – Bobby Pierce

Jeff Arnold – Delmas Conley

Richie Edwards – Zack Dohm

Jeff Babcock – Mike Marlar

Billy Ogle, Jr. – Doug Drown


CV Products B-Main #3 Starting Line-Up (12 Laps, Top 2 Transfer):

Mason Zeigler – Chris Combs

Josh McGuire – Dennis Erb, Jr.

Devin Moran – Gregg Satterlee

Walker Arthur – Steve Casebolt

Tim Fuller – Rod Conley

Billy Gullion – Steve Lucas

Wayne Chinn – David Webb

DJ Miller – Charlie Jude II

Chris Garnes – Sam Hobbs

Michael Smith – Joe Ramey


A-Main Starting Line-Up for the 33rd Annual RED BUCK Dirt Track World Championship

Steve Shaver – Scott Bloomquist

Eric Wells – Billy Moyer

Earl Pearson, Jr. – Jackie Boggs

Brandon Sheppard – John Blankenship

Jeep VanWormer – Eddie Carrier, Jr.

Dale McDowell – Jimmy Owens

Don O’Neal – Jason Feger

Steve Francis – Jonathan Davenport

Will Vaught – Shane Clanton