PPMS 2012 Logo

Tony Beaber Scores Career First
B.O.S.S. and PPMS Victory;
A. Ferree, Schirnhofer, Schneider and Crewl
Also Victorious
PITTSBURGH, PA — Second generation racer Tony Beaber of Gibsonburg, OH scored his career first B.O.S.S. Wingless Sprint victory as well as his first ever PPMS victory on Saturday, June 22nd. In addition to Beaber, Alex Ferree (Diehl of Robinson Super Late Models) and Tommy Schirnhofer (Precise Racing Products RUSH Pro-Late Models) also collected their first wins of the 2013 season. other winners were Christian Schneider (Miley BP Car Wash Hobby Stocks) and Logan Crewl (Imperial Heights Garage Young Guns).

A pair of “91s” would lead the B.O.S.S. Wingless Sprints to the green as Dustin Smith (who was subbing for Mark Cassella) and Aaron Middaugh set the pace. Smith led the first circuit before the caution flew for Gary Rankin who had stopped on the backstretch. When the racing action resumed Smith would lead the field with Adam Miller, Tony Beaber, Andre Layfield and Mike Miller battling three and even four wide for positions two through six. Miller and Charlie Cornelius spun on lap seven and Miller also spun for a second time on lap eight and was forced to retire to the pit area.

As the racing action resumed Miller would wrestle the top spot away from Smith and lead laps nine through 11 with Beaber getting by Layfield for the second spot. Beaber then set his sights on Miller and was able to gain the top spot on lap 12. Layfield was also able to get by Miller and would battle Beaber for first place until a miscue on lap 19 found the Grafton, WV driver tagging the wall and bringing out the event’s final caution.

Beaber led the final circuit to score his first ever victory at PPMS. Smith, Miller, Kirk Jeffries and Chad Wilson rounded out the top five. Local driver Brandon Matus claimed the sixth spot after starting 18th in the main event.

A very happy Beaber was joined by his father, Johnny in Victory Lane, much like they had done in 1980’s when the elder Beaber scored several victories at the Imperial, PA oval. Beaber’s win also placed his family in the company of the Lynch’s and Sodeman’s as father and son duos who have scored wins in Sprint Car action at PPMS.

Miller, Smith and Layfield were the winners in the B.O.S.S. preliminary events.

Jared Miley and Alex Ferree led the Diehl of Robinson Super Late Model main event to the green. Scott Gunn slowed before the initial lap was completed and retired to the pit area. The second start of the main event saw Miley take the top spot and lead with Alex Ferree, Michael Norris, Brandon Burgoon and Ed Ferree putting on a great show as they battled for positions two through six. The elder Ferree’s evening would end with a blow tire on lap 16. The ensuing restart saw Alex Ferree wrestle the top spot away from Miley. The younger Ferree would go on to lead the remainder of the 25 lap event to score his first PPMS win of the season as well as his second victory of the weekend. Burgoon claimed the runner-up spot over veteran Lynn Geisler, Donnie Moran and Miley.

Burgoon and Norris were the winners in the heat events while Donnie Moran scored the Awesome Hard Charger Award as he advanced six spots.

Justin Lamb and Paul Jablonski led the 20 car Pro-Late Model main event to the green with Lamb taking command. The event was slowed on the first lap for the cars of Chuck Medved and Colton Flinner, who had slowed on the backstretch. When the action resumed Lamb once again set sail with Tommy Schirnhofer, Kyle Lukon and Mark Moats battling for the second spot. Schirnhofer was able to overtake Lamb on the 17th circuit before the caution flew for Chris Lander, who had spun in turn two. Schirnhofer would lead the final three circuits to score his first victory of 2013. Mark Moats, Jr., who started in the ninth spot, was able to get by Lamb on lap 19 to claim the second spot. Lamb, Kyle Lukon and Dennis Neiderriter.

Neiderriter and Schirnhofer claimed the Pro-Late Model heat race wins.

The non-stop Late Model Sportsman main event saw Bill Robertson lead the entire 15 lap distance to score his second win of the season over Nick Kocuba, Brian Huchko, Joey Koteles and Drew Koteles.

Huchko was victorious in the prelim.

Teenager Christian Schneider scored his eighth win of the season as he once again led the entire distance of the Hobby Stock main event. Steve Pyeritz made his season debut and scored the runner-up spot followed by Hannah Ramsey and Don Black.

Schneider also claimed the lone heat race win.

Roman O’Neill and Mark Rozum led the Young Guns main event to the green flag with O’Neill leading the first circuit before Logan Crewl took command. Crewl and Dylan Bolind battled for the remainder of the event with Crewl scoring the win by one car length over Bolind, Jarrett Sugar, O.B. Huff and Rozum.

Race fans are reminded that “Dirt’s Monster Half Mile” will be closed next Saturday, June 29th for the Firecracker 100 at the Lernerville Speedway but we will be in action on Sunday, June 30th, with a complete program for the Winged Super Sprints, Diehl of Robinson Super Late Models, Precise Racing products RUSH Pro-Late Models, Sunoco Race Fuels Late Model Sportsman, Miley BP Carwash Hobby Stocks and the Imperial Heights Garage Young Guns.

Pit and Grandstand Gates will open at 4:00PM next Sunday with the racing getting underway at 6:00PM.

Fans are also encouraged to sign up for free race day text messages to get the latest information on weather or traffic delays that may impact the racing action by clicking on the “Rained Out” logo on the speedway website, www.ppms.com.

Additional information is also available on the speedway website: www.ppms.comor by contacting the speedway office at (412) 279-RACE (7223). Race fans can follow Pittsburgh’s PA Motor Speedway at www.twitter.com/PAMotorSpeedway and http://www.facebook.com/Pittsburgh’s Pennsylvania Motor Speedway.

BOSS Wingless Sprints: 3T Tony Beaber, 91C Dustin Smith, 82M Mike Miller, 59J Kirk Jeffries, 14W Chad Wilson, 13 Brandon Matus, 57B Brandon Spithaler, 18 Arnie Kent, 4F Mike Fischesser, C9 Charlie Cornelius, 3J Johnny Beaber, 83C Adam Cruea, 31 Chuck Wilson, 6 Shelia Rankin, 91X Aaron Middaugh, 5M Jim McMillen, 33 Brent Matus, 21 Andre Layfield, 24M Adam Miller, 16 Gary Rankin

Diehl Of Robinson Super Late Models: 10 Alex Ferree, 02 Brandon Burgoon, 1C Lynn Geisler, 99 Donnie Moran, H1 Jared Miley, 72 Michael Norris, 17 Keith Barbara, 1L Kyle Lukon, 38 Jim Stephans, 44 Derek Stefanick, 12 Daryl Charlier, 99 Ben Miley, 4 Ed Ferree, 1 Tommy Beck, 2J Mike Johnson, 14G Scott Gunn

Precise Racing Products RUSH Pro Late Models: 8S Tommy Schirnhofer, 15M Mark Moats, 93X Justin Lamb, 1L Kyle Lukon, 09 Dennis Neiderriter, 76 Jason Rider, 3J Paul Jablonski, 9R Michael Reft,75S Scott Schempp, 14G Jake Gunn, F1 Nico Dabecco, 12 Brian Goebel, 84 Laura Lukon, 18 Chris Lander, 27 Tony White, 8C Dusty Curry, 01 Ron Hall, 28 Bryant Hank, 2M Chuck Medved

SunocoRace Fuels Late Model Sportsman:
1B Bill Robertson, 10 Nick Kocuba, 60 Brian Huchko, 33K Joey Koteles, 64K Drew Koteles, W1 Jarrod Westover, 89 Jameson Stumper

Miley BP Car Wash Hobby Stocks: MACH5 Christian Schneider, 56J Steve Pyeritz, 14H Hanna Ramsey, 21D Dan Black.

Imperial Heights Garage Young Guns:0C Logan Crewl, 3D Dylan Bolind, 75 Jarrett Sugar, 83 O.B. Huff, 18 Mark Rozum, 21 Jonathan Miller, 47 Roman O’Neill, 13C Courtney Chamberlain