Defending Mitch Smith Memorial Winner at Williams Grove Speedway, Alan Krimes! 

Williams Grove Speedway



Mechanicsburg, Pa –After a first round of PA Speedweek action on Thursday, July 5, Williams Grove Speedway will honor the memory of one of its finest stars with the running of the 24th annual Mitch Smith Memorial as part of the 22nd annual PA Speedweek series for sprint cars this Friday, July 6 at 7:30 pm. 

The prestigious Mitch Smith Memorial will pay $10,000 to win the 30-lap affair out of a purse worth more than $33,000 and will include an awesome fireworks display.  

Known affectionately to most as the “Linglestown Leadfoot,” Smith was one of the most electric sprint car stars to ever grace the Cumberland County oval and the Central Pa region with his talents. 

Perhaps his biggest claim to fame was his trumping of the world-renowned USAC sprint car stars when they came east to Williams Grove Speedway in 1971.  

For comparison purposes, USAC was in 1971 what the World of Outlaws is to sprint car racing today. 

They just simply didn’t get beat. 

Except by Mitch Smith in Central Pa in 1971.  

The USAC’ers were furious. 

The PA drivers and fans were famous.  

At the end of his four-decade career in 1978, Mitch Smith had amassed 179 overall total career feature wins including 27 in a sprint car and nine in a super modified at Williams Grove alone.  

Smith drove for owners like Mary Flack in the Flying Tiger, John Regester, Gary Wasson and Al Hamilton in the famed No. 77. 

After being felled by a massive heart attack in 1988, Smith was posthumously inducted into the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame in 1995. 

And Williams Grove will honor his enduring legacy and talents for a 24th time this Friday with the Mitch Smith Memorial. 

Both Fred Rahmer and Lance Dewease have each won the Smith Memorial four times in their careers.  

Rahmer took wins in 1994, 1999, 2004 and 2005 while Dewease took victories in 1992, 1995, 1997 and 2001.    

Don’t miss this timeless classic sprint car race meant to honor this timeless star of sprint cars at Williams Grove Speedway! 



1989            Stevie Smith

1990            Joey Allen

1991            Don Kreitz Jr.

1992            Lance Dewease

1993            Keith Kauffman

1994            Fred Rahmer

1995            Lance Dewease

1996            Keith Kauffman

1997            Lance Dewease

1998            Todd Shaffer

1999            Fred Rahmer

2000            Don Kreitz Jr.

2001            Lance Dewease

2002            Greg Hodnett

2003            Greg Hodnett

2004            Fred Rahmer

2005            Fred Rahmer

2006            Jeff Shepard

2007            Greg Hodnett

2008            Doug Esh

2009            Daryn Pittman

2010            Daryn Pittman

2011        Alan Krimes