Double PA Speedweek Shows At Williams Grove Speedway This Week,

Thursday/Friday programs and Smith Memorial highlight of 2012 series

Williams Grove Speedway



Mechanicsburg, Pa – Williams Grove Speedway will host two nights of the 22nd annual PA Speedweek series for sprint cars this week, July 5 and 6 at 7:30 pm both nights. 

Thursday night’s program includes time trials, heats and a 30-lap main paying $5,000 to win while the ante gets upped on Friday. 

The July 6 show is the biggest date of the weeklong speedweek series in the form of the 24th annual Mitch Smith Memorial. 

The prestigious Smith Memorial boasts the biggest purse of any of the speedweek shows, paying $10,000 to win out of a total purse worth more than $33,000. 

Friday’s show also includes time trials and heats plus a fireworks display.  

The first speedweek show ever run at Williams Grove Speedway was held on July 3, 1991 when veteran Steve Smith Sr. took the victory in the series’ inaugural season before also picking up the inaugural series title.  

Some 20 speedweek shows have been contested at Williams Grove over the years with Fred Rahmer currently on top of the Williams Grove speedweek win list with four victories.  

Current Lawrence Chevrolet point leader Greg Hodnett is a three-time Williams Grove speedweek victor.  

Alan Krimes is the defending oval speedweek winner after having taken the Mitch Smith Memorial in 2011. 

Rahmer scored his 12th speedweek series title in 2011.   

A variety of invading stars are expected for the 2012 speedweek series including Midwest star Kyle Larson and the debut of national veteran Danny Lasoski in the famed Zemco No. 1 car.     

Visit the speedway’s website at for all the latest Grove news and information.  

Williams Grove Speedweek Win List 

Steve Smith                     7/3/91

Don Kreitz Jr.                  7/5/91

Steve Smith                        6/30/94

Fred Rahmer                    7/1/94

Keith Kauffman                7/5/96

Lance Dewease                7/4/97

Todd Shaffer                   7/3/98

Fred Rahmer                    7/2/99

Don Kreitz Jr.                    6/30/00

Lance Dewease                6/29/01

Greg Hodnett                    7/5/02

Greg Hodnett                    7/4/03

Fred Rahmer                    7/2/04

Fred Rahmer                    7/1/05

Jeff Shepard                    6/30/06

Greg Hodnett                   7/6/07

Brian Montieth                7/2/09

Daryn Pittman                7/3/09

Daryn Pittman                7/2/10

Alan Krimes                    7/1/11