Montieth Wins Battle, Rahmer Wins War In Sprints At Williams Grove Friday


Montieth Wins Battle, Rahmer Wins War In Sprints At Williams Grove Friday
Chase Dietz gets first of WG career in 358 sprints


Mechanicsburg – Brian Montieth won the battle and Fred Rahmer won the war on Friday night at Williams Grove Speedway as the pair ended up the big winners in the 410 sprint division with Montieth claiming the feature event and Rahmer earning his ninth track title by a mere five points.

In the 358 sprint feature York’s Chase Dietz led every lap and held off Kevin Nouse for the victory.

New York’s Justin Barger started on the pole of the 25-lap 410 sprint main and would lead early over Brock Zearfoss while Montieth started the race in ninth spot.

Montieth was up to third applying heavy pressure for second when Zearfoss jumped the cushion in the second corner and nearly flipped his car before continuing down the backchute only to stop in the third corner.

This set up the first restart of the race with 14 laps completed and although Montieth had been on a ripping tear around the oval’s cushion before the break, Barger was up to the challenge when action resumed.

Meanwhile, the race within the race for track titlist saw Greg Hodnett, who started behind Fred Rahmer, racing ahead of him in ninth with Rahmer eleventh.

Hodnett moved to seventh on the restart while Rahmer got moved back one more spot by Danny Dietrich.

And then Hodnett was poised to pick off a few more cars when Gerard McIntyre Jr. saw his motor let go ahead of the battle for champion, causing the cars of Adam Wilt and Brent Marks to pile up and give Hodnett an inside hit as they all burst onto the scene.

Hodnett spun his car but kept going before the race was stopped for the accident.

The final nine laps of the race then went non-stop with Hodnett appearing no worse for the wear and Rahmer beginning to pick up his pace.

Back at the front of the field, Barger’s top, outside wing panel began caving in as he continued to thwart Montieth’s efforts until the two-to-go point.

Montieth got around Barger for the lead in the third corner as the pair raced toward the stripe but Barger turned his car and reclaimed the lead off of the fourth corner.

But then Montieth pulled the trigger for good in the first and second turns to take the lead with under a mile to race and record his second win of the season at the track and ninth overall of the season.

Eighth starter Logan Schuchart came on late for second, relegating Barger to third at the finish.

Hodnett crossed the line in fourth with Jacob Allen in fifth.

Danny Dietrich was sixth with Rahmer seventh, which was good enough to earn a ninth track crown albeit by the slimmest possible margin of five markers.

The balance of the top 10 went to Dave Ely, Lance Dewease and Pat Cannon.

Heats for the 32-car field went to Barger, Montieth, Zearfoss and Steve Buckwalter with Glenndon Forsythe taking the consolation.

Dietz’s pace was halted only twice in the 358 sprint main, on the second lap and then during the final turns.

With Kevin Nouse well behind in second, Dietz was racing off of the fourth corner for the checkers when Matt Mountz looped his car, forcing a yellow flag instead.

Nouse got the shot he needed when racing resumed and was just one car length behind Dietz as the pair headed down the backchute on the final lap after the restart.

But Dietz hit his marks perfectly entering the third corner and beat Nouse to the exit of the fourth corner to drive up in front of him and hold onto the lead to the stripe for his first ever win at the oval.

Brad McClelland, Tyler Ross and Jason Shultz completed the top five.

Heats for the 27-car field went to Tyler Ross, Jay Galloway and Rich Eichelberger with Matt Findley getting the consolation race.

Kevin Nouse was declared the 2013 358 sprint track champion.

October 18, 2013 Feature Finish:

410 sprints, 25 laps: 1. Brian Montieth, 2. Logan Schuchart, 3. Justin Barger, 4. Greg Hodnett, 5. Jacob Allen, 6. Danny Dietrich, 7. Fred Rahmer, 8. Dave Ely, 9. Lance Dewease, 10. Pat Cannon, 11. Brent Marks, 12. Don Kreitz Jr., 13. Tim Glatfelter, 14. Davey Sammons, 15. Kyle Reinhardt, 16. Glenndon Forsythe, 17. Scott Wilson, 18. Gerard McIntyre Jr., 19. Adam Wilt, 20. Brock Zearfoss, 21. Rick Lafferty, 22. Steve Buckwalter, 23. Ryan Smith, 24. Jim Shuster

DNQ: Rodney Westhafer, Mark Zimmerman, Troy Fraker, Brad Howard, Matt Boland, Alan Krimes, Ryan Bohlke, Chad Layton

358 sprints, 20 laps: 1. Chase Dietz, 2. Kevin Nouse, 3. Brad McClelland, 4. Tyler Ross, 5. Jason Shultz, 6. Austin Hogue, 7. Rich Eichelberger, 8. Nathan Berwager, 9. Brock Zearfoss, 10. Jay Galloway, 11. Dale Hammaker, 12. Adrian Shaffer, 13. Ryan Wilson, 14. Chandler Leiby, 15. Kody Lehman, 16. Brie Hershey, 17. Scott Fisher, 18. Matt Findley, 19. Jordan Givler, 20. Mike Markey, 21. Brian Garland, 22. Zach Eucalano, 23. Shannon Fisher, 24. Matt Mountz

DNQ: Ted Thomas Jr., Ryan Higgins, Alan Spriggle