World of Outlaws 2013 Logo
Contact: Sam Martin
World of Outlaws STP Sprint Cars PR
704-467-7803 |

World of Outlaws STP Sprint Cars at a Glance: Junction through Minot
Schatz begins championship chase of Pittman after record-setting FVP Knoxville Nationals

McCOOL JUNCTION, Neb. – Aug. 12, 2013 – Last year Donny Schatz used a victory in the FVP Knoxville Nationals to propel him to his fifth World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series championship. After a record-setting run to win this year’s Knoxville title on Saturday night, Schatz finds himself 71 points behind Daryn Pittman as the 2013 championship race comes into focus beginning Tuesday night at Junction Motor Speedway.

Pittman has led the championship since the first night of the season in his quest to deliver Kasey Kahne his first Outlaw crown, but Schatz has been the hottest driver on the circuit since the beginning of July. It’s shaping up to be an epic run to the World Finals beginning Tuesday in Nebraska and continuing on this weekend to River Cities Speedway and Nodak Speedway in North Dakota.


· Tuesday, Aug. 13, at Junction Motor Speedway, hot laps begin at 6:30 p.m.

· Friday, Aug. 16, at River Cities Speedway, racing starts at 7:30 p.m.

· Sunday, Aug. 18, at Nodak Speedway, hot laps starts at 6:30 p.m.


To get to Junction Motor Speedway I-80 to exit 353, then 5.6 miles south on U.S. 81. Click on the link for a map (
· River Cities Speedway is located 1.6 miles east of I-29 (exit 141) on US 2 (at the Greater Grand Forks Fairgrounds). Click on the link for a map (

· Nodak Speedway is Speedway is at the North Dakota State Fairgrounds, east of downtown on Business US 2‎. Click on the link for a map (


Junction Motor Speedway is a semi-banked, 3/8-mile oval. The track record is 13.872 seconds by Sammy Swindell on Aug. 14, 2012

Previous A-Feature winners at Junction Motor Speedway:

2012 – Donny Schatz on Aug. 14

2010 – Brooke Tatnell on June 25

River Cities Speedway is a high-banked, 3/10-mile oval. The track record of 9.269 seconds was established by Jason Meyers on Aug. 21, 2009

Previous A-Feature winners at River Cities Speedway:

2013 – Cody Darrah on June 21

2012 – Kraig Kinser on June 15, Sammy Swindell on Aug. 17

2011 – Craig Dollansky on June 17, Craig Dollansky on June 18, Steve Kinser on Aug. 19

2010 – Steve Kinser on June 19, Joey Saldana on June 20

2009 – Donny Schatz on June 19, Craig Dollansky on Aug. 21

2008 – Donny Schatz on June 27

2007 – Joey Saldana on June 29

Nodak Speedway is a high-banked, 3/8-mile oval. The track record of 13.217 seconds was established by both Joey Saldana and Sammy Swindell on Aug. 19, 2012.

Previous A-Feature winners at Nodak Speedway:

2012 – Donny Schatz on Aug. 19

2010 – Joey Saldana on Aug. 20, Craig Dollansky on Aug. 21

2009 – Danny Lasoski on June 21

2008 – Jason Meyers on Aug. 17

2007 – Daryn Pittman on Aug. 14

2006 – Terry McCarl on Aug. 19


· Tickets for Junction Motor Speedway, River Cities Speedway and Nodak Speedway can be purchased by visiting


The following World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series drivers maintain websites:

Cody Darrah –

Craig Dollansky –

David Gravel –

Chad Kemenah –

Kraig Kinser –

Steve Kinser –

Kerry Madsen –

Paul McMahan –

Daryn Pittman –

Bill Rose –

Joey Saldana –

Donny Schatz –

Jason Sides –

Sammy Swindell –

For more driver information, visit:

WINNERS: Donny Schatz – 14 (Kings Speedway on April 12, The Dirt Track at Las Vegas on March 6, Knoxville Raceway on May 11, Williams Grove Speedway on May 17, Lawrenceburg Speedway on May 27, Jackson Speedway on June 14 Knoxville Raceway June 15, Dodge City Raceway Park on July 5, Limaland Motorsports Park on July 11 Lernerville Speedway July 16 Williams Grove Speedway July 20, Lebanon Valley Speedway on July 21, Ohsweken Speedway on July 30, and Knoxville Raceway on August 10); Daryn Pittman – 8(Perris Auto Speedway on April 13, Tucson International Raceway on March 9, Volusia Speedway Park on Feb. 15, Eldora Speedway on May 4, New Egypt Speedway on May 21 Dodge City Raceway Park on July 6 Lernerville Speedway on July 16 and Rolling Wheels Raceway Park on July 23); Tim Kaeding – 7 (Thunderbowl Raceway on March 15, The Dirt Track at Las Vegas on March 7, Tri-State Speedway on April 20, Elko Speedway on May 10 LaSalle Speedway on Jun 29 and Huset’s Speedway on July 3); Craig Dollansky – 6 (Thunderbowl Raceway on March 16 Salina Highbanks Speedway on April 27, 34 Raceway on June 6, Lakeside Speedway on June 8 and Beaver Dam Raceway on June 29 ); Paul McMahan – 3 (Silver Dollar Speedway on March 23, The Dirt Track at Charlotte on May 24, I-96 Raceway on June 1 and I-55 Raceway on Aug. 3); Sammy Swindell – 2(Merced Speedway on March 29 and Cedar Lake Speedway on June 30); Kerry Madsen – 2 (Eldora Speedway on May 3 and Eldora Speedway on July 12) ;Danny Dietrich – 1 (Lincoln Speedway on May 17); Shane Golobic – 1 (Antioch Speedway on April 5); Kraig Kinser – 1 (Orange County Fair Speedway on May 20); Steve Kinser – 1 (El Paso Speedway Park on April 16); Kyle Larson – 1 (Stockton 99 Dirt Track on March 22); Danny Lasoski – 1 (Volusia Speedway Park on Feb. 17);Terry McCarl – 1 (Volusia Speedway Park on Feb. 16),); David Gravel – 1 (I-94 Speedway on June 22) Brad Sweet – 1 (Eldora Speedway on July 13)

LISTEN LIVE: Listen live as the Voice of the Outlaws, Johnny Gibson, calls the action at all World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series events on the DIRT Radio Network, including this week’s Knoxville Nationals. Visit for more information on all the features.

LIVE ONLINE UPDATES: Check out the Official World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series website at for live, interactive text updates of each race. It also includes driver biographies with statistics and pictures, race-by-race stats, detailed track information and race coverage, series news and team press releases.

UP NEXT: The World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series heads north of the border for the second time this season as it returns to Castrol Raceway in Edmonton. Visit for tickets and information